Author Topic: Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera  (Read 78638 times)

Offline intveltr

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1686
  • Karma: +93/-5
Re: Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera
« Reply #30 on: September 06, 2012, 04:11:53 am »
The next version will support saving configurations (or a single screen) into Dropbox, and into the app's Documents folder (accessible via iTunes).  A battery level indicator is planned.

Support for changing properties in multiple devices at once should be possible; I will add it to the list (though it's probably not going to make it into the next few releases).
HomeWave is available in the App Store!  Turn your iPhone/iPad into an easy-to-use remote control for Vera.

Offline electricessence

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
  • Karma: +0/-0
Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera
« Reply #31 on: September 06, 2012, 12:41:36 pm »
Changed my rating to 5 stars. :)
Love this app. The best.

Offline cmbeek

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera
« Reply #32 on: September 15, 2012, 01:22:19 am »
Looking very promissing, sofar.
I would like to have my gasmeter displayed (like powermeters).
Could that be added to the wishlist? Thanks!

Offline intveltr

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1686
  • Karma: +93/-5
Re: Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera
« Reply #33 on: September 15, 2012, 05:09:59 am »
Support for gas meters or smart meters is planned.  What kind of gas meter do you have, and how is it interfacing with Vera?
HomeWave is available in the App Store!  Turn your iPhone/iPad into an easy-to-use remote control for Vera.

Offline kermit88

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera
« Reply #34 on: September 15, 2012, 09:12:11 am »
Just bought mine, very nice  :D

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1146
  • Karma: +39/-67
Re: Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera
« Reply #35 on: September 21, 2012, 09:40:41 am »
Oops, I posted in the development thread.  Here...

Searching for HomeWave will turn it up in the app store :)
Found it, and based on the YouTube video, I purchased it.  I've been using iVera (full) for probably over a year.  I'll let you know which one I end up using more often...

I have some questions, but I'll read this thread in its entirety first.
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1146
  • Karma: +39/-67
Re: Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera
« Reply #36 on: September 21, 2012, 09:51:45 am »
I'm working outside of my LAN, so I can't configure HomeWave.  I guess that's my biggest issue for the moment.

I can see where buying this for my wife's iTunes account & installing on her iPhone would be good.  I guess I should have done that first to test it out & compare.

EDIT (again):  From the description in iTunes - "HomeWave will work on your LAN as well as remotely via the MIOS gateway service."

OK...  I'll just have to play with this when I get home.  I see the tutorials are available at http://homewave.intvelt.com/.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2012, 10:07:54 am by DeltaNu1142 »
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1146
  • Karma: +39/-67
Re: Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera
« Reply #37 on: September 21, 2012, 02:33:45 pm »
I've arrived at home.  HomeWave detected Vera; 'wifi' icon is no longer red.  I'm walking through the steps:

Begin editing it by clicking the Setup button (the spanner) . The Control Panel will change from a back background to a set of blue squares with crosses in them; these represent empty spaces where you can place control elements. check
Tap the top-left blue square to select it (it turns grey). check
Tap the Add button check
A window appears with various Z-wave control elements. Choose the On/Off Switch (if our Z-wave setup has no switches, choose another control element) negative

I just get a screen that shows the text, top-to-bottom:

Cancel----------OK
Control Properties
Caption [control screen]
Store / Share / Load
Save Control panel
Load Control Panel

Thoughts?
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline intveltr

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1686
  • Karma: +93/-5
Re: Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera
« Reply #38 on: September 21, 2012, 02:52:50 pm »
Ah yes.  The screen hierarchy is not always immediately clear, which is why I am considering to automatically add a screen and some Vera controls, the first time HomeWave runs.  Also, the tutorial needs a video :)  Anyway...

If you try adding a control and you end up with the list you mention (a list of properties, amongst which is one for caption 'control screen'), this means you are on the 'home screen'.  The Home screen is where you add buttons to launch other screens.  On that screen, just hit OK, then click save.  You will end up with a square button called 'control screen'. (you can change its name later, using the spanner button)

Click the square button.  You'll get a new blank screen.  On this screen you will be able to add lights, sensors and other stuff from your Vera.
HomeWave is available in the App Store!  Turn your iPhone/iPad into an easy-to-use remote control for Vera.

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1146
  • Karma: +39/-67
Re: Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera
« Reply #39 on: September 21, 2012, 03:35:31 pm »
Yes - that helps.

Things I notice so far:

From the Home screen, I set up a control called "Living Room."  I realized that's not what I wanted to do, so I deleted it.  The "Living Room" screen remains as an orphan, and even though I can't get to it from the Home Screen, I can still flip to it.

Thermostats are in Celsius only.  I have min/max set on my thermostats, and warnings set up via Prowl, so I can't control the thermostats without setting off warnings (because I can't set the thermostat above 69 deg C).  When I set the thermostats to 73 deg F in MIOS web interface, HomeWave shows 75 deg C.  If I touch HomeWave, I get warnings from Prowl, and...

When warnings (or other ALERTS, vs. "badges" or "banners" on the iPhone) come in, HomeWave shoots back to the Home screen.  That's a pain if you're in the middle of something & an email comes in.

If I try to select an area with a "1x2" block with two "1x1" blocks next to it, I can't.  I have to first split the 1x2.

If I add a "No control" empty space or label, I can't format it.  No size, color, background, etc.

It seems to take about 5 seconds from the time I send a command via the MIOS web interface on my computer until it updates in HomeWave.  Not good, not bad.

It'd be nice to be able to change the format (colors, vertical alignment) of the elements on the Home Screen as you can on the other screens.
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline intveltr

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1686
  • Karma: +93/-5
Re: Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera
« Reply #40 on: September 21, 2012, 03:56:45 pm »
Nice to get comprehensive feedback like this :)

From the Home screen, I set up a control called "Living Room."  I realized that's not what I wanted to do, so I deleted it.  The "Living Room" screen remains as an orphan, and even though I can't get to it from the Home Screen, I can still flip to it.

Sounds like a bug.  If you exit the app completely and then open it again, the deleted screen should be gone from the swipe rotation.

Quote
Thermostats are in Celsius only.  I have min/max set on my thermostats, and warnings set up via Prowl, so I can't control the thermostats without setting off warnings (because I can't set the thermostat above 69 deg C).  When I set the thermostats to 73 deg F in MIOS web interface, HomeWave shows 75 deg C.  If I touch HomeWave, I get warnings from Prowl, and...

Open your iPhone's settings screen, and scroll down.  You'll find HomeWave amongst the apps listed here.  This is where the app preferences live, and where you can set the temperature unit to Fahrenheit.

Quote
When warnings (or other ALERTS, vs. "badges" or "banners" on the iPhone) come in, HomeWave shoots back to the Home screen.  That's a pain if you're in the middle of something & an email comes in.


Another bug, I will look into this.

Quote
If I try to select an area with a "1x2" block with two "1x1" blocks next to it, I can't.  I have to first split the 1x2.

That is per design.  Someone else mentioned this, and in principle the app should allow you to select an area of mixed sized controls, as long as the selected area is rectangular. This is on the list to change.

Quote
If I add a "No control" empty space or label, I can't format it.  No size, color, background, etc.

Correct, you can only set the label text.  The upcoming v1.2 release will have some more options for formatting controls.

Quote
It seems to take about 5 seconds from the time I send a command via the MIOS web interface on my computer until it updates in HomeWave.  Not good, not bad.

That is the nature of apps like these.  Changes are not instantly pushed to the app, instead, Vera is polled every 5 to 10 secs to report changes.

Quote
It'd be nice to be able to change the format (colors, vertical alignment) of the elements on the Home Screen as you can on the other screens.

Coming in v1.2 :)
HomeWave is available in the App Store!  Turn your iPhone/iPad into an easy-to-use remote control for Vera.

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1146
  • Karma: +39/-67
Re: Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera
« Reply #41 on: September 21, 2012, 04:08:33 pm »
Nice to get comprehensive feedback like this :)
From the Home screen, I set up a control called "Living Room....
Sounds like a bug.  If you exit the app completely and then open it again, the deleted screen should be gone from the swipe rotation.
That it is, thanks--worked like a charm.
Quote
Thermostats are in Celsius only.  I have min/max set on my thermostats, and warnings set up via Prowl, so I can't control the thermostats without setting off warnings (because I can't set the thermostat above 69 deg C).  When I set the thermostats to 73 deg F in MIOS web interface, HomeWave shows 75 deg C.  If I touch HomeWave, I get warnings from Prowl, and...
Open your iPhone's settings screen, and scroll down.  You'll find HomeWave amongst the apps listed here.  This is where the app preferences live, and where you can set the temperature unit to Fahrenheit.

Done, thanks.
Quote
When warnings come in...

Another bug, I will look into this.
Great, thank you.
Quote
If I try to select an area with a "1x2" block with two "1x1" blocks next to it...
That is per design.  Someone else mentioned this, and in principle the app should allow you to select an area of mixed sized controls, as long as the selected area is rectangular. This is on the list to change.
Got it.
Quote
If I add a "No control" empty space or label, I can't format it.  No size, color, background, etc.
Correct, you can only set the label text.  The upcoming v1.2 release will have some more options for formatting controls.
Cool.
Quote
It seems to take about 5 seconds from the time I send a command via the MIOS web interface on my computer until it updates in HomeWave.  Not good, not bad.
That is the nature of apps like these.  Changes are not instantly pushed to the app, instead, Vera is polled every 5 to 10 secs to report changes.
No problem, like I said, not good, not bad.  It's probably comparable to iVera.
Quote
It'd be nice to be able to change the format (colors, vertical alignment) of the elements on the Home Screen as you can on the other screens.
Coming in v1.2 :)
Great!  Looking forward to it.  On iPad, as well, I read elsewhere...
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1146
  • Karma: +39/-67
Re: Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera
« Reply #42 on: September 21, 2012, 04:26:37 pm »
Another thing - add an element in one of the sub-screens by selecting the "+" button, and then you change your mind & hit "cancel".  It adds a new, undefined element anyway.
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1146
  • Karma: +39/-67
Re: Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera
« Reply #43 on: September 23, 2012, 04:42:46 pm »
After a few days, I realize I haven't used iVera at all.  I like having the ability to put all of the commonly-used scenes AND devices on one screen.  It's working well.

My door lock commands don't work, whether I select Disable, Enable, Ask, or PIN.  I can send commands from MiOS and they work.  The status reports correctly on both MiOS and HomeWave.  Here's what happens on HomeWave, with "Enabled"

  • Front door is locked, and status shows locked.
  • Press front door, text changes to unlocked, ring/text changes to grey (but door remains locked)
  • After a few seconds, status reverts to locked, ring back to locked color

If I select Ask, it does the same, but gives me the dialog box first.

If I select PIN...  well, I don't know what it's doing:

  • Front door is locked, and status shows locked.
  • Press front door, text changes to unlocked, ring/text changes to grey--it doesn't ask for a PIN!
  • It remains grey.  I can hit it again & it toggles status each time, but physical door lock status never changes.
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline intveltr

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1686
  • Karma: +93/-5
Re: Introducing HomeWave: an easy-to-use remote control app for Vera
« Reply #44 on: September 24, 2012, 03:11:59 pm »
Not sure what the deal is with these locks...  they work for some, but others have reported issues with them as well.  Can you try the following URL please?

http://192.168.2.13:3480/data_request?output_format=json&id=lu_action&DeviceNum=57&serviceId=urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:DoorLock1&action=SetTarget&newTargetValue=1
Replace 192.168.2.13 with the IP address of your own Vera, and DeviceNum=57 with the device ID of one of your locks.  This command should lock it.

I did notice that for some reason, locks were created with user interaction disabled (will be fixed in 1.2).  The PIN dialog only appears if you set a PIN for the app (press the "i" button on the Home screen to do this)
HomeWave is available in the App Store!  Turn your iPhone/iPad into an easy-to-use remote control for Vera.