We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Polling vs Pushing Power Usage  (Read 8174 times)

Offline dslachut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Polling vs Pushing Power Usage
« on: July 02, 2012, 03:54:54 pm »
I'm using a Vera2 with Aeon Smartswitches for monitoring. Do the meters ever push data to the Vera, or do they only ever communicate via polling?

Also, where could I find such documentation in the future?

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Polling vs Pushing Power Usage
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2012, 04:35:38 pm »
The SmartSwitches should auto update in the UI every few seconds.
I've had instances where they've stopped updating in the UI and I've needed to do a "Configure node right now" to get them started again.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline dslachut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Polling vs Pushing Power Usage
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2012, 12:26:20 am »
Thanks for the reply.

Could you or someone point me to where that feature is documented?

Offline Brientim

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2497
  • Karma: +78/-7
Re: Polling vs Pushing Power Usage
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2012, 03:04:17 am »
The SmartSwitches should auto update in the UI every few seconds.
I've had instances where they've stopped updating in the UI and I've needed to do a "Configure node right now" to get them started again.

I am not sure if this is correct. When you initially add the device, it will configure the polling within Vera. The default polling is set at 60 seconds. The easist way to confirm this would be to set Polling in the "Advanced" tab to 0 (zero) which is no polling. Do not leave it blank to test this because blank inherrents the Vera global defaults and therefore, your Vera would still be polling the device.

The specification are http://www.aeon-labs.com/site/public/lib/download.php?type=s&f=14

Extract from specifications Monitoring Energy Consumption
The Aeon Labs Smart Energy Switch can report wattage
energy usage or kWh energy usage to a Z-Wave gateway or
controller when requested. If this function is supported by
the gateway/controller, the energy consumption will be
displayed in the user interface of the gateway/controller.
(The specific Z-Wave commands supporting energy
monitoring are the Meter Command Class and Multilevel
Sensor Command Class.) Please consult the operation
manual for these gateways/controllers for specific
instructions on monitoring the Smart Energy Switch.

« Last Edit: July 04, 2012, 04:29:28 am by Brientim »

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Polling vs Pushing Power Usage
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2012, 06:13:23 am »
@dslachut,

Welcome!

Do the meters ever push data to the Vera, or do they only ever communicate via polling?
As @JOD stated, they auto-update, i.e. they push.

This is controlled by the settings on the Device Options tab of the device. (I have them at defaults and never tried to change them.) There's a wiki page on those.
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Polling vs Pushing Power Usage
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2012, 06:16:37 am »
[...] The default polling is set at 60 seconds. [...]
Note that this is a maximum (i.e. poll at most every ...), not a minimum (i.e. poll at least every ...).
« Last Edit: July 04, 2012, 06:18:09 am by oTi@ »
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline Brientim

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2497
  • Karma: +78/-7
Re: Polling vs Pushing Power Usage
« Reply #6 on: July 04, 2012, 09:47:25 am »
oTi@,

Thanks for the clarification. In my case, I have established there are two different versions in Australia. One of  the versions appears as an Manufacture Aeon version 6,2,78,1,0 and the other as an manufacture MIOS Smartswitch version 3,2,78,1,43.
The Aeon will not accept the configuration settings and nor does it Push updates.

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Polling vs Pushing Power Usage
« Reply #7 on: July 04, 2012, 11:00:54 am »
As far as Polling vs Pushing, when we first beta'd the SmartSwitches, they were floodng my network with so many packets that my system would constantly crash, so they do indeed push their data.

Quote
One of  the versions appears as an Manufacture Aeon version 6,2,78,1,0 and the other as an manufacture MIOS Smartswitch version 3,2,78,1,43.
All the SmartSwitches are Aeon hardware, have you tried a "Configure node right now" and does the device not update to MIOS?
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline Brientim

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2497
  • Karma: +78/-7
Polling vs Pushing Power Usage
« Reply #8 on: July 04, 2012, 12:21:10 pm »
Yes, they are distinctly different. Yes, I agree both were made by Aeon Labs but curious as i think they were release in Australia before the USA and ones that do not push were the original ones. They work fine except they do not push but it give me a reference point to work from. This is the fun part. Thanks @jod

Offline dslachut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Polling vs Pushing Power Usage
« Reply #9 on: July 05, 2012, 01:55:32 pm »
Brientim, oTi@

Thank you very much. This is exactly what I'd been looking for.

Offline santoal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Polling vs Pushing Power Usage
« Reply #10 on: July 26, 2012, 05:25:03 am »
Hi

I am trying to find out similar information and saw this thread. I have the Australian version of the Aeon Labs in line smart energy switches and micro (in wall) switches. The in line switches definitely operate on "push" operation and immediately update when turned on/of using the button on the device. The in-wall switches appear to "Poll" and take several minutes for their status to correct in vera UI4 when operated via the a connected wall switch. When operated through iphone and ipad however, the status update is immediate.

Normally wouldn't be concerned, however I need to trigger other scenes when turning a light off by the wall switch. Having other lights triggered 2 to 5 minutes later doesn't really work.

Any help, information or guidance suggested.

I contacted Aeon Labs and they suggested the device is capable of both.

Thanks
« Last Edit: July 26, 2012, 05:58:52 am by santoal »

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Polling vs Pushing Power Usage
« Reply #11 on: July 26, 2012, 06:04:36 am »
The poll/push question was specific to the energy metering.

In terms of instant updates when you operate the switch manually (on/off), this is a licensed feature and most manufacturers therefore don't support it. There are some workarounds, to make it appear as if true instant updates are supported. Instant updates are no guarantee in that case; the update will come through polling. (When operated through some other control point like an iPhone, the communication is through Vera, so she knows the new state right away.)

Not sure what the Aeon micro switches support. Have you tried moving Vera close to one and see if it makes a difference?
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline santoal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Polling vs Pushing Power Usage
« Reply #12 on: July 26, 2012, 06:50:50 am »
Thanks for info.

Moving vera closer to the device seems to make no difference. I have tried changing the polling frequency, but still seems to take minutes due to number of devices.

Practical work arounds appreciated.

Offline Brientim

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2497
  • Karma: +78/-7
Re: Polling vs Pushing Power Usage
« Reply #13 on: July 27, 2012, 02:40:33 am »
Find below response from Aeon Labs (Aeotec).

Aeon version 6,2,78,1,0 is an older version that is without EEPROM SES, and was written around the year 2009.

The Smartswitch version 3.2.78.1.43 is the latest version of the SES.

Best Regards,
Chris

Offline jtmoore

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Polling vs Pushing Power Usage
« Reply #14 on: July 27, 2012, 03:28:55 am »
I think there are options that control how often a report is sent depending upon how big the change in wattage is. I seem to recall changing mine to smaller delta values (percentage and absolute values) that caused it to report more frequently. If your device support those options then try experimenting with those.
Jtmoore.
jtmoore