We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: ZRC-90 battery level  (Read 378 times)

Offline Catman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 338
  • Karma: +10/-0
ZRC-90 battery level
« on: February 16, 2019, 12:43:02 pm »
Hi all
I have a couple of ZRC-90 remotes at home. Pretty neat little things once I finally got them working.
One of them started reporting low battery (i.e. 20%) so I figured let's swap them out.
So I did.
Still reporting 20% which is hardly the end of the world, but a tad irritating.
Mios support (rather predictably) suggested excluding and re-including (which is hardly a solution) and would be a royal PITA since clearly I'd have to set up all the scenes again.
On this though, I'm bit stumped at what else they could suggest. The ZRC is getting polled and appears to be reporting that it only has 20% battery still:

06    02/12/19 22:28:10.830    Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 7 service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HaDevice1 variable: Configured was: 1 now: 1 #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 skip: 0 v:0x11ba3d8/NONE duplicate:1 <0x76e2c520>
06    02/12/19 22:28:10.831    Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 7 service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HaDevice1 variable: Configured was: 1 now: 1 #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 skip: 0 v:0x11ba3d8/NONE duplicate:1 <0x76e2c520>
06    02/12/19 22:28:11.038    Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 7 service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:SceneController1 variable: Scenes was:  now:  #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 skip: 0 v:0x11b8ab0/NONE duplicate:1 <0x76e2c520>
06    02/12/19 22:28:14.139    Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 7 service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:ZWaveDevice1 variable: ManufacturerInfo was: 21076,1,34064 now: 21076,1,34064 #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 skip: 0 v:(nil)/NONE duplicate:1 <0x7762c520>
06    02/12/19 22:28:14.139    Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 7 service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:ZWaveDevice1 variable: Capabilities was: 19,150,1,1,1,6,B,|33,89,90,91,94,114,115,128,132:2,133,134, now: 19,150,1,1,1,6,B,|33,89,90,91,94,114,115,128,132:2,133,134, #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 skip: 0 v:(nil)/NONE duplicate:1 <0x7762c520>
06    02/12/19 23:03:34.167    Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 7 service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:SceneController1 variable: sl_CentralScene was: 3 now: 15 #hooks: 5 upnp: 0 skip: 0 v:0x1039670/NONE duplicate:0 <0x7762c520>
06    02/12/19 23:03:36.101    Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 7 service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HaDevice1 variable: BatteryDate was: 1549949631 now: 1550012616 #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 skip: 0 v:(nil)/NONE duplicate:0 <0x7762c520>
06    02/12/19 23:03:36.101    Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 7 service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HaDevice1 variable: BatteryLevel was: 20 now: 20 #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 skip: 0 v:0x11cee38/NONE duplicate:1 <0x7762c520>
06    02/13/19 5:31:30.101    Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 7 service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:SceneController1 variable: sl_CentralScene was: 15 now: 3 #hooks: 5 upnp: 0 skip: 0 v:0x1039670/NONE duplicate:0 <0x7762c520>
06    02/13/19 5:31:30.793    Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 7 service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HaDevice1 variable: BatteryDate was: 1550012616 now: 1550035890 #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 skip: 0 v:(nil)/NONE duplicate:0 <0x7762c520>
06    02/13/19 5:31:30.794    Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 7 service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HaDevice1 variable: BatteryLevel was: 20 now: 20 #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 skip: 0 v:0x11cee38/NONE duplicate:1 <0x7762c520>

So any suggestions from the assembled wise ones?

Cheers

C

Offline HSD99

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
  • Karma: +20/-0
Re: ZRC-90 battery level
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2019, 02:15:17 pm »
I've observed my ZRC-90s (US) take as much as 24 hours before the battery level updates after a battery replacement.

From the ZRC-90 data sheet:

Battery low indication
The unit will detect battery status after key pressed, the LED will flashes 3 times
rapidly then stay off when battery low is detected. Meanwhile, it will report battery
low status to gateway automatically.

Offline Catman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 338
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: ZRC-90 battery level
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2019, 05:36:29 pm »
Thanks. This has been more like 10 days :(

C

Offline therealdb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Automate all the things!
Re: ZRC-90 battery level
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2019, 05:42:20 pm »
I managed to fix another device with similar by
1) taking a backup
2) excluding
3) reincluding using replace

A PITA since it will involve dozen Luup restart, but it worked for me.
Vera Edge EU, Fibaro FGRM 222 (14), Fibaro FGS 223 (26), Fibaro FGS 222 (6), Fibaro UBS (2), Fibaro+N Plug (3), NeoCoolCam Door Sensor (3), PIR (2) & Plugs (2), Nest (3), Home Server running my own integrations, Harmony Hub, OpenSprinkler, Personal Weather Station, Sonoff TH & more

Offline Don Phillips

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1464
  • Karma: +41/-36
Re: ZRC-90 battery level
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2019, 08:04:30 pm »
You also change the device id. If the scenes are all set up based on id 250, for instance, and you exclude/include the device, you can edit is new id to 250 and things should work again.
Vera 3, 1.7.1040, CT101, Everspring Motion, GE/Jasco Switch/Dimmer, Leviton outlet, AeonLabs sensor, NuTone garage door, Blue Iris, Sricam SP011, iPhone locator, APCUPSD, VeraMate, VeraAlerts, PLEG, House Modes, Countdown Timer, DVR, Virtual/Multi Switch, LB60Z-1 bulb, Hue, Alexa, Zooz 4-1

Offline therealdb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Automate all the things!
Re: ZRC-90 battery level
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2019, 03:21:07 am »
Last time I had some troubles with this procedure. The scenes lost all the triggers and I had to start over again. Maybe it was me fiddling a lot, but I suggest a backup anyway, you'll be on the safe side.
Vera Edge EU, Fibaro FGRM 222 (14), Fibaro FGS 223 (26), Fibaro FGS 222 (6), Fibaro UBS (2), Fibaro+N Plug (3), NeoCoolCam Door Sensor (3), PIR (2) & Plugs (2), Nest (3), Home Server running my own integrations, Harmony Hub, OpenSprinkler, Personal Weather Station, Sonoff TH & more

Offline Catman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 338
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: ZRC-90 battery level
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2019, 04:59:11 am »
You also change the device id. If the scenes are all set up based on id 250, for instance, and you exclude/include the device, you can edit is new id to 250 and things should work again.


Thanks. Certainly doesn't match my experience of scenes when deleting associated devices. They just vanish. I'll give it a try if I get really desparate :)

C

Offline Catman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 338
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: ZRC-90 battery level
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2019, 05:00:07 am »
I managed to fix another device with similar by
1) taking a backup
2) excluding
3) reincluding using replace

A PITA since it will involve dozen Luup restart, but it worked for me.

I assume there's a 'Restore' in there somewhere? Step 4?
Can you give me some more detail on what step 3 is?

Cheers!

C

Offline therealdb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Automate all the things!
Re: ZRC-90 battery level
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2019, 10:04:53 am »
Ok, so, correct steps are
1) backup
2) exclude
3) restore backup, including zwave
4) replace failed, under advanced, commands

Basically, you are including it as a new device, but taking the place of the old one, that you previously excluded. Worked for me, but YMMV.
Vera Edge EU, Fibaro FGRM 222 (14), Fibaro FGS 223 (26), Fibaro FGS 222 (6), Fibaro UBS (2), Fibaro+N Plug (3), NeoCoolCam Door Sensor (3), PIR (2) & Plugs (2), Nest (3), Home Server running my own integrations, Harmony Hub, OpenSprinkler, Personal Weather Station, Sonoff TH & more

Offline Catman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 338
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: ZRC-90 battery level
« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2019, 12:20:33 pm »
Ok, so, correct steps are
1) backup
2) exclude
3) restore backup, including zwave
4) replace failed, under advanced, commands

Basically, you are including it as a new device, but taking the place of the old one, that you previously excluded. Worked for me, but YMMV.

Thanks!  I'll look at this when I have some time to dedicate to fixing things :)

C