Author Topic: Foscam IP Camera Plugin  (Read 265974 times)

Offline mcvflorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • Karma: +11/-3
Foscam IP Camera Plugin
« on: June 29, 2012, 09:49:49 am »
I just finished tweaking the Foscam plugin version 2.0 and written some documentation. Now it has support for motion sensor and presets. It should work for both UI4 and UI5. Presets are supported only in firmware versions starting with 1.5.390.

The documentation is here:
http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_foscam-camera

Note: On firmwares older than 1.5.390 arming and bypassing the motion sensor won't work unless you upload this file on Vera. After you upload the file, you must reload the Luup engine.

Edit: By the way, those who don't like the new version can get the old one here: http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_foscam-camera/browser#tags/1.0

Edit no.2: I updated the documentation with instructions for getting presets support in post 1.5.390 firmwares.

Edit no.3: It seems that the updated camera interface with 8 preset buttons didn't make it into the beta release. I attached the updated file. Upload it on Apps >> Develop Apps >> Luup Files and reload Luup after uploading.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2012, 11:12:46 am by mcvflorin »

Offline Trotsky40

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Foscam IP Camera Plugin
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2012, 11:29:52 am »
The updated plug-in installed this morning. The new motion sensor appeared, it auto-detected my Vera IP, etc.

However, when I click on "Arm" or "Bypass" on the sensor I get a "No Implemention" warning pop-up. Have I missed something in the set-up?

The sensor defaulted to "Arm" but unfortunatly I am not at home to test to see if it is acutally working.

I have a Vera Lite  with FW 1.5.346 and am using a Foscam FI8910W.

Thanks,
Vera Plus- A wide variety of z-wave devices, a few zigbee devices, Sonos, and Phillips Hue bulbs via Hue Bridge.

Offline mcvflorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • Karma: +11/-3
Re: Foscam IP Camera Plugin
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2012, 11:56:44 am »
@Trotsky40

Yeah, I forgot about this. See the note in the first post.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2012, 11:58:20 am by mcvflorin »

Offline Trotsky40

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Foscam IP Camera Plugin
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2012, 12:14:59 pm »
Thanks. I can confirm the motion sensor plug-in works well (my wife is working from home). The plug-in also turned on the the email function in the camera (it emails me five or six photos when motion is detected, set-up seperately directly through the camera). This is an added bonus as I was just expecting the motion trigger email from the Vera unit.

Now I just need to install the other file to turn it off  :D

Vera Plus- A wide variety of z-wave devices, a few zigbee devices, Sonos, and Phillips Hue bulbs via Hue Bridge.

Offline evanes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Foscam IP Camera Plugin
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2012, 03:34:28 pm »
Great, my Foscam has been pretty unstable using other device files. (generic ipcam plugin)

but, I feel kind of silly not knowing how to install this device by hand on UI4. Could you please provide me with some instructions...

Offline Trotsky40

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Foscam IP Camera Plugin
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2012, 03:39:40 pm »
I can't say about UI4 but these instructions worked like a champ on UI5:

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,10599.msg77991.html#new
Vera Plus- A wide variety of z-wave devices, a few zigbee devices, Sonos, and Phillips Hue bulbs via Hue Bridge.

Offline Trotsky40

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Foscam IP Camera Plugin
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2012, 12:24:08 am »
I have noticed that "Bypass" disables the motion detection in the Vera but leaves it on in the camera. I don't get email notifications from Vera but I still get the email alerts from the camera. Is there anyway to make the "Bypass" switch disable the motion detection in the camera itself?
Vera Plus- A wide variety of z-wave devices, a few zigbee devices, Sonos, and Phillips Hue bulbs via Hue Bridge.

Offline Johan

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Foscam IP Camera Plugin
« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2012, 03:34:42 pm »
I just finished tweaking the Foscam plugin version 2.0 and written some documentation. Now it has support for motion sensor and presets. It should work for both UI4 and UI5. Presets are supported only in firmware versions starting with 1.5.390.

The documentation is here:
http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_foscam-camera

Note: On firmwares older than 1.5.390 arming and bypassing the motion sensor won't work unless you upload this file on Vera. After you upload the file, you must reload the Luup engine.

Edit: By the way, those who don't like the new version can get the old one here: http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_foscam-camera/browser#tags/1.0

Dear mcvflorin,

I managed in no time to get the plugin working. Two weeks later, Vera 3 is now producing the error "Missing Vera IP address" although the Foscam camera is working well in Vera 3 UI5. Do you know why? I haven't change a thing.

Regards Johan

Offline ehillis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: Foscam IP Camera Plugin
« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2012, 04:01:36 pm »
@mcvflorin

Is it possible to specify an existing NAS based FTP server for the resulting pictures/videos to be written to? Currently have it specified in all 14 cameras. Would like it to be in vera so I have the capability of applying conditions to it.

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Re: Foscam IP Camera Plugin
« Reply #9 on: June 30, 2012, 04:26:31 pm »
@mcvflorin

Is it possible to specify an existing NAS based FTP server for the resulting pictures/videos to be written to? Currently have it specified in all 14 cameras. Would like it to be in vera so I have the capability of applying conditions to it.

This has been asked several times. You'll need to use luup code to save the image to the ftp server. If you do a search, you'll be able to find a thread or two regarding your question.

- Garrett

Offline ehillis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: Foscam IP Camera Plugin
« Reply #10 on: June 30, 2012, 08:04:40 pm »
@garretwp

I've already read all the postings for writing the video/pictures from within Vera, and they were enlightening, but opted for using the built in features of the Foscam cameras to capture the video/pictures to a FTP server. My suggestion was to add additional function to vera that wouldn't have to be maintained by the user in future releases of the product. A half century of IT experience has taught me to avoid custom code if at all possible, a lot of it self inflicted.

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Foscam IP Camera Plugin
« Reply #11 on: June 30, 2012, 08:10:57 pm »
Unless MCV add this option, adding custom code is the only way to go. I understand what you are saying as I am to in the IT industry working with some of the most powerful computers in the world. Custom code can get messy. I would suggest that you open a feature request over at bugs.mios.com.

- Garrett

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Foscam IP Camera Plugin
« Reply #12 on: June 30, 2012, 08:53:32 pm »
Quote
Note: On firmwares older than 1.5.390 arming and bypassing the motion sensor won't work unless you upload...
Installed the plug-in while running 1.5.407 and getting No Implementation of Arm/Bypass on the motion sensor, uploaded the new D_DigitalSecurityCamera1.xml anyway, but same scenario.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline Grain

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Foscam IP Camera Plugin
« Reply #13 on: July 01, 2012, 09:32:43 am »
I feel kinda silly but can't figure it out..

I installed the plugin, uploaded the extra file, created the device and can see live video.
Can't use PTZ as it says "No Implementation".

Vera 2 1.5.346
Foscam FI8918W

what I did was:
- Apps - Install Apps - install Foscam IP Camera 2.0
- Apps - Develop Apps - Luup files - upload D_DigitalSecurityCamera1.xml (this file appears twice now in the list)
- Apps - Develop Apps - Create device - enter D_DigitalSecurityCamera1.xml as "upnp Device Filename" and Foscam as "Description"

I don't seem to have the StepSize, ReverseControls & VeraAddress Variables.
I also can't seem to find the Motion Sensor.

any tips are appreciated..

btw. thanks mcvflorin for updating this plugin!

Offline silvereagle2208

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: +0/-0
Using Foscam IP Camera Plugin
« Reply #14 on: July 01, 2012, 11:58:50 am »
@ Grain
I have a Foscam FI8910W, and I also am not seeing the step size, reverse control, or Vera  address variables.

Since I uploaded the new version of  D_DigitalSecurityCamera1.xml that MCVFlorin provided,  I now also have two copies of the  D_DigitalSecurityCamera1.xml  file listed.
 
I cannot get the Activation Icon for my Foscam camera to indicate that the camera's motion sensor was tripped (activated). 

I added I_FoscamPTZ.xml to the impl_file field on the Motion Sensor Advanced tab.  It appeared to have no effect.  Is this field needed at this time?

Email images are being sent.  However, the source of the emails is the camera, not the motion sensor module.

If I change the "Controlled via" from the parent camera to Vera (or some other parent), the Motion Sensor device for that camera disappears from the UI5 interface.  The only way I could restore the lost motion sensor device was to Restore the system from a previous backup.

@Trotsky40
I do not agree with your request that if you set the BYPASS mode on the new Vtera Foscam Motion Sensor device that you want it to turn of Motion Capture on the parent IP camera as well.  I regard the camera motion detection as my baseline.  I do not want Vera to override my baseline.  At most, I want Vera to supplement my camera baseline.  If you want a button on the Foscam Motion Sensor tab to override the camera motion detection, then there needs to be 3 buttons: Armed, Bypass, Turn Off Parent Camera Motion Capture.  This new motion module is still too experimental.  I also consider it to be somewhat unnecessary, since I feel the prime location where camera motion capture should be Enabled/Disabled should be on the camera itself, with Vera providing supplemental functionality.