Author Topic: Recommend me a stat  (Read 131 times)

Offline cahilj

Recommend me a stat
« on: December 30, 2018, 11:58:35 am »
I'm new to Vera, and I like it so far. I was on Nexia for a few years prior, I'm happy to have much more control over devices and scenes than before.

Some background- I'm an HVAC guy, so I deal with all sorts of brands and features, etc. I have a 2 stage heat pump with gas backup. I also have a humidifier I want to control directly with the stat. I did research before buying a Radio Thermostat CT80 with Z wave module.  Based on reviews and specs I found, I thought it would work for me. I guess I didn't do enough research, because this is probably the worst stat I've ever worked with (besides a Nest). It won't stay connected to my controller, it resets to 70deg whenever power is cycled (versus going back to it's setpoint), it has no external temp sensor (which is a must for heat pump systems to be efficient), and it randomly turns scheduling on/off. I won't be buying another Radio Thermostat.

So, I'm looking for a stat that will do 2 stage heat pump (correctly, using a ODT sensor)/2 stage gas backup, humidity control, and reliably connect to my controller. I don't need to set schedules of any kind. I won't be using the stat in any scenes. My primary need for a Z wave stat is to monitor and set/change remotely, which is why I want all the HVAC controls based on the stat, and not my Vera controller. I can't use any Z wave sensors for humidity or outdoor temp, since the building is steel.

All the "Best of", "Recommended" and "Top picks" websites seem to list the same handful of stats- Radio Thermostat, Honeywell, and 2gig. Is anyone using any of these with the same type of system? I'm leaning towards a Honeywell, and I've seen good things about Ecobee, but I guess there's no fully functional app yet?

Offline Nameless

Re: Recommend me a stat
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2019, 01:39:46 pm »