We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: ZIR000 Setup with Vera  (Read 9466 times)

Offline pjgolian

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +0/-0
ZIR000 Setup with Vera
« on: November 05, 2008, 06:39:18 pm »
How do I setup the ZIR000 with Vera?  The ZIR000 instructions state that when batteries are first placed in the unit will stay "awake" for 10 minutes.  I tried pairing with Vera's doggle, but it does seem to "see" it.

Offline pjgolian

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ZIR000 Setup with Vera
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2008, 10:42:19 pm »
With Brian's help at Micasaverde, I was able to add the motion sensor.  There is a small black button inside that you need to hold a couple of seconds when using the doggle's include mode.

How do I setup with the sensor that after xx amount of time where motion is no longer sensed that it sends an "off" command to a device?  I am looking at the event section under Automation and its unclear to me how to do this.

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: ZIR000 Setup with Vera
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2008, 11:50:09 pm »
PIR such as ZIR000/010 or HSM100 have fairly good documentation available, but if the intention is tokeep it simple for regular users it would be nice to have visible links to PDF or wiki with PIR setup instructions.

Offline pjgolian

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ZIR000 Setup with Vera
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2008, 03:17:21 pm »
What I need is additional documentation on how to do this with Vera.  For example, I was able to figure out in Vera how to get a device to turn on when motion is detected and then off when the motion sensor goes idle.  However, I don't see anything that would allow me to send from Vera to the motion sensor to change the motion sensor's default timeout to trigger the idle.  Right now, its defaulting to the factory setting of 2 minutes.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2008, 03:23:04 pm by pjgolian »

Offline micasaverde

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1666
  • Karma: +15/-1
Re: ZIR000 Setup with Vera
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2008, 07:51:04 pm »
Vera doesn't have a way to change those variables.  We'll add a mechanism.  Here's the bug report: http://bugs.micasaverde.com/view.php?id=225

Offline pjgolian

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ZIR000 Setup with Vera
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2008, 09:27:17 pm »
Any chance that support will be in the next firmware update?  If not, is there some other type of device that can program the setting?


Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: ZIR000 Setup with Vera
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2008, 09:29:23 pm »
If not, is there some other type of device that can program the setting?
This is one of possible ways
http://www.automationvista.com/Board/ShowTopic.aspx?Topic=65&hl=zir000#65

or, you need ACT remote ZTH100 version 1.26 or later
« Last Edit: November 09, 2008, 09:31:40 pm by 325xi »

Offline pjgolian

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ZIR000 Setup with Vera
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2008, 09:51:41 pm »
Thanks for the info.  It looks like if I can't wait, I need to spend some money on either the ThinkControl SDK or buy the remote.  I'll wait to see Micasaverde's response on time frames for support in the firmware.  Seems silly to spend $55+ for a 1 time setup.

Offline micasaverde

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1666
  • Karma: +15/-1
Re: ZIR000 Setup with Vera
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2008, 05:35:29 pm »
Quote
ny chance that support will be in the next firmware update?  If not, is there some other type of device that can program the setting?[/quote/

It should be there in about 1 week.

Offline pjgolian

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ZIR000 Setup with Vera
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2008, 09:35:48 pm »
It should be there in about 1 week.

Great news!  I just ordered two more from your store this week. 

Offline micasaverde

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1666
  • Karma: +15/-1
Re: ZIR000 Setup with Vera
« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2008, 11:28:48 am »
I've confirmed this is now working, so it will definitely be in the next firmware release we're trying to get out this weekend.