Author Topic: How deep is SQ blaster integrated in vera 3  (Read 5027 times)

Offline Cor

How deep is SQ blaster integrated in vera 3
« on: June 05, 2012, 05:41:46 pm »
Hi all,

I am very new to Zwave and actually haven't bought anything yet , hopefully I have time to buy it next week, when I know it does what i want.

Basically I want to switch on and change channels of my tv / sat reviver when I am on the other side of the world. 
Is this possible with the vera3 in combination with the SQ blaster+. Also is this fully integrated in the interface of the vera3 programm? , or do I have to switch programs all the time?.

many thanks,
Cor
« Last Edit: June 05, 2012, 08:02:30 pm by Cor »

Offline strangely

• Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: How far is SQ blaster integrated in vera 3
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2012, 06:07:55 pm »
Once you load the plugin for the blaster, you then need to install an IR plugin to interface it with! You may be lucky if one exists, or you may not, and might have to create one!

Even once both plugins are installed, Vera would only really give you scene control where you would need to create scenes for the channels you want to use, or other buttons like individual numbers 0-9 etc. There is also a control from another page in vera that essentially has all the links to the correct actions and buttons, its ugly but will also work until MCV's remote is working correctly.

If you know a bit of HTML, you also build your own page with a nice custom remote!

Of course if you already have an iOS device such as an iPod Touch/iPhone or iPad, then the above all becomes really easy and you can just control it from there via Vera or a VPN!

What Sat TV service do you use? I assume you need this to stream it remotely ala slingbox or similar?
« Last Edit: June 05, 2012, 06:10:52 pm by strangely »