Author Topic: upgraded Firmware today (7/19) VeraPlus (Bricked?)  (Read 547 times)

Offline kdfolkerts

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
upgraded Firmware today (7/19) VeraPlus (Bricked?)
« on: July 19, 2018, 05:28:25 pm »
What do I do now?  The upgrade started a counter in the browser window that was running the update. It said wait 15 minutes, we'll let you know when it's done.  At over 30 minutes it suggested i power cycle the VeraPlus. So I did. Now it shows up on my network (after connecting with a cable) but it will not appear "Online"  I made a backup prior to upgrading.

How can I get it online again?

Offline Inzax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
  • Karma: +26/-64
Re: upgraded Firmware today (7/19) VeraPlus (Bricked?)
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2018, 07:26:19 pm »
You can try a reset by pressing the reset button 3 times in under 6 seconds.  This brings you back to factory.  Then install your backup.
Proud Member of the Epic Smite Thread.
VeraSecure; Concord 4 Panel; 6 IP Cameras; Imperiehome; Housemodes; system monitor; DeusexmachinaII; Vera Concierge

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1248
  • Karma: +62/-23
Re: upgraded Firmware today (7/19) VeraPlus (Bricked?)
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2018, 10:31:07 pm »
It is actually poking the reset button 6 times within six seconds. 3 times only resets the network settings...
openLuup (97 devices, 134 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (138 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 205 devices, 20 scenes , 2 app) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa. VeraPlus ExtRooted!

Offline jeubanks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 215
  • Karma: +10/-4
Re: upgraded Firmware today (7/19) VeraPlus (Bricked?)
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2018, 11:08:12 pm »
It is actually poking the reset button 6 times within six seconds. 3 times only resets the network settings...

I thought it was poking it with a big hammer until it's in small pieces?  ::)

Offline Sorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
  • Karma: +83/-10
Re: upgraded Firmware today (7/19) VeraPlus (Bricked?)
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2018, 03:35:10 am »
Hello, kdfolkerts

I see you've been working with our Customer Care team and managed to bring it back.
I'm sorry for the trouble.
Sorin M. ▾ Community Manager
Vera Control, Ltd. ▾ Smarter Home Control  ▾ support@getvera.com ▾www.getvera.com ▾ +1 (866) 966-2272

HOURS OF OPERATION for Customer Care Department - 24/7

Offline Inzax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
  • Karma: +26/-64
Re: upgraded Firmware today (7/19) VeraPlus (Bricked?)
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2018, 07:05:22 am »
It is actually poking the reset button 6 times within six seconds. 3 times only resets the network settings...

I stand corrected.  My mistake. 
Proud Member of the Epic Smite Thread.
VeraSecure; Concord 4 Panel; 6 IP Cameras; Imperiehome; Housemodes; system monitor; DeusexmachinaII; Vera Concierge

Offline Jim McGhee

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: upgraded Firmware today (7/19) VeraPlus (Bricked?)
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2018, 05:36:08 pm »
As I just posted in the other thread, it bricked mine so bad that the Customer Care guy couldn't fix it.
Not sure what's going to happen next.

Maybe they'll overnight me a new one!!!   8) 8) 8)

Probably shouldn't hold my breath.   :'(

Bricking my VeraPlus on upgrade seems to be the new standard.