Author Topic: Humidifier control question  (Read 140 times)

Offline owensct

Humidifier control question
« on: August 03, 2018, 05:11:53 pm »
Hi All,

I have a question about controlling a humidifier. I have a humidifier in my master bedroom along with a battery powered humidity sensor. I can create a scene that basically says if the humidity in the bedroom drops below 45% then turn on the humidifier and a corresponding scene that says if humidity is above 55% turn off humidifier, (conflict potential?). I'm looking for is something a little more complex and concise and I think the only way to accomplish is is with luup code. Can anyone advise as to where I would want to start? I want something similar to the below pseudo code:

Loop to check humidity sensor1 every xx minutes
  If humidity sensor reading is below 46% and humidifier is off
  then turn on humidifier
  else
  if humidifier is above 55% and humidifier is on
  then turn off humidifier
  end if
end loop

I'm not sure if I need a specific command to make sure it checks the humidity status every xx minutes, but thought it might be necessary since it is a battery powered unit.

Any suggestions and or direction as to where I would start would be great. I have a programming background, (RPG), but I'm retired now and haven't coded professionally in quite a few years so I'm pretty rusty to say the least.

Thanks  ;D

Gordon

Online rigpapa

Re: Humidifier control question
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2018, 05:26:42 pm »
I assume your humidifier is powered by a Z-wave switch? You should be able to do this with two scenes, one for on, one for off, with each having a trigger based on the sensor's humidity reading. The device action would be to turn the Z-wave switch on or off as needed.

That alone should work. You could amp it up a little (no pun intended) by adding Lua in each scene to test if the humidier is on or off as needed. That would look something like this:

In the "on" scene (humidity below 45%):