We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Controlling Sony TV device  (Read 10783 times)

Offline chris66

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
  • Karma: +9/-8
Controlling Sony TV device
« on: June 22, 2012, 04:13:58 pm »
I can see now that I have my Sony TV displayed in my devices, magic ::) but how to interract with the device? Such basic things like swith on off...

Thanks.

chris

Offline Throttleman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Controlling Sony TV device
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2012, 06:14:32 pm »
You have?  ??? 8) How?  :)
I have 2 Sony's connected to my network but "I can only see them" with Win7.

Offline thetwc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Controlling Sony TV device
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2012, 06:53:34 am »
I just did a scan of upnp devices in add devices, and my kdl32ex523 turned up.   

No options to do anything with it though.
1600's Thatched Cottage in the UK tricked out with Veras, RFx, and 30+ devices.  Homewave devotee.
Lite on UI5.  (1.5.672)   |   Edge on UI7

Offline chris66

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
  • Karma: +9/-8
Re: Controlling Sony TV device
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2012, 08:39:34 am »
Yes I think it's through upnp that I can see that kind of devices, also a Acer Iconia A501. But it the settings, I just have the ip and mac address. And the goal would be to pilot this upnp interfaces, but do not know how. If they are visible, there must be a way to do something with  ::)

Offline thetwc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Controlling Sony TV device
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2012, 05:34:47 pm »
There's an iPhone app that scans the wireless network for Sony tvs on that network and provides full control. Surely that must be creating signals that a Vera plugin could also make? 

Any ideas? 

Even just power on and off would be great.
1600's Thatched Cottage in the UK tricked out with Veras, RFx, and 30+ devices.  Homewave devotee.
Lite on UI5.  (1.5.672)   |   Edge on UI7

Offline anker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Controlling Sony TV device
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2012, 09:02:38 am »
Hi,

My Sony NEX700 is using Upnp. It would be fairly easy for a plugin guy to make a upnp plugin (see my sonos plugin that uses upnp).

I am not sure that it supports a on/off function though...

anker

Offline big517

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Karma: +1/-4
Re: Controlling Sony TV device
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2012, 12:30:01 pm »

I am not sure that it supports a on/off function though...

anker

I just purchased the Sony DVD Player that allows the Remote App for this exact reason and was searching to see if there was a plugin already made.
The remote did turn the BluRay player ON from an OFF state.  That was an option during the setup.
I too need some direction on setting this up.  The model I have is BDP-BX59 from Costco.  Would love to have the Device in Vera to add to scenes, etc...

I added it through the "Add UPNP Device" route, however it says invalid JSON file when selecting it in a scene...  Any suggestions here?

I should note its DLNA compliant.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2012, 01:10:56 pm by big517 »

Offline chris66

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
  • Karma: +9/-8
Re: Controlling Sony TV device
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2012, 01:18:20 pm »
@big517
Just have a look at the site of the Samsung plugin developper: http://www.antor.fr/apps/samsung-tv-remote/ hope he could help you ;)

Offline big517

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Karma: +1/-4
Re: Controlling Sony TV device
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2012, 01:43:13 pm »
@big517
Just have a look at the site of the Samsung plugin developper: http://www.antor.fr/apps/samsung-tv-remote/ hope he could help you ;)

Thanks, however I dont speak French, I tried the translate option in Chrome, but it keeps saying it cannot translate due to server error...

Offline chris66

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
  • Karma: +9/-8
Re: Controlling Sony TV device
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2012, 02:23:53 pm »
Go to the contact form and ask! He talk english!

Offline big517

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Karma: +1/-4
Re: Controlling Sony TV device
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2012, 02:46:25 pm »

Offline chris66

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
  • Karma: +9/-8
Re: Controlling Sony TV device
« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2012, 08:37:55 am »
ok, for instance,  I use the android sony remote: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.sony.seconddisplay.view&hl=fr
I think he did the same thing with the samsung tv, with samsung android remote, like sniffing with http://www.wireshark.org/ to get the samsung commands, but do not know to use this tool.

Offline Antor

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Controlling Sony TV device
« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2012, 08:37:23 am »
Hi guy,

ok, for instance,  I use the android sony remote: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.sony.seconddisplay.view&hl=fr
I think he did the same thing with the samsung tv, with samsung android remote, like sniffing with http://www.wireshark.org/ to get the samsung commands, but do not know to use this tool.

Yes, it's one way to do this job. Maybe someone has allready did that. In my case (for Samsung Remote plugin) I found lots of support on Samsung dev forum. Maybe you should look that way.

Other way is using UPNP protocol like Anker have doing for Sonos (great plugin by the way  ;)). Probably the easiest way, but maybe not support all remote function.

Sorry, it wasn't very helpfull  :-X

Offline chris66

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
  • Karma: +9/-8
Re: Controlling Sony TV device
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2012, 08:59:03 am »
Thanks Antor,

Good way to proceed.

A nice day.

chris

Offline teonebello

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Macs, Home Automation, Bikers
Re: Controlling Sony TV device
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2012, 07:22:34 am »
Any news on it?

I'm very interested if possible to control my sony tv with a plug is, as samsung.

Thank you
Matteo