We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Add Smoke Sensor to monitored device category  (Read 304 times)

Offline wilme2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Karma: +33/-13
Add Smoke Sensor to monitored device category
« on: February 26, 2019, 11:35:02 am »
I added a 2GIG SMOKE DETECTOR SENSOR 345 to my VeraSecure.  Pretty cool way to integrate traditional wired smokes into HA.

They use urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:SmokeSensor:1, is there an easy way to add the monitoring of its status to EventWatcher?  I know it will never trip, but would like it logged to Syslog if it happens.  Assuming my Syslog makes it thru the fire.  Of course I have notifications built, so I am covered there...

https://getvera.com/portfolio-posts/2gig-smoke-detector-sensor-transmitter-345/
Long Live UI5!  (OK finally made the switch to UI7 in January 2018, and am pretty happy....)

Offline Don Phillips

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1464
  • Karma: +41/-36
Re: Add Smoke Sensor to monitored device category
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2019, 08:09:49 pm »
That looks really cool - I have it in my Amazon cart for now.  I see you added it on a Secure. Reading the installation instructions, it generally speaks of connecting it to a compatible 2Gig control panel but the literature does not specifically state it is a z-wave device. If it uses ZigBee, I will be SOL sin ce I have a Vera 3 and not ready for a new controller just yet.

Can you confirm it uses z-wave? 
Vera 3, 1.7.1040, CT101, Everspring Motion, GE/Jasco Switch/Dimmer, Leviton outlet, AeonLabs sensor, NuTone garage door, Blue Iris, Sricam SP011, iPhone locator, APCUPSD, VeraMate, VeraAlerts, PLEG, House Modes, Countdown Timer, DVR, Virtual/Multi Switch, LB60Z-1 bulb, Hue, Alexa, Zooz 4-1

Offline wilme2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Karma: +33/-13
Re: Add Smoke Sensor to monitored device category
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2019, 11:42:38 am »
Can you confirm it uses z-wave?

I think you already answered this on another thread, but in case anyone else wants to know:

It uses "VeraLink", not z-wave or zigbee.  It is a 345 mhz protocol that 2GIG uses - and which is integrated into the VeraSecure (only)...
Long Live UI5!  (OK finally made the switch to UI7 in January 2018, and am pretty happy....)

Offline Don Phillips

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1464
  • Karma: +41/-36
Re: Add Smoke Sensor to monitored device category
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2019, 07:28:44 pm »
Thanks for confirming.
Vera 3, 1.7.1040, CT101, Everspring Motion, GE/Jasco Switch/Dimmer, Leviton outlet, AeonLabs sensor, NuTone garage door, Blue Iris, Sricam SP011, iPhone locator, APCUPSD, VeraMate, VeraAlerts, PLEG, House Modes, Countdown Timer, DVR, Virtual/Multi Switch, LB60Z-1 bulb, Hue, Alexa, Zooz 4-1

Offline akbooer

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6387
  • Karma: +292/-70
  • "Less is more"
Re: Add Smoke Sensor to monitored device category
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2019, 02:41:56 am »
is there an easy way to add the monitoring of its status to EventWatcher? 

Yes, as described in the documentation...

Quote from: EventWatcher User Guide, p. 12
Logging Other Variables

In addition to the usual category-based method of defining which devices to watch, an additional feature allows ANY serviceId/variable to be watched.
The device variable parameter ExtraVariablesFile defines the location of a file with the description of one variable per line in the format <devNo>.<serviceId>.<Variable>. This file is read at startup and the requested variables added to the watch list.
So, for example, my ExtraVariablesFile is set to /www/EWextras.conf, and that file contains:

     044.urn:akbooer-com:serviceId:EventWatcher1.AppMemoryUsed
     044.urn:akbooer-com:serviceId:EventWatcher1.CpuLoad05

3x Vera Lite-UI5/Edge-UI7, 25x Fibaro, 23x TKB, 9x MiniMote, 2x NorthQ Power, 2x Netatmo, 1x Foscam FI9831P, 9x Philips Hue,
Razberry, MySensors Arduino, HomeWave, AltUI, AltHue, DataYours, Grafana, openLuup, ZWay, ZeroBrane Studio.

Offline wilme2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Karma: +33/-13
Re: Add Smoke Sensor to monitored device category
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2019, 10:38:37 pm »
Yes, as described in the documentation...

I can't make it work.  Created text file EWextras.conf in notepad with the required information, then loaded via SCP to /www/EWextras.conf.  Added the entry /www/EWextras.conf to the variable ExtraVariablesFile.

Right now it is: 
Code: [Select]
256.urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:Doorbell:1.Tripped
253.urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:SmokeSensor:1.Tripped

I also tried:
Code: [Select]
256.urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:Doorbell1.Tripped
253.urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:SmokeSensor1.Tripped
Since I have seen the : removed in some examples.  Still not showing up in the list of watched variables...
« Last Edit: March 17, 2019, 10:40:23 pm by wilme2 »
Long Live UI5!  (OK finally made the switch to UI7 in January 2018, and am pretty happy....)

Offline wilme2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Karma: +33/-13
Re: Add Smoke Sensor to monitored device category
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2019, 10:52:30 pm »
I switched to the real Service IDs and it works. 

Code: [Select]
256.urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:SecuritySensor1.Tripped
253.urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:SecuritySensor1.Tripped
Long Live UI5!  (OK finally made the switch to UI7 in January 2018, and am pretty happy....)