Author Topic: Problems configuring HomePro ZIR000 motion sensor  (Read 4530 times)

Offline krogers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Problems configuring HomePro ZIR000 motion sensor
« on: May 31, 2009, 09:31:24 pm »
Purchased a HomePro ZIR000 motion sensor from Micasaverde's store, and I'm having no luck at all getting it configured. I've followed the instructions pretty much to the letter:

1. Place Vera's Z-wave dongle in "add" mode.
2. Bring the dongle close to the sensor and press the brown button inside the sensor to activate it.

The dongle acknowledges the sensor, and when I return the dongle to Vera, it prompts me to add it to my list of devices. However, I've not been able to get any scenes triggered by the sensor. I'm assuming that the sensor works because I see the red light flash whenever there's motion in front of it. Here's what I see on the devices page for the sensor:

NodeID   21
Last Route Update   31-MAY-2009 21:2
Last Wakeup    31-MAY-2009 17:57
Capabilities    
Version    
Manufacturer    
Model    
Neighbors    1,20,
Configured at

I'm trying to use it in a scene where the sensor turns on a light whenever there is motion, but it isn't working. I've tried using both the "An armed sensor is tripped" and the "A sensor (door/window/motion etc.) is tripped" options in the scene, but no luck. The light doesn't come on, and though I've told it to notify me when the sensor is tripped, I don't get a notification either. (By the way, yes, the sensor is "armed".)

I never see any of the configuration icons (the spinning gear) next to the device, and any attempt to "Configure Node Right Now" generates a popup window saying "Message failed with response: UNHANDLED". I read on the wiki that some sensors may not be usable by Vera for several hours initially, but I've tried several times to re-add the device and waited for a day or more.

I've found a few posts on the forum from other members stating that they have this device working. Do I have a faulty sensor? What should I try next?

Oh, one more thing. The only messages I see in the logs relating to this device are attempts to poll the node, all of which say "aborted" and "Node is not configured."

Offline krogers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Problems configuring HomePro ZIR000 motion sensor
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2009, 06:42:01 pm »
I hate to bump my own topic up, but I still have not resolved this problem. Please, can anyone offer some assistance/suggestions?

Thanks.

Offline EC

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Problems configuring HomePro ZIR000 motion sensor
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2009, 07:15:52 pm »
Not sure this will help, but here's a try.  I had trouble with the HSM multi sensor, but should be similar. 

When I first got the sensor, I couldn't get it to be seen by Vera.  So here's what I did.  I held the dongle down until it was in remove mode, and then removed the sensor even though it had never been added.  Then I added the sensor the normal way.  Using this method, I was able to add every sensor.  So the key is to remove the sensor first regardless of whether or not it was every truly added.

The second thing you should realize is that after the sensor is tripped once, it will stop working for 30 min or 60 min, not sure I remember the default, in order to save battery life.  Therefore, after you trip it and you want to check it again, you might consider taking out the batteries and putting them back in (after you know that the sensor has been paired to Vera).

I'm not an expert, but maybe this might work for you.   Good luck.

Offline Mammalian04

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Problems configuring HomePro ZIR000 motion sensor
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2009, 04:49:23 pm »
Wow... Disabled for 30 to 60 min?  Are there wall plug powered sensors that don't have that limitation?

Offline B0SST0N

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 670
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Problems configuring HomePro ZIR000 motion sensor
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2009, 12:41:12 am »
EC-

My HSM sensors do not disable themselves after being tripped. It is my understanding that the sensors only wake up to report their status every so often to save battery life, this timeout period can be set and customized by the user in Vera. If the sensor is tripped by Motion it will always wake up and notify the network regardless of its wake up period. However, it will only report the temperature and light level on its scheduled wake up period interval.

You may be confused with the fact that the sensor has an "On > Off" period. The sensor has a default time period where it will send and "Off" command after it has sensed motion ("On"). This time period can also be set from within vera by the user. I have mine set at 1 minute. This means that when motion is sensed it will turn on the light in my Master Closet. Then after 1 minute of no motion being sensed it will send the Off command to the light. I have this set really low because it is just a closet and anybody who goes in there usually leaves fairly quickly. In rooms where someone may sit down and stay motionless you may want to set this much longer (maybe 15, 30, or even 60 minutes).

There is a great guide in the MCV wiki explaining how to set these options in vera. You may also want to check out the express controls manual (they make the HSM and the instructions are MUCH better than the actual HSM instructions). http://www.expresscontrols.com/pdf/EZMotionOwnerManual.pdf
« Last Edit: July 01, 2009, 12:43:36 am by B0SST0N »