We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Most reliable Thermostat  (Read 19515 times)

Offline rodneyat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #30 on: June 17, 2012, 09:11:48 pm »
OK...Too wild.  Today the External Temp started working on my other thermostat today.  I had not changed anything but I happened to walk by and notice it was displaying something other than the time.  Not sure why it is working now.  But, I am not complaining.  I will probably install my 3rd Filtrete tomorrow.  We will see how it goes. 

Offline hugheaves

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Karma: +11/-0
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #31 on: June 18, 2012, 10:33:18 am »
Thx..I just emailed you the logs.  Actually, one of them started working today but the second one still only displays the time.  Hmmm

@rodneyat,

Sorry for the late reply. (I've been out of town / offline for a few days!)

I've replied to this issue in the 3M-50 thread, so we don't hijack this thread about most reliable thermostats:

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,9505.msg76961.html#msg76961
The HA "collection" so far: MiCasaVerde: 1x VeraLite, RTCOA: 3x 3M-50, GE: 1x 45606, 3x 45613, 5x 54614, Kwikset: 1x 99100-004, Intermatic: 6x CA3000, 6x CA600, 8x HA01, 2x HA02, 12x HA03, 2x HA04, 3x HA05,  6x HA07, 7x HA09, Honeywell: 1x Vista 20P, NuTech: 1x AD2USB

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +40/-67
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #32 on: June 18, 2012, 12:57:26 pm »
For a rental I get hit in the pocketbook 2 ways. One, when a renter is present, they now have complete control to set any temp they want. No limitation. With the zwave version I had it set so that a minimum could not be breached. I also had it set up that if the outside doors were open for an extended period when the outside temp was high that the a/c would be turned off.
Ahh, I see.  So it's not "no operation", it's "lack of remote operation".  Yes, that could get pricey.  I assume the min/max plugin works for all Z-wave thermostats; I know it works for the CA8900.
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline Minnies

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #33 on: June 18, 2012, 09:35:46 pm »
Sorry if I did not explain it well. The thermostat failed to control the a/c unit. I had to have maintenance replace it with the standard thermostat which had no external control or monitoring at all. zwave communications worked fine. Luckily I have 2 3 way motion/light/temp sensors so I can observe the temps more or less.

Except for the failure I was planning on replacing it to gain fan control and avoid the confusing energy and toggle on/off features. Neither which would have affected me for my own home. In fact my intent was to replace the rental tstat and move it to my normal house. But that won't happen now.

Offline mr crewcab

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #34 on: October 02, 2012, 09:56:15 pm »
i just ordered two Honeywell z-wave stats, they have a great reputation as far as the vision pro (no z-wave) is concerned. i cant see theses being a lot different. we have installed probably about 100 of these over the years and i think we had 1 that was intermittant.

I hope i didnt make a bad decision.

Trane has a terrible reputation in the commercial trade as being extremely overpriced and average quality.

I will let you know how they configure and if i have any gliches with them.

Offline smilepak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #35 on: January 08, 2014, 06:44:02 pm »
Does this work with VERA?

Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat http://www.homedepot.com/p/Honeywell-Wi-Fi-Smart-Thermostat-RTH9580WF/203926327#

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #36 on: January 08, 2014, 11:09:06 pm »