Author Topic: New VeraLite, do I still need my Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 ? mControl & Vera -RESOLVED  (Read 7927 times)

cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • Phaze1 Digital
Hello

My new VeraLite unit arrived today and I am just having a look at what works and doesnt with mControl. I currently have an Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 in my PC with mControl Home Automation software. I would like to keep mControl as it integrates in to Windows Media Center. However I have bought a VeraLite so I don't need my PC running 24/7 to do things like set timers for lights coming on and off.

As a test I have deleted one of my lamp modules from the Aeon Labs Z-Stick and I have added this lamp module in to Vera. I am now able to control this lamp module from the Vera web UI.

It is possible in mControl to use a Vera LUUP driver to control devices that are devices in Vera, from the mControl user interfaces. It does this I think by sending HTTP requests from mControl to Vera to change / control the device etc. So I have set this up and it works but there are problems with the status feedback. I have already tried lowering the polling in Vera for this lamp module from 60secs to 21secs but this makes no difference.

Here's the problem:

If I turn the lamp module on or off from the Vera web UI, eventually in mControl the new status of the lamp is picked up, i.e. its on or off status is displayed in the mControl user interfaces.

However if I turn the lamp on via a mControl user interface neither mControl or Vera seem to change their status to show the lamp is on when it is actually turned on.

In this type of setup using the Vera Luup driver in mControl I could make redundant the Z-stick and not use it. As the devices in mControl are no longer Z-wave devices, you change them to be Vera devices and you just have to tell mControl what the device # number is in Vera and then mControl can control that device via Vera.

However if the problems with the status feedback I have described, cannot be resolved I may be better keeping the Z-stick as a secondary to VeraLite primary ? My thinking is that if I make the Z-stick secondary and keep it connected to the PC running mControl then my devices in mControl would remain as Z-wave devices, in this type of setup I would not use the mControl Vera Luup driver. I am hoping that in this setup the status feedback issue might not even exist?

Only problem is I don't know how to make VeraLite primary and Z-Stick secondary. I will have to dig around on the forums see if I can find out how to do it.

Does anyone have any experience of this type of integration of Vera with other 3rd party Home Automation systems?

Thanks.

UPDATE:

I've upgraded from mControl V2.1 to mControl V3 and these Vera Luup Driver issues have now been resolved. I've written a how to blog post here.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2012, 03:34:08 am by cw-kid »
Authorised Euro Z-wave & MiCasaVerde dealer contact for bespoke prices!

cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: New VeraLite, do I still need my Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 ? mControl & Vera
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2012, 08:07:47 am »
For those of you not familiar with mControl below I have attached some screen shots of the Vera Luup Driver Configuration and my Lamp Module setup as a Vera device in mControl.

Not sure how to insert images in to this forum?
Code: [Select]
[img]http://IMAGE URL[/img] doesnt seem to work?

Thanks

Authorised Euro Z-wave & MiCasaVerde dealer contact for bespoke prices!

cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: New VeraLite, do I still need my Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 ? mControl & Vera
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2012, 08:14:49 am »
Here is how the ACT HomePro lamp module device looks in Vera web UI. Initially I was putting in ID 2 in to the device setup in mControl and the lamp was not working, as soon as I changed the ID to 4 instead I was able to turn the lamp on and off from the mControl UI but then noticed the issue with the status feedback.

So I think I will leave it for today, I don't want to go ahead and remove all my Z-wave devices from the Z-stick and use the mControl Vera Luup driver if the status isnt going to work.

I think I need to test the Z-stick as secondary and Vera as primary to see if that works better?

« Last Edit: August 14, 2012, 08:17:14 am by cw-kid »
Authorised Euro Z-wave & MiCasaVerde dealer contact for bespoke prices!

cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: New VeraLite, do I still need my Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 ? mControl & Vera
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2012, 08:23:37 am »
I started a new thread about this on the mControl forums here:

http://www.embeddedautomation.com/forum/showthread.php?p=10297#post10297

However as that forum is very quiet I don't expect to see many replies if any?

Authorised Euro Z-wave & MiCasaVerde dealer contact for bespoke prices!

cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: New VeraLite, do I still need my Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 ? mControl & Vera
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2012, 01:26:37 pm »
Interestingly I've just followed the steps on this thread to add my Aeon Labs Minimote as a secondary controller to VeraLite and when I press the button on the minimote to turn on or off the lamp in the living room the status of that lamp is then correctly reflected in the mControl UI.

This would give weight to the idea that if I can also add the Aeon Labs Z-stick as a secondary controller the status in mControl might be displayed correctly when turning on or off lights from one of the mControl UI's / using Z-Stick.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2012, 02:04:16 pm by cw-kid »
Authorised Euro Z-wave & MiCasaVerde dealer contact for bespoke prices!

cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: New VeraLite, do I still need my Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 ? mControl & Vera
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2012, 04:28:11 pm »
ACT HomePro Appliance modules don't appear to work with the mControl Vera Luup driver ?

http://www.embeddedautomation.com/forum/showthread.php?p=10298#post10298

I have got two lamp modules working OK however, but just added two appliance modules and they don't work in mControl, can't turn them on or off.

« Last Edit: August 14, 2012, 04:30:10 pm by cw-kid »
Authorised Euro Z-wave & MiCasaVerde dealer contact for bespoke prices!

LightsOn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: New VeraLite, do I still need my Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 ? mControl & Vera
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2012, 11:27:17 pm »
Hi CW-Kid,

Try Bianry swich instead of Binary light - think thats the other options.  I have ACT Homepro dimmers and switches and they all work fine.

RE you responce issue I thin try recreating the Device, remove>restet>readd device in vera, try a heal.

Hope this helps.

Kidn regards,
-Lights_On

cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: New VeraLite, do I still need my Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 ? mControl & Vera
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2012, 01:08:55 am »
Hi CW-Kid,

Try Bianry swich instead of Binary light - think thats the other options.  I have ACT Homepro dimmers and switches and they all work fine.

RE you responce issue I thin try recreating the Device, remove>restet>readd device in vera, try a heal.

Hope this helps.

Kidn regards,
-Lights_On

Hi

If your ACT HomePro appliance modules work that is encouraging. I don't however in mControl have Binary Switch as an option under the Vera devices its just not in the list, maybe I have a different version of the mCtonrol Vera Luup driver?

Think I am using the Driver Pack from this latest version of mControl 2.1 here
Authorised Euro Z-wave & MiCasaVerde dealer contact for bespoke prices!

cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: New VeraLite, do I still need my Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 ? mControl & Vera
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2012, 01:17:30 am »
Tried creating a brand new device in mControl using Binary Light but still unable to turn on appliance module, I think the problem is I have no binary switch option in mControl under Vera devices ?
Authorised Euro Z-wave & MiCasaVerde dealer contact for bespoke prices!

cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: New VeraLite, do I still need my Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 ? mControl & Vera
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2012, 01:39:38 am »
The status feedback issue:

Taking a closer look, VeraLite is picking up some changes, for example if I turn on a lamp via an mControl UI then in VeraLite it says
100?% and the bulb icon is not lit up (Note the question mark) if I turn off the lamp from mControl UI Vera then says 0%. So its kinda working.

However when I turn the lamp on via mControl UI mcontrol never updates the status of itself, so mcontrol shows that the lamp is off when it is actually on.

Screenshot: Why ? and Bulb not lit up
« Last Edit: August 15, 2012, 01:50:16 am by cw-kid »
Authorised Euro Z-wave & MiCasaVerde dealer contact for bespoke prices!

cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: New VeraLite, do I still need my Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 ? mControl & Vera
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2012, 02:08:43 am »
mControl Drivers:

EA.VeraLuup.dll Modified 14th of October 2011 04:34:52 32KB

drv_EAVeraLuup.xml Modified 14th of October 2011 04:34:52 9KB

Its the XML file that contains the details of the different types of Vera devices that you see in that drop down menu in mControl Binary Switch is not one of them? Binary Light is the one I tried to use that doesnt work.

Below are copied from the XML file as an example:

Code: [Select]
<module base="VeraLuup_BINSW" class="BINSWITCH" use="Y">
<mparam name="DISPLAY-AS" value="Binary Light" />
<mparam name="Description" value="Binary Light" />
<mparam name="MProtocol" value="EAVeraLuup" />
<mparam name="FieldsGrp" value="VeraLuupId" />
<mparam name="ParamsGrp" value="DEVBILVL" />
<mparam name="DefaultImage" value="Lights.gif" />
</module>
<module base="VeraLuup_DIMMER" class="MLVLSWITCH" use="Y">
<mparam name="DISPLAY-AS" value="Dimmable Light" />
<mparam name="Description" value="Dimmable Light" />
<mparam name="MProtocol" value="EAVeraLuup" />
<mparam name="FieldsGrp" value="VeraLuupDimmer" />
<mparam name="ParamsGrp" value="DEVMULTILVL" />
<mparam name="SupportsPresetOn" value="true" />
<mparam name="SupportsRampRate" value="true" />
<mparam name="DefaultImage" value="Tracklight.gif" />
</module>

I have checked the older driver packs:

Drivers for version 2.1 Build 4140 & Drivers for version 2.1 Build 3818 and looked at the Vera XML file none of them have a device called "Binary Switch" can you please double check what you selected in your mControl for your appliance modules?

Thanks
« Last Edit: August 15, 2012, 02:16:32 am by cw-kid »
Authorised Euro Z-wave & MiCasaVerde dealer contact for bespoke prices!

LightsOn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: New VeraLite, do I still need my Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 ? mControl & Vera
« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2012, 03:43:11 am »
Sorry CW-Kid,

Just logged on remotly to see if i could help and i have it listed as a "binary light" - like you I think.  mind does work. for a dimeable Act Switch I Use "Dimable Light"

-Lights_On

cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: New VeraLite, do I still need my Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 ? mControl & Vera
« Reply #12 on: August 15, 2012, 03:59:32 am »
Sorry CW-Kid,

Just logged on remotly to see if i could help and i have it listed as a "binary light" - like you I think.  mind does work. for a dimeable Act Switch I Use "Dimable Light"

-Lights_On

Maybe that is why its working for you they are dimmable, my dimmable modules work OK as well. However these ACT HomePro appliance modules which are just on/off are not working via mControl Vera Luup driver.

Looking in Vera see screenshot, it has added the ACT HomePro appliance modules as BinaryLights so you would think selecting Binary Light in mControl would work but it does not  :-[

I have just added two more dimmable modules that is four in total now and all four work via mControl (Status issues remains) but the two appliance modules do not work.

Do we know who wrote the mControl Vera Luup driver? Was it mControl or someone else!
« Last Edit: August 15, 2012, 04:03:09 am by cw-kid »
Authorised Euro Z-wave & MiCasaVerde dealer contact for bespoke prices!

LightsOn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: New VeraLite, do I still need my Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 ? mControl & Vera
« Reply #13 on: August 15, 2012, 04:05:28 am »
Hiya,

no i have both and both work.  one listed as dimable for the dimable and one listed as binary.

Kind regards,
Lights_On

cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: New VeraLite, do I still need my Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 ? mControl & Vera
« Reply #14 on: August 15, 2012, 04:20:15 am »
Hiya,

no i have both and both work.  one listed as dimable for the dimable and one listed as binary.

Kind regards,
Lights_On

Confused now, so you do have some appliance modules (none dimable) and they work set a Binary Light in mControl ? Are they the same ACT modules I have ?

For the dimable modules I selected Dimable Light in mControl !

The other difference I think is you have mControl on Win7 right mine is on WHS V1 however I think both these versions use the same mControl driver pack
« Last Edit: August 15, 2012, 04:28:25 am by oTi@ »
Authorised Euro Z-wave & MiCasaVerde dealer contact for bespoke prices!