Author Topic: Ghost in the machine. Wierd issue.  (Read 548 times)

Offline RogerO

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +1/-2
Ghost in the machine. Wierd issue.
« on: July 14, 2018, 10:55:29 am »
Hello,
Have been rebuilding my Vera Plus over the last few weeks. Have a very strange thing occurring that I need assistance to solve.  I have a night all off scene for when I head to bed. It turns off the lights and uses the ResponsiveVoice TTS to send a message to the Sonos. Recently, at random times, the speech that it reads as part of that scene fires off. This happens at random times. I think it is related to vera crashes or reboots.

Now the weird part. To troubleshoot, I set the volume in the scene to be very low to determine if it was somehow firing off that part of the scene. When the scene randomly fires, it is much louder than the scene version. Next, I changed the text of the announcement in the scene. The random speech is still playing the original text.

Where can this snippet of speech possible be living?

Roger

Offline kigmatzomat

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: Ghost in the machine. Wierd issue.
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2018, 12:01:01 am »
I suspect your scenes got corrupted.

Check this thread for how to export your scenes. Then you can look for the errant code.

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=39325.0

Offline Joe Daring

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Ghost in the machine. Wierd issue.
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2018, 06:06:58 pm »
Uhmmmm...
I recognize something similar to a weird behaviour my Vera Plus acquired recently...

I have two simple scenes that sets my Vera's Home and Away modes according to commands coming from a Fibaro Universal Binary Sensor connected to my alarm panel...

The two scenes do just a couple of simple things, apart of setting the mode...
They just announce the event with TTS and turn on or off a few things, finally notify  my phone that the event occurred...

The scenes worked fine for a couple of months until, recently, they started to fire randomly during the day and the night!

BUT!

It seems to me that the randomly firing scene is always the last one that fired up correctly...
I mean... If I come back home and disengage the alarm panel, the "House to Home Mode" scene fires correctly and does its duty... Then, after a while, THE SAME SCENE fires up randomly again and again...
Not very often, nor regularly, but enough to be annoying...

It is NEVER the other scene ("House to Away Mode") that fires up randomly...

On the other hand, if I left my home engaging the Alarm Panel, the House to Away scene fires, House goes to Away Mode and I receive a notification for that, then, after a while, I start receiving notificatios of THE SAME scene firing up randomly...

I have the System Monitor Plugin notifying me about Vera Reboots or Luup Reloads, and as far as I can tell, the randomly firing scenes are not related to restarts or reboots...

I admit I haven't had time to troubleshoot this matter so far, especially the physical part of the Switch + the UBS SENSOR, but now I wonder if I have a Ghost in the Machine too!

Thank you for any help
Joe

« Last Edit: July 17, 2018, 01:17:14 am by Joe Daring »

Offline RogerO

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +1/-2
Re: Ghost in the machine. Wierd issue.
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2018, 08:54:44 pm »
I suspect your scenes got corrupted.

Check this thread for how to export your scenes. Then you can look for the errant code.

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=39325.0

Tried this and was not able to find anything.

Offline RogerO

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +1/-2
Re: Ghost in the machine. Wierd issue.
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2018, 04:06:10 pm »
Doh, while working with CC on my z-wave devices all disappearing, discovered that I had accidently pasted my script into the LUA startup box instead of the test lua code box.

Offline RaymondAguirre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Ghost in the machine. Wierd issue.
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2018, 07:42:56 am »
Doh, while working with CC on my z-wave devices all disappearing, discovered that I had accidently pasted my script into the LUA startup box instead of the test lua code box.

Haha. Happened to me once. Joined recently. Had I been a member when you posted the problem, I would have pointed out as a suggestion to check the startup box. But glad that you've found out the cause of the problem.