We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Door sensor shows as motion sensor - v0.33  (Read 8091 times)

Offline tdinardo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Door sensor shows as motion sensor - v0.33
« Reply #15 on: August 08, 2012, 10:10:25 pm »
Oops. Sorry about that. Pulling it down now. I'll try to get it tested tomorrow.

Offline tdinardo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Door sensor shows as motion sensor - v0.33
« Reply #16 on: August 08, 2012, 10:28:05 pm »
Looks like that drop is no longer working.

Offline rakstar

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Door sensor shows as motion sensor - v0.33
« Reply #17 on: August 09, 2012, 10:27:52 am »
I apologize, I moved some stuff around which messed up my Dropbox... please try again now.

Also, I heard back from MiOS... according to one of their devs, Florin Cazan:
Quote
The Vera UI doesn't support icons representing more than one variable, so the door sensor icon changes based only on the Tripped variable. It doesn't change based on the Armed variable.

The new icons for the door sensor are the ones I attached: door closed, with wall and green light when untripped, door open with red light when tripped.

So now I'm torn... Vera can't support icons based on 2 variables but Home Buddy can, so I'll let the community decide -- should I match the icon that Vera displays or  take advantage of HB's flexibility and render different icons based on both variables?

Offline tdinardo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Door sensor shows as motion sensor - v0.33
« Reply #18 on: August 09, 2012, 10:30:52 am »
I prefer the additional information, so I've vote to have the additional variables supported on homebuddy and opening a DCR against UI5 to have it also support the additional variables.

I'll pull the bits down and test today.

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Door sensor shows as motion sensor - v0.33
« Reply #19 on: August 09, 2012, 11:19:17 am »
Rakstar,

I am doing what you are asking in my app. I have different images for the different states of the sensors. So the icons are different when tripped in arm and bypassed state and so on.

- Garrett

I apologize, I moved some stuff around which messed up my Dropbox... please try again now.

Also, I heard back from MiOS... according to one of their devs, Florin Cazan:
Quote
The Vera UI doesn't support icons representing more than one variable, so the door sensor icon changes based only on the Tripped variable. It doesn't change based on the Armed variable.

The new icons for the door sensor are the ones I attached: door closed, with wall and green light when untripped, door open with red light when tripped.

So now I'm torn... Vera can't support icons based on 2 variables but Home Buddy can, so I'll let the community decide -- should I match the icon that Vera displays or  take advantage of HB's flexibility and render different icons based on both variables?

Offline rakstar

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Door sensor shows as motion sensor - v0.33
« Reply #20 on: August 09, 2012, 12:34:18 pm »
Garrett,  good to know... I'm leaning towards doing the same.  I assume you haven't received any negative feedback as this is probably a (slightly) better user experience than stock.

Offline tdinardo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Door sensor shows as motion sensor - v0.33
« Reply #21 on: August 11, 2012, 05:26:59 pm »
OK, got a chance to test this today.

The only change that needs to be made is for: bypass/not tripped - green light/door closed/no wall (It currently shows the door as open)

Once you've made the change let me know and I'll test the build.

Thanks!

Tom

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Door sensor shows as motion sensor - v0.33
« Reply #22 on: August 11, 2012, 05:33:11 pm »
I have not received any negative feedback on the security sensor states.

- Garrett

Offline tdinardo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Door sensor shows as motion sensor - v0.33
« Reply #23 on: August 11, 2012, 05:51:52 pm »
Hi Garrett.

Feel free to consider my Homebuddy DCR as feedback if you like.

Wouldn't you agree that a door sensor with a state of "bypassed but not tripped" generally means that the door is closed and the sensor is not armed? If that is the design for the status, from my perspective, it makes no sense to have the presented icon show an open door (since the door is in fact closed).

Just because no one says anything doesn't mean it's not a valid change request. This may just be a case of people not noticing or not caring (either of which is fine). I just figured if we're going to bother fixing something, it make sense to fix it correctly. As with anything like this, you can take the DCR or rejected as "won't fix". It's your call at the end of the day. I'm just providing the feedback.

Thanks.

Tom

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Door sensor shows as motion sensor - v0.33
« Reply #24 on: August 11, 2012, 06:44:40 pm »
Tom,

My comments are referring to how I show status of the sensors on my android app. When the sensor is in bypass and not tripped, it shows as the type of sensor and a blue shield. When tripped the shield turns red. If the sensor is armed the shield is green with a check mark. When tripped and armed, the shield is red and a check mark.

- Garrett

Offline tdinardo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Door sensor shows as motion sensor - v0.33
« Reply #25 on: August 11, 2012, 06:49:08 pm »
Gotcha. Yeah, the Homebuddy implementation is different. I hadn't used your app, so I was unaware of how your implementation was done.