We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: GE 45600 remote - can't add devices  (Read 2543 times)

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
GE 45600 remote - can't add devices
« on: August 10, 2012, 12:37:54 pm »
Vera 2 is my primary controller and I have a GE 45601 remote (With the LCD screen) and a Intermatic HA07 remote. Both have been added to Vera and I've had no problems to add actual devices to each of those remotes.

I just got a GE45600 remote and added it to Vera. It shows up in the dashboard and the 'All On/All Off' function of the controller works, indicating it's joined. However, when I try to add a devices to a button on the controller (press/hold setup, then add then light button then number button) it keeps on flashing green and finally flashes red twice without adding the device. I tried each and every type of device I have with no luck.

Anybody have any suggestions? I really do not want to create 9 scenes, ecah to switch a light off or on.

 
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: GE 45600 remote - can't add devices
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2012, 12:50:52 pm »
I believe it appears to depend on what version of the remote you have and/or what version of Z-Wave you're running on Vera.

A search should turn up several threads on this.

Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: GE 45600 remote - can't add devices
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2012, 07:21:52 pm »
Thanks, I had already found a couple of those threads but they don't offer much of a solution. I was oping for some more. Only paid $0.80 for it as I had to use some fleaBay$ before they expired so I am not heartbroken about it's failure to work.  Just expected more from it based on my experiences with my other GE remote.

Guess next time I find a good deal on a 45601, I'll have to jump on it.
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline Radjin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: GE 45600 remote - can't add devices
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2012, 02:27:51 am »
So is the definitive answer, that there is a version problem?

How does one verify the version on the remote, is there an upgrade, How does one prevent buying a remote only to have it become obsolete one again?


I paired the remote with Vera, it works on all on/off and I can set up a trigger in a scene to do things when I push a button, but I cannot add a device to directly control using the directions that came with the remote.


Offline mymy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: GE 45600 remote - can't add devices
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2012, 04:00:06 pm »
According to this post on Amazon (see first review) the controller is not capable of handling devices just scenes.  But at $6 maybe not a bad scene controller for a spare???

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0013V6RW0/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00