We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Wiring question on the Zwave switch GE 45609  (Read 2855 times)

Offline kwang0429

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Wiring question on the Zwave switch GE 45609
« on: April 01, 2012, 01:20:41 pm »
So I have 2 switches controlling the same lights in the living room, I have replaced one of them with the Z-wave switch and realized now the Z-wave switch works perfectly only when the other switch is in the ON position, which means if the other switch is in OFF position, the Z-wave switch won't get any power ( blue light is off ) but by using a voltage tester on the Z wave switch, I get HOT signal from the LINE and the Traveller wires even when the regular is switched to OFF,  can anyone possibility think of what I did wrong ?

Thanks.

Offline PurdueGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1169
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: Wiring question on the Zwave switch GE 45609
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2012, 02:30:07 pm »
You cannot use a regular 3way switch with a z-wave 3way switch.

A GE 45609 requires a GE 45610 (I believe) companion switch.
Vera3, Leviton, Intermatic, SQ Blaster, HomeWave, DSC 1832, Insteon/Altsteon

Offline PurdueGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1169
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: Wiring question on the Zwave switch GE 45609
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2012, 02:43:07 pm »
I just realized I have answered questions for the GE switches on a number of different threads for you.

If you have a GE main switch with controls the load, and a regular 3way switch combined, you are probably frying the GE switch.

The companion switch only connects to neutral and the traveler.  It will not connect to the line.

See the wiring diagram here on page 6:
http://www.jascoproducts.com/support/manual-downloads/applications/DocumentLibraryManager/upload/45614-Manual-Eng.pdf
Vera3, Leviton, Intermatic, SQ Blaster, HomeWave, DSC 1832, Insteon/Altsteon

Offline kwang0429

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Wiring question on the Zwave switch GE 45609
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2012, 07:08:00 pm »
so if I am installing 3 of those, does that mean I need 3 GE 45610?

I only bought 3 x GE 45609

no wonder it doens't work, so it needs to be paired with 45610 correct?

Thanks.

Offline PurdueGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1169
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: Wiring question on the Zwave switch GE 45609
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2012, 12:19:36 am »
Yes, you would need 3x 45610 to go with the 3x 45609s.

Since 45610s can be pricey on their own, what you really want are 3x 45614 (which is one 45609 and 45610).
Vera3, Leviton, Intermatic, SQ Blaster, HomeWave, DSC 1832, Insteon/Altsteon

Offline kwang0429

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Wiring question on the Zwave switch GE 45609
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2012, 11:56:30 am »
Next time I will ask before i buy :(

thank you so much Purdueguy!!