Author Topic: Sharp TV ethernet control  (Read 40399 times)

Offline big517

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Sharp TV ethernet control
« Reply #30 on: May 07, 2012, 07:19:54 pm »
Very Nice, downloading now.  I suggest you note that the FIRST thing they should do is turn the TV on and run that Command that disables the IP Control sleep policy.  That way it's always listening... Until I ran that I had to manually turn my tv on if it was off more than 1 minute.  Otherwise people will say it stopped working and wont turn their TV on.

Offline OtisPresley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Sharp TV ethernet control
« Reply #31 on: May 07, 2012, 07:40:00 pm »
Very Nice, downloading now.  I suggest you note that the FIRST thing they should do is turn the TV on and run that Command that disables the IP Control sleep policy.  That way it's always listening... Until I ran that I had to manually turn my tv on if it was off more than 1 minute.  Otherwise people will say it stopped working and wont turn their TV on.


I had it in the testing section, but I also added it as the last Installation step just to make it more visible.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2012, 07:44:40 pm by OtisPreslsy »

Offline maverick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Sharp TV ethernet control
« Reply #32 on: May 22, 2012, 12:13:40 pm »
I installed this control, but I'm not sure I understand the last step on install:

"With the TV turned on, add it to the Advanced section of a scene and choose the command OnIP under RemotePower and run the scene. This will enable the TV to be turned on using IP Control."

Where do I do this? I can't find this option anywhere?

Also, where do I get other controls in the UI? All I see is On and Off, and Off works, but On only works if the TV was just turned off.

Thanks for the help!

Offline OtisPresley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Sharp TV ethernet control
« Reply #33 on: May 22, 2012, 01:21:15 pm »
@maverick,

You Do this under the Advanced tab of a scene.  I have attached 2 screenshots to help.

First, you either create a new scene or use an existing one.  Go to the Advanced tab as shown in the first screenshot.  Select your Sharp TV and click the Add button.  It will appear below with another drop-down for commands.  Under RemotePower, choose OnIP as shown in the second screenshot.  Click Confirm Changes and then click the Save button.  After that process is complete, run the scene.  You only need to do it once.  This enables the TV to be powered on over IP.  After that, you just use the normal buttons for on and off as you wish.

As far as other commands go, I didn't want to clutter the control pad with a bunch of buttons, so you add individual commands in the Advanced section of scenes as described above.  Once MCV gets the remote control building functionality working, you will be able to create your own remote control for it.  Until then, we are stuck with individual commands.  I figured that the On and Off buttons would be used a whole lot more than anything else.  Please let me know if you have any ideas or suggestions.

EDIT: I have also added this process to the Help page.


I installed this control, but I'm not sure I understand the last step on install:

"With the TV turned on, add it to the Advanced section of a scene and choose the command OnIP under RemotePower and run the scene. This will enable the TV to be turned on using IP Control."

Where do I do this? I can't find this option anywhere?

Also, where do I get other controls in the UI? All I see is On and Off, and Off works, but On only works if the TV was just turned off.

Thanks for the help!
« Last Edit: May 22, 2012, 02:20:59 pm by OtisPreslsy »

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +33/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Sharp TV ethernet control
« Reply #34 on: May 26, 2012, 05:00:34 pm »
Also, where do I get other controls in the UI? All I see is On and Off, and Off works, but On only works if the TV was just turned off.

Alternately (depending on which Version of UI5 you are running), you can also call them from:
http://xx.xx.xx.xx:3480/data_request?id=lu_invoke

From this page, you can also find out which URL works for each action, and potentially build your own web based remote!
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline big517

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Sharp TV ethernet control
« Reply #35 on: June 06, 2012, 08:27:53 am »
Alternately (depending on which Version of UI5 you are running), you can also call them from:
http://xx.xx.xx.xx:3480/data_request?id=lu_invoke

From this page, you can also find out which URL works for each action, and potentially build your own web based remote!

@Strangely, this link has saved me soo much time recently!  How would I go about building my own Web Based Remote? 
Thanks!

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +33/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Sharp TV ethernet control
« Reply #36 on: June 06, 2012, 11:52:59 pm »
Have you ever done any HTML? You don't need to be a programmer, and there are several paid for editing packages, free packages or even web based editors. You could even get away with doing it in MS Word to a certain extent!
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline big517

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Re: Sharp TV ethernet control
« Reply #37 on: June 07, 2012, 06:11:25 am »
Have you ever done any HTML? You don't need to be a programmer, and there are several paid for editing packages, free packages or even web based editors. You could even get away with doing it in MS Word to a certain extent!
I see...  So just use the same URL in that page? Too easy!

 2

Offline OtisPresley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Re: Sharp TV ethernet control
« Reply #38 on: June 07, 2012, 09:52:15 am »
The broken remote control functionality from UI4 used image maps for the remote controls.  That way, you just use an image of your choice and then determine what regions map to which link.  If you have never worked with them before, here is a tutorial.

Have you ever done any HTML? You don't need to be a programmer, and there are several paid for editing packages, free packages or even web based editors. You could even get away with doing it in MS Word to a certain extent!
I see...  So just use the same URL in that page? Too easy!

 2

Offline lastmacuser

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Sharp TV ethernet control
« Reply #39 on: August 27, 2012, 11:37:09 am »
My on/off functionality was spotless with the Sharp App until the recent upgrade to 1.5.408. Now i have no TV control. Is anyone else having this problem?
I can ping the IP of the TV so I know it is there. Any other test I can do?
« Last Edit: August 27, 2012, 11:40:25 am by lastmacuser »

Offline OtisPresley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Sharp TV ethernet control
« Reply #40 on: September 03, 2012, 09:51:07 am »
Sorry for the late reply; I just got back from vacation.  This plugin is working for me on Vera 3 with 1.5.408, and it also worked with my Vera 2 before I traded it in.  Please make sure that the correct IP address and MAC address appear under Advanced in your control pad.  You will also want to make sure that the IP Control settings on the TV are still correct and haven't changed for some reason (Enabled, no username, no password, default port of 10002.  If all that checks out and it still doesn't work, try uninstalling and re-installing the plugin.

Is there anyone else having problems with this plugin on 1.5.408?

My on/off functionality was spotless with the Sharp App until the recent upgrade to 1.5.408. Now i have no TV control. Is anyone else having this problem?
I can ping the IP of the TV so I know it is there. Any other test I can do?

Offline lastmacuser

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Sharp TV ethernet control
« Reply #41 on: September 04, 2012, 11:46:03 am »
Thanks for the reply, like I said it was working just fine before. One question if u can answer. I used putty to try some commands on the TV. It opens to the IP address in putty but drops the connection after about 30 seconds. Does this mean anything?

Offline OtisPresley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Sharp TV ethernet control
« Reply #42 on: September 04, 2012, 01:54:34 pm »
It sounds like the connection may actually be timing out.  If you have a successful connection in PUTTy, you should be able to enter a command, receive a response of ERROR or OK, and see the result on the TV.  I have attached screenshots of my PUTTY session for you to see how it is configured and also documented in this post.  Some test codes would be (the spaces are necessary for an 8 character code.
  • "POWR0   " - Power Off
  • "POWR1   " - Power On
The command "RSPW1   " tells the TV to respond to a power on command over IP when powered off.  I hope this helps.

There has to be a good reason why yours no longer works.  I was just thinking that some of your TV settings may have been lost in a firmware update for some reason.  You may also try unplugging the TV for a minute and plugging it back in.  If you cannot make a connection in a terminal session, then Vera is unlikely to be able to connect to it either.  You can also try it with your PC firewall disabled in case it is blocking the raw session on port 10002.


Thanks for the reply, like I said it was working just fine before. One question if u can answer. I used putty to try some commands on the TV. It opens to the IP address in putty but drops the connection after about 30 seconds. Does this mean anything?

Offline lastmacuser

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Sharp TV ethernet control
« Reply #43 on: September 05, 2012, 11:55:18 am »
Strange connection problem here. I can connect with putty if the TV is off. When the TV is on putty connection is refused. Any idea why?

Offline OtisPresley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Sharp TV ethernet control
« Reply #44 on: September 07, 2012, 07:14:28 am »
That is strange.  I tried to connect to mine via PUTTY and the windows disappears immediately whether the TV is on or off, but the plugin still works fine.  I am wondering if maybe it only allows one connection at a time and Vera has it.

Strange connection problem here. I can connect with putty if the TV is off. When the TV is on putty connection is refused. Any idea why?