We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Most reliable Thermostat  (Read 19624 times)

Offline jwiz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #15 on: June 06, 2012, 01:53:46 pm »
You can also upgrade the firmware which you can't do on the CT30 unless you add the wifi module
Yes the firmware is upgradeable.

John

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +40/-67
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #16 on: June 06, 2012, 02:39:38 pm »
I didn't see wifi on the OP's wish list...  but then again, I didn't see a wish list.

The CA8900 is as cheap as they come, and I don't necessarily know what you're looking for in terms of "reliability" (communication? temperature regulation? accuracy?), but I've been running two of them for the better part of a year.  They are two of the devices I've never had problems with.

They're not attractive, they don't have a ton of physical features, but they work really well & do everything I need them to do via Vera.
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline rodneyat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #17 on: June 06, 2012, 05:09:07 pm »
I didn't see wifi on the OP's wish list...  but then again, I didn't see a wish list.

The CA8900 is as cheap as they come, and I don't necessarily know what you're looking for in terms of "reliability" (communication? temperature regulation? accuracy?), but I've been running two of them for the better part of a year.  They are two of the devices I've never had problems with.

They're not attractive, they don't have a ton of physical features, but they work really well & do everything I need them to do via Vera.

I don't need a ton of features.  Just something simple and reliable. 

That said, I did pickup a Filtrete at Home Depot today.  It is all up and running now.  Setup was a wiz.  I wish the 2Gig version was that simple.  Anyway, I just installed the plugin and it seems to have been added into Vera now.  I have not done a lot of messing with it yet.  But, it seems to be working fine, at this point.  Hopefully, this will work well and I will buy additional ones to replace my other old thermostats

Offline hugheaves

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Karma: +11/-0
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #18 on: June 11, 2012, 04:35:27 pm »
What additional features does it have?
If I only had known this before....

Flo

Other that the ones mentioned by @jwiz, there are a few other features that you get with the 3M-50, that you don't get with some of the other thermostats (including the Z-Wave ones):

1. Display temperature from any Vera supported temperature sensor as a secondary temperature on the thermostat. (hint: even if you don't have a physical temperature sensor, you can still use this to display outside temperature using the Weather plugin)
2. Use any Vera temperature device as the primary temperature sensor for the thermostat - meaning that the thermostat will operate as it it's internal temperature sensor was directly reading the value from the Vera temperature sensor
3. Use thermostat API to display messages / control LED's on the thermostat
The HA "collection" so far: MiCasaVerde: 1x VeraLite, RTCOA: 3x 3M-50, GE: 1x 45606, 3x 45613, 5x 54614, Kwikset: 1x 99100-004, Intermatic: 6x CA3000, 6x CA600, 8x HA01, 2x HA02, 12x HA03, 2x HA04, 3x HA05,  6x HA07, 7x HA09, Honeywell: 1x Vista 20P, NuTech: 1x AD2USB

Offline jwiz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #19 on: June 11, 2012, 10:53:52 pm »


1. Display temperature from any Vera supported temperature sensor as a secondary temperature on the thermostat. (hint: even if you don't have a physical temperature sensor, you can still use this to display outside temperature using the Weather plugin)


Ok this one I did not know about. How do you set that up within your plugin to display the weather plugin temp?

Thanks
John

Offline hugheaves

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Karma: +11/-0
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #20 on: June 12, 2012, 09:24:51 pm »
1. Display temperature from any Vera supported temperature sensor as a secondary temperature on the thermostat. (hint: even if you don't have a physical temperature sensor, you can still use this to display outside temperature using the Weather plugin)
Ok this one I did not know about. How do you set that up within your plugin to display the weather plugin temp?

Thanks
John

It's fairly straightforward. Assuming you already have the weather plugin installed:

1. In the Vera console, click on the "wrench" icon for the weather plugin device / temperature (low temp, current temp, etc.) that you'd like to display on your thermostat.
2. Click the settings tab of the weather plugin, and note the device ID # for the plugin
3. Click the "X" to close the weather plugin settings
4. Click on the wrench icon for the thermostat on which you'd like to display the weather plugin temperature
5. Click the advanced tab of the weather plugin, and enter the device ID # from the weather plugin into the "PMATempDevice" field
6. Click the "X" to close the thermostat plugin settings
7. Click the "Save" button in the Vera console to save your settings and restart

Someday I'll actually get around to creating a simple UI to setup these features, but in the meantime that's how you do it.

After that, your 3M-50 thermostat should display the weather temperature in the upper left hand corner of the thermostat (i.e. the PMA)

Hugh
« Last Edit: June 12, 2012, 09:27:20 pm by hugheaves »
The HA "collection" so far: MiCasaVerde: 1x VeraLite, RTCOA: 3x 3M-50, GE: 1x 45606, 3x 45613, 5x 54614, Kwikset: 1x 99100-004, Intermatic: 6x CA3000, 6x CA600, 8x HA01, 2x HA02, 12x HA03, 2x HA04, 3x HA05,  6x HA07, 7x HA09, Honeywell: 1x Vista 20P, NuTech: 1x AD2USB

Offline rodneyat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #21 on: June 14, 2012, 10:34:23 am »
Thanks for the info on this Hugh.  I did not know there was a plugin for Google Weather.  Great idea...I actually installed it and I can see all the different devices in UI5.  But entered the device ID (yes the correct one)  in the "PMATempDevice" field and it still did not appear on the screen of the 3M50.  In the upper left corner I still get the time of day.  I even installed a second thermostat yesterday and tried it with that one.  Same result.  Any ideas?  I am sure it is just something I have overlooked.  Thx

Offline hugheaves

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Karma: +11/-0
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #22 on: June 14, 2012, 11:32:42 am »
Thanks for the info on this Hugh.  I did not know there was a plugin for Google Weather.  Great idea...I actually installed it and I can see all the different devices in UI5.  But entered the device ID (yes the correct one)  in the "PMATempDevice" field and it still did not appear on the screen of the 3M50.  In the upper left corner I still get the time of day.  I even installed a second thermostat yesterday and tried it with that one.  Same result.  Any ideas?  I am sure it is just something I have overlooked.  Thx

Hmmm, it should just work. (But doesn't every developer always say that :) )

However, as it's obviously not working, let's check a few things:

1. In the "advanced" settings tab for the 3M-50 thermostat, what (if any) are the values of "Model", "FirmwareVersion", "PMAMessage", "PMALine", and "PMASet"? (PMAMessage should contain the current temperature, PMALine and PMASet should both be "1")

2. If you are able to access the logs on your device ( see http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Logs for a "how to" ), execute the following command to view the thermostat activity in the logs:

tail -F /var/log/cmh/LuaUPnP.log | grep RTCOA

and then click the "Reload" button in the Vera UI to restart the processes. If you could PM me the output after it's been running for a few minutes, or just post it here as an attachment, I'll take a look and try to figure out what's going on.
The HA "collection" so far: MiCasaVerde: 1x VeraLite, RTCOA: 3x 3M-50, GE: 1x 45606, 3x 45613, 5x 54614, Kwikset: 1x 99100-004, Intermatic: 6x CA3000, 6x CA600, 8x HA01, 2x HA02, 12x HA03, 2x HA04, 3x HA05,  6x HA07, 7x HA09, Honeywell: 1x Vista 20P, NuTech: 1x AD2USB

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +40/-67
Re: Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #23 on: June 14, 2012, 12:14:36 pm »
The main one for me is the auto mode for auto heat/cool.
I use two CA8900's which do not have an auto mode.  I get around this with Luup provided by Florin.  It behaves like a virtual auto mode by checking high & low setpoints & setting the mode accordingly.  For $40, these thermostats do everything I need them to.
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline rodneyat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #24 on: June 14, 2012, 05:15:22 pm »
Thx..I just emailed you the logs.  Actually, one of them started working today but the second one still only displays the time.  Hmmm

Thanks for the info on this Hugh.  I did not know there was a plugin for Google Weather.  Great idea...I actually installed it and I can see all the different devices in UI5.  But entered the device ID (yes the correct one)  in the "PMATempDevice" field and it still did not appear on the screen of the 3M50.  In the upper left corner I still get the time of day.  I even installed a second thermostat yesterday and tried it with that one.  Same result.  Any ideas?  I am sure it is just something I have overlooked.  Thx

Hmmm, it should just work. (But doesn't every developer always say that :) )

However, as it's obviously not working, let's check a few things:

1. In the "advanced" settings tab for the 3M-50 thermostat, what (if any) are the values of "Model", "FirmwareVersion", "PMAMessage", "PMALine", and "PMASet"? (PMAMessage should contain the current temperature, PMALine and PMASet should both be "1")

2. If you are able to access the logs on your device ( see http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Logs for a "how to" ), execute the following command to view the thermostat activity in the logs:

tail -F /var/log/cmh/LuaUPnP.log | grep RTCOA

and then click the "Reload" button in the Vera UI to restart the processes. If you could PM me the output after it's been running for a few minutes, or just post it here as an attachment, I'll take a look and try to figure out what's going on.

Offline Minnies

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #25 on: June 14, 2012, 07:51:20 pm »
The main one for me is the auto mode for auto heat/cool.
I use two CA8900's which do not have an auto mode.  I get around this with Luup provided by Florin.  It behaves like a virtual auto mode by checking high & low setpoints & setting the mode accordingly.  For $40, these thermostats do everything I need them to.

Same here until this past Sunday when the thermostat failed. Initially with erratic operation leading to no operation.  Not the communication side of it but with operating the a/c unit.  That $40 thermostat will cost me more the $200 in increased a/c bills for the next 2 months plus the emergency repair service. This is a rental home and I will NOT buy another cheap version. Costly mistake for me.

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +40/-67
Re: Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #26 on: June 15, 2012, 03:25:23 am »
Same here until this past Sunday when the thermostat failed. Initially with erratic operation leading to no operation.  Not the communication side of it but with operating the a/c unit.  That $40 thermostat will cost me more the $200 in increased a/c bills for the next 2 months plus the emergency repair service.
Ooooof.  That's not good.  Care to explain further?  Why does "no operation of a thermostat" result in increased AC bills?  I would think it would result in decreased bills but pretty intolerable living conditions...

The only erratic behavior I've seen so far comes out of Vera, and I have yet to be able to explain it--maybe once every two months, Vera will set the AC cool setpoint of one of the thermostats to 62 degrees.  Booo.  I'm immediately notified of the change, so I just set it back, but it would be nice to know what's going on.
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline Minnies

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #27 on: June 15, 2012, 10:22:48 pm »
For a rental I get hit in the pocketbook 2 ways. One, when a renter is present, they now have complete control to set any temp they want. No limitation. With the zwave version I had it set so that a minimum could not be breached. I also had it set up that if the outside doors were open for an extended period when the outside temp was high that the a/c would be turned off.

The second way is when I have no renter it will probably be left in whatever position the last renter left it instead of reverting to an unoccupied level of minimal cooling.

I plan on replacing it with a Trane thermostat. I am hopeful it is better for several shortcomings in addition to the failure itself. First I believe it includes fan control. I had the fan left on for 2 months one time before it was caught. Second is the odd tstat set to a low value thing that happens every once in a while. Even when the house was empty??? The odd behavior that pressing the heat or cool button twice in a row turns the thermostat off. And last the confusing energy savings mode that Vera does not display.

I had been planning on replacing it in 2 months, but now have to pay the price for early failure. And for much more $$ than it saved.

Offline rodneyat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #28 on: June 15, 2012, 11:05:06 pm »
For the short time I have been using the Filtrete. I have been very happy. It's like the best of both worlds for me. Wifi/cloud control but still having visibility in Vera. I'm very pleased. I added a second one this week. And I have a third one I will out in next week once I have time to get in the attic to attach the "c" wire.

Offline grybrd

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Most reliable Thermostat
« Reply #29 on: June 16, 2012, 09:33:09 am »
@Minnies ... I have been using Tranes for two years using virtual switches for summer vs winter, occupied by us or guest,  with scenes to limit temp settings