We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Sq Blaster connection  (Read 7987 times)

Offline teonebello

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Macs, Home Automation, Bikers
Sq Blaster connection
« on: June 07, 2012, 04:02:47 pm »
His guys,

Checking the log of my Vera 3, I saw that the sq blaster plug in I checking the connection with the puck/sq blaster every exactly minute.

Is it not much? Is it not an useless charge for vera?

Is it possible to change the frequent every 180 minutes?

Thank you
Regards
Matteo

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: Sq Blaster connection
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2012, 04:40:24 pm »
The newer SQBlaster+ models have a Temperature Sensor.   It's not listed in the featureset but it's there.

The frequency of polling is to keep the Temperature Sensor data reasonably current so people can make decisions off it (turn of AV Gear, alert people, control Forced-air systems etc). 

It's currently wired into the Plugin code, with no method to override it (but I'll consider adding it in a future release)

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Sq Blaster connection
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2012, 01:58:00 am »
I like the temp feature and would like to see it made into a proper child device in future.

I've been keeping an eye on what temp mine reports, and how close it is an Oregon Scientific one, and its always within a couple of degrees F so far!
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: Sq Blaster connection
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2012, 02:05:41 am »
It already is a proper device child.  I used the same logic to create it that I used in the Weather plugin...

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Sq Blaster connection
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2012, 02:16:27 am »
But it doesn't show up though, I can see its value in the advanced tab or the blaster, but that's all!

Did you only enable the child device recently perhaps?

*goes away to double check the clutter in my dashboard for correctness of the above statement
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Sq Blaster connection
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2012, 02:18:13 am »
My bad, it was there after all!  8)
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: Sq Blaster connection
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2012, 02:22:48 am »
Yup.  Been there since the day I modded the plugin for SQBlaster+ as shown in the screencap image on code.mios.com. ...  I was trying to be subtle, since that was an unadvertised feature of the device.  Handy though.

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Sq Blaster connection
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2012, 02:26:53 am »
Didn't see it the first time I looked, and I guess it got lost in the sea of RFXtrx related sensors mines picked up in the neighborhood :)
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: Sq Blaster connection
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2012, 03:37:17 am »
I've added a Parameter that can be manually setup, for folks that want to change the reporting/polling period.

The Variable has the following details:
ServiceId: urn:squareconnect-com:serviceId:SQBlaster1
Variable: Period (datatype Number, units Seconds, default 60)

Folks can manually create this under the Advanced tab of the Device, and give it a value (seconds) that is used for the delay between refreshes of the SQBlaster/SQBlaster+ data.  The default is 60 seconds.



This is checked into SVN under the revision:
    http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_sqblaster/changeset/49/

with the raw source:
    http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_sqblaster/export/49/trunk/I_SQBlaster1.xml

When I next get around to publishing the plugin to apps.mios.com, this will be included.  Otherwise people can use the old techniques to upload it if they want to try this functionality.


The newer SQBlaster+ models have a Temperature Sensor.   It's not listed in the featureset but it's there.

The frequency of polling is to keep the Temperature Sensor data reasonably current so people can make decisions off it (turn of AV Gear, alert people, control Forced-air systems etc). 

It's currently wired into the Plugin code, with no method to override it (but I'll consider adding it in a future release)

Offline tregaron

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Sq Blaster connection
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2012, 07:35:38 am »
The newer SQBlaster+ models have a Temperature Sensor.

Hi - that's a handy feature; unfortunately mine is reporting a temperature of 176. Is it broken, or have I not configured something properly?

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: Sq Blaster connection
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2012, 10:48:45 am »
I'm not sure why it would report that.  You'd need to circle back with SquareConnect to get that worked out, but bear in mind that it's not an advertised feature of their product. 

I produced the Temperature object as I saw the value in their data-stream and thought it might be handy to display it.

Offline teonebello

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Macs, Home Automation, Bikers
Re: Sq Blaster connection
« Reply #11 on: June 12, 2012, 09:46:37 am »
I've added a Parameter that can be manually setup, for folks that want to change the reporting/polling period.

The Variable has the following details:
ServiceId: urn:squareconnect-com:serviceId:SQBlaster1
Variable: Period (datatype Number, units Seconds, default 60)

Folks can manually create this under the Advanced tab of the Device, and give it a value (seconds) that is used for the delay between refreshes of the SQBlaster/SQBlaster+ data.  The default is 60 seconds.



This is checked into SVN under the revision:
    http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_sqblaster/changeset/49/

with the raw source:
    http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_sqblaster/export/49/trunk/I_SQBlaster1.xml

When I next get around to publishing the plugin to apps.mios.com, this will be included.  Otherwise people can use the old techniques to upload it if they want to try this functionality.


The newer SQBlaster+ models have a Temperature Sensor.   It's not listed in the featureset but it's there.

The frequency of polling is to keep the Temperature Sensor data reasonably current so people can make decisions off it (turn of AV Gear, alert people, control Forced-air systems etc). 

It's currently wired into the Plugin code, with no method to override it (but I'll consider adding it in a future release)

Thank you for the fat support.

Do you know when you will release in the app store?

Otherwise I can upload manually the xml, change it in the devices. Then where should I add the parameter and in which exact field? Maybe a screenshot?

Thank you!!!
Matteo

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: Sq Blaster connection
« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2012, 09:54:06 am »
I'm waiting to bundle it with other patches, since it's painful to deal with apps.mios.com (from the developer side of things), so I tend to try and minimize interactions with it.

The Variable details are listed above, you just go into the Advanced Tab of the device, scroll to the bottom, and use the blank fields there to add them.

Quote
The Variable has the following details:
ServiceId: urn:squareconnect-com:serviceId:SQBlaster1
Variable: Period (datatype Number, units Seconds, default 60)

Offline Theo

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Sq Blaster connection
« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2012, 03:04:35 am »
Is it possible to report the temperature in degrees Celsius?

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: Sq Blaster connection
« Reply #14 on: August 10, 2012, 01:07:58 pm »
It's not directly exposed in the UI, but you can do this:
    http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,10636.msg74112.html#msg74112