Author Topic: Altsteon 0.05 released!  (Read 9938 times)

Offline topher1086

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon 0.05 released!
« Reply #15 on: January 22, 2013, 03:30:58 pm »
Garrett,

I got the .05 version files from this website as noted in the walkthrough: http://www.geektaco.info/altsteon/

I didn't get it to work correctly the first time I set it up so I had been searching through the forums and came across this post by fba: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,8910.105.html

So when I tried the Altsteon install the second time, I updated it with the 2 files from that post.  I just looked at the dates on the posts and this thread was created later than that one.... so...  Do I need to just update those 2 Luup files with the ones from the .05 download?

Thanks.

Offline topher1086

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon 0.05 released!
« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2013, 04:58:29 pm »
Is fba still around to "support" Altsteon?  I searched the forum and there haven't been any posts from him since May of 2012.  I also can't send a private message to him.  I still can't get the scene buttons to behave correctly.

Thanks.

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Altsteon 0.05 released!
« Reply #17 on: January 24, 2013, 01:15:00 am »
I spoke with him via email right after new years. He said that he is still supporting Altsteon, but has been pretty busy with his personal life and family. As for your issue, have you looked at the vera logs to see if vera reports that the button pressed is issue a scene is deactivated?

- Garrett

Offline topher1086

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon 0.05 released!
« Reply #18 on: January 24, 2013, 07:46:43 am »
That's good to know he's still involved. 

Here's the log from the ssh session on the vera.  You can see that it is showing the scene is de-activated, but it fires the "scene activated" scene trigger and turns the light on.

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Altsteon 0.05 released!
« Reply #19 on: January 24, 2013, 09:19:40 am »
Looking at the log, it is showing the correct insteon code for the off action of the button and calling the correct function. Can you pull the I_InsteonRelayKpl.xml file from your vera and post it so I can verify that the file has the correct code? It can be pulled from the Apps -> Developer Apps -> Luup files section.

- Garrett

Offline topher1086

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon 0.05 released!
« Reply #20 on: January 24, 2013, 09:32:59 am »
Here's the file.  Mine is a Dimmer KPL, not a on/off KPL.  Here's the I_InsteonDimmerKpl.xml file as well.

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Altsteon 0.05 released!
« Reply #21 on: January 24, 2013, 09:39:18 am »
Use this file it should then work.

- Garrett

Offline topher1086

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon 0.05 released!
« Reply #22 on: January 24, 2013, 03:48:50 pm »
Hey Garrett,

I used this file and it worked just as you would expect it to.

Does adding another "type" of device depend on the daemon, or just creating the new device and implementation files?  In other words, is the daemon set up for the whole INSTEON command set, or would that have to be recompiled when a new device type comes out?  Like a different thermostat or something.

Thanks.

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Altsteon 0.05 released!
« Reply #23 on: January 25, 2013, 09:56:50 am »
Glad it is working. Fba would have to add code and compile the daemon for new insteon devices, unless the device uses existing commands that have already been implemented.

- Garrett

Offline topher1086

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon 0.05 released!
« Reply #24 on: January 25, 2013, 10:25:57 am »
Gotcha.   Is there any way to activate or de-activate a scene button on a keypadlinc?  For instance, if light X is turned on (either from the switch itselft or through the Vera) turn on the #2 scene button on keypadlinc Y.  And if it's turned off, then turn off the scene button.

Thanks.

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Altsteon 0.05 released!
« Reply #25 on: January 25, 2013, 12:51:43 pm »
In other words you want to make sure that the light on the scene button is kept in sync? There is partial implementation in altsteon for this but it does not work correct and causes the plm to freeze up. Fba said that he is working on getting this worked out. So not sure when this will be done. This is the only thing I am really looking forward to in trying to keep the lights in sync with vera. I still have to link up the kpl's to my other kpl's that have buttons for each one running the same scene.

- Garrett

Offline topher1086

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon 0.05 released!
« Reply #26 on: January 25, 2013, 03:17:20 pm »
Okay.  That's what I was talking about.  That'll be cool when he gets that worked out.

Thanks again.

Offline topher1086

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon 0.05 released!
« Reply #27 on: January 27, 2013, 01:43:23 pm »
I'm trying to get the status from a KeypadLinc dimmer using luup code.  I don't want a trigger to fire a scene if the light is already on.  I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong.  I created a virtual switch to mirror the status of the keypadlinc and I can get the status from it using the code with no problem.

Here's what I have:

Code: [Select]
--- Check to see if bathroom light is already on
local isLightOn == luup.variable_get("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:Dimming1", "Status", 8)

if (tonumber(isLightOn) > 0) then
   return false
end

The device ID of the keypad dimmer is 8.  I used the lua test code and it just fails.

Thanks.

Offline RyanAHolland

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon 0.05 released!
« Reply #28 on: February 06, 2013, 11:56:25 am »
I had posted an Altsteon / Dimmable Keypadlinc related question a few months ago and I think it got lost in the shuffle.  Could someone take a look at it and give me an idea on where to go next?

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,12352.0.html

Thanks!

Offline topher1086

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon 0.05 released!
« Reply #29 on: February 06, 2013, 12:10:59 pm »
Ryan,

I did figure out the issue with the keypadlinc and the power status.  The device XML file didn't have the switch power service defined in it. Here's the XML I am using for the keypadlinc now.  You can just upload it under Luup files and it will overwrite your other one.