We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Help plz. Can't pair Vera lite w/intermatic CA8900 TSTAT  (Read 1653 times)

Offline Abscam

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Help plz. Can't pair Vera lite w/intermatic CA8900 TSTAT
« on: October 20, 2012, 07:40:34 pm »
I have a door lock and wall switch paired, but can't seem to figure our this tstat pairing. I've read the directions and tried a dozen times. Can't figure where I am going wrong. One thing I notice is the Vera lite ready light goes into blink before I push the + button.  So I assume it is in pairing mode. But pressing the bind button on the tstat doesn't give me the flicker I so desperately seek...

Including Z-Wave devices to the Vera system's network:

Disconnect all of the Vera's cables so you can carry your Vera around to the Zwave devices you want to include or exclude, like light switches, door locks, sensors and so on.
Connect 4 AA batteries to the Vera system and press the "battery" button to power Vera.
Wait up to 60 seconds for the "Ready" light on the Vera system to light up solid.
To include devices:  Tap the Vera system's "+" button.  The "Ready" light will blink slowly, once per second, to indicate the Vera system is in include mode.
Carry the Vera system around to all the devices you want to include or exclude and press each device's activate button.  When the Vera system has successfully included or excluded a device the "Ready" light will flutter for 2 seconds as confirmation.

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Help plz. Can't pair Vera lite w/intermatic CA8900 TSTAT
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2012, 08:28:14 pm »
How far away is your Vera from the tstat when you try to pair it? Try holding it less than a foot away.

Also, is this a brand new tstat or did you buy it used? If the latter, it may have been already joined to another zwave network.
Check your tstat manual to see how you can do eg a factory rest or if it allows to delete itself from a zwave network.   

I'm not familiar with your model tstat but brining Vera to within a foot of my Trane tstat, setting it to include mode and hitting the join button in the Trane tstat menu had it recognized and controlled within about 30 seconds.
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline Abscam

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Help plz. Can't pair Vera lite w/intermatic CA8900 TSTAT
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2012, 09:26:51 pm »
Thanks.  I tried to exclude it.

The Vera lite never goes solid amber. It just blinks slowly, like it is in pair mode, with out holding the + button to put into pair mode.  So I assume it is in pair mode, but it might not be...

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Help plz. Can't pair Vera lite w/intermatic CA8900 TSTAT
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2012, 08:24:40 am »
I checked docs5.mios.com and the 8900 is listed as a compatible device. That's about as far as I can go as I'm not familiar with the unit. Could it be the tstat is defective?

One final thought, Have you confirmed the tstat has the right zwave chip for where you are? As there are 3 Zwave geographies, each with their own frequency and they are not compatible. There's US, EU and AU versions. Due to teh frequency differences, for example, a US zwave device will not be recognized by an AU or EU one and vice versa.

You may have to submit a ticket to Micasaverde support for this. 
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W