We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help  (Read 12987 times)

Offline scravott

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help
« Reply #30 on: August 14, 2013, 07:43:45 pm »
I've already factory reset it and re-linked everything and it is working fine again.  It has happened on two occassions. I am going to try to use the program lock function to keep external (kids and wife) source from being able to push buttons at random.  Thanks for your response.

Offline wware01

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help
« Reply #31 on: November 27, 2013, 11:53:06 am »
Okay I have gotten all my altsteon stuff up and running except for my KeyPadLinc's...  I have tried and can't the sub buttons to show up .... After reading this post I am not sure if I have newer equipment.

My 6 Button KeypadLinc is Devcat 1 Subcat 27 reported from the Vera UI.
My 8 Button KeypadLinc is Devcat 1 Subcat 28 reported from the Vera UI.

Now I do get a Scene Controller but I don't know or have any way of linking the other buttons on the KeyPadLinc.... And I am 100% certain that all the buttons are linked to the PLM....  Any help would be greatly appriacated....

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help
« Reply #32 on: November 27, 2013, 12:15:43 pm »
You will not have direct access to the buttons in Vera except for using them in scenes. Only the on / off buttons you can control directly in Vera.

- Garrett


Offline wware01

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help
« Reply #33 on: December 03, 2013, 03:32:38 pm »
How do I insure that if say I turn my FanLinc Light On or Off or the FanLinc Fan to a different speed via the VERA not the Keypad that the button lights will be correctly lite......

Offline PurdueGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1169
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help
« Reply #34 on: December 03, 2013, 03:46:17 pm »
Vera3, Leviton, Intermatic, SQ Blaster, HomeWave, DSC 1832, Insteon/Altsteon

Offline RandyMartini

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help
« Reply #35 on: March 18, 2014, 07:20:38 pm »
After following everything here and in the directions, I can't get my keypadlinc to work properly.  I am at point I hoping that I just missed something, but I fear that it is may be defective.  There are 8 other Insteon devices that work, but this is my only keypadlink

I am able to turn the switch on and off from my Vera 3 web UI.  Though the status is never displayed.  They remote for the 4 other buttons never appeared.

I have the 6 button keypadlinc relay from Smart Home.

I am now running the dev build, but it seems to display the exact same behavior that the latest release did.

From the cli I can confirm the devcat and subcat..

Code: [Select]
Cmd : 22.XX.XX info
22.XX.XX:0007,00,02,2C,41 - DevCat : 02  SubCat : 2C Ver : 41

The aldb tables look correct on both the PLM and the switch.  I have paired all of the button both ways.  I can post them if they help.

There are error messages that appear in the LuaUPnP.log.  These occur periodically.

Code: [Select]
50 03/18/14 17:02:38.428 luup_log:45: Parsing : 22.XX.XX:008D,00,01,00 - LED follow mask for button/group 1 is 0. <0x2e505680>
50 03/18/14 17:02:38.429 luup_log:45: Sending to child id 91 (22.XX.XX) <0x2e505680>
01 03/18/14 17:02:38.429 LuaInterface::CallFunction-2 lu_incoming failed [string "..."]:120: attempt to call global 'insteonRelayProcess' (a nil value) <0x2e505680>
50 03/18/14 17:02:38.431 luup_log:45: Parsing : 22.XX.XX:008E,00,01,00 - LED off mask for button/group 1 is 0. <0x2e505680>
50 03/18/14 17:02:38.431 luup_log:45: Sending to child id 91 (22.XX.XX) <0x2e505680>
01 03/18/14 17:02:38.432 LuaInterface::CallFunction-2 lu_incoming failed [string "..."]:120: attempt to call global 'insteonRelayProcess' (a nil value) <0x2e505680>
50 03/18/14 17:02:38.433 luup_log:45: Parsing : 22.XX.XX:008F,00,01,20 - X10 house code for button/group 1 is 32. <0x2e505680>
50 03/18/14 17:02:38.434 luup_log:45: Sending to child id 91 (22.XX.XX) <0x2e505680>
01 03/18/14 17:02:38.435 LuaInterface::CallFunction-2 lu_incoming failed [string "..."]:120: attempt to call global 'insteonRelayProcess' (a nil value) <0x2e505680>
50 03/18/14 17:02:38.436 luup_log:45: Parsing : 22.XX.XX:0090,00,01,20 - X10 unit code for button/group 1 is 32. <0x2e505680>
50 03/18/14 17:02:38.437 luup_log:45: Sending to child id 91 (22.XX.XX) <0x2e505680>
01 03/18/14 17:02:38.437 LuaInterface::CallFunction-2 lu_incoming failed [string "..."]:120: attempt to call global 'insteonRelayProcess' (a nil value) <0x2e505680>
50 03/18/14 17:02:38.439 luup_log:45: Parsing : 22.XX.XX:0091,00,01,1C - Ramp rate for button/group 1 is 28. <0x2e505680>
50 03/18/14 17:02:38.439 luup_log:45: Sending to child id 91 (22.XX.XX) <0x2e505680>
01 03/18/14 17:02:38.440 LuaInterface::CallFunction-2 lu_incoming failed [string "..."]:120: attempt to call global 'insteonRelayProcess' (a nil value) <0x2e505680>
50 03/18/14 17:02:38.441 luup_log:45: Parsing : 22.XX.XX:0092,00,01,FE - On level for button/group 1 is 254. <0x2e505680>
50 03/18/14 17:02:38.442 luup_log:45: Sending to child id 91 (22.XX.XX) <0x2e505680>
01 03/18/14 17:02:38.442 LuaInterface::CallFunction-2 lu_incoming failed [string "..."]:120: attempt to call global 'insteonRelayProcess' (a nil value) <0x2e505680>
50 03/18/14 17:02:38.444 luup_log:45: Parsing : 22.XX.XX:0093,00,01,3F - Global LED brightness for button/group 1 is 63. <0x2e505680>
50 03/18/14 17:02:38.445 luup_log:45: Sending to child id 91 (22.XX.XX) <0x2e505680>
01 03/18/14 17:02:38.445 LuaInterface::CallFunction-2 lu_incoming failed [string "..."]:120: attempt to call global 'insteonRelayProcess' (a nil value) <0x2e505680>
50 03/18/14 17:02:38.447 luup_log:45: Parsing : 22.XX.XX:0094,00,01,00 - Associated non-toggle bitmap for button/group 1 is 0.


Any thoughts on what I can try next or other information that would be needed to troubleshoot this?

This has become my white whale of my home automation.  I have blown more time with this switch than anything else.

Offline PurdueGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1169
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help
« Reply #36 on: March 18, 2014, 07:48:24 pm »
It looks like the link is ok, and the switch is telling the PLM, which tells the daemon, which relays it to Vera.  So that's good.  There is something up with the files in Vera, or your setup of them.

Verify that you have the KPL set up as a Relay KPL.
Code: [Select]
Device type : urn:geektaco-info:device:relay-kpl:1
Internal ID : <address of the device in aa.bb.cc format>
Description : <Whatever you want to call this device>
Upnp Device Filename : D_InsteonRelayKpl.xml
Upnp Implementation Filename : I_InsteonRelayKpl.xml
Ip Address : <blank>
MAC : <blank>
Room : <don't care>
Parent device : plm

Double-check that you have I_InsteonRelay.xml uploaded for sure, as that is the file where insteonRelayProcess is defined.
Also, it might be a good idea to verify that you have the latest files uploaded.   Best way is to just upload them all again.
Vera3, Leviton, Intermatic, SQ Blaster, HomeWave, DSC 1832, Insteon/Altsteon

Offline RandyMartini

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help
« Reply #37 on: March 18, 2014, 09:01:35 pm »
PurdueGuy your solution was close enough to find the fix.

When I first installed an earlier version of Altsteon I had copied the files over with scp and for later updates I used the web UI. There were older .xml files and the new versions were .xml.lzo.  It must have been using the uncompressed .xml files instead of the newer compressed ones.

Once the older files and the device were deleted.  I added the device again and it worked like a charm.

Thank you for your assistance.

Offline damahala

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help
« Reply #38 on: April 23, 2014, 05:15:16 pm »
Hi Everyone,

I have a question which is also related to KeypadLinc. I have already installed Altsteon and configured KeypadLinc, and it works fine although sometimes slow response when pressing the scene button.

My question is, is there any way to use one button to control two scenes?

I have two scenes:

1) Turn ON the living room lights
2) Turn OFF the living room lights

What I wan to do is using one button (ex. scene A button) to control both scenes:

When scene #1 is active, the backlight for that button will be ON. Pressing button at this time should trigger scene #2.
When scene #2 is active, the backlight for that button will be OFF.  Pressing button at this time should trigger scene #1.

Thank you~
Art

Offline PurdueGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1169
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help
« Reply #39 on: May 27, 2014, 01:27:20 pm »
Hi Everyone,

I have a question which is also related to KeypadLinc. I have already installed Altsteon and configured KeypadLinc, and it works fine although sometimes slow response when pressing the scene button.

My question is, is there any way to use one button to control two scenes?

I have two scenes:

1) Turn ON the living room lights
2) Turn OFF the living room lights

What I wan to do is using one button (ex. scene A button) to control both scenes:

When scene #1 is active, the backlight for that button will be ON. Pressing button at this time should trigger scene #2.
When scene #2 is active, the backlight for that button will be OFF.  Pressing button at this time should trigger scene #1.

Thank you~
Art
You should be able to use:
- A scene is activated (turning on)
- A scene is de-activated (turning off)
Vera3, Leviton, Intermatic, SQ Blaster, HomeWave, DSC 1832, Insteon/Altsteon

Offline tenroc2o0o

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help
« Reply #40 on: June 23, 2014, 10:23:28 pm »
I have several new Dimmer KeypadLinc that I'm having trouble with.

Here's the alsteon_cli info output:

Code: [Select]
Cmd : 2B.9E.A2 info
2B.9E.A2:0007,01,01,42,FF - DevCat : 01  SubCat : 42 Ver : FF
2B.9E.A2:0000,02 - Unknown command 'set_long_name'.
2B.70.81:0024,02,00 - Light brightness is 0.

When I add this device, the keypadlinc scene controller never appears.  Additionally, I tried adding the sub cat 0x42 to the I_InsteonPlm.xml file in several spots and the type stopped changing back to dimmer, but the scene controller still doesn't appear.  I think I read that the daemon needs to be updated as well.

Code: [Select]
Cmd : 2B.9E.A2 set_button_led 1 3
2B.9E.A2:FFFD,02 - Command not valid for this subcat.

I've tried 0.8 and the latest development build. 

Any support would be appreciated!

Offline swazi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help
« Reply #41 on: June 24, 2014, 09:20:58 am »
With a previous version of altsteon I was able to make it mostly work with an update to the xml file. But both the latest dev version and 0.8 does not work. I gave up due to this and other issues and got an isy with Garrett' plug in. Much better although pricy.
If you want to stick with altsteon, try some older versions. And after uploading the files and creating the device, unplug vera and plm. Go have a beer. Plug everything in again. Go have 2 beers. Then check if it worked. Sometimes I think stuff is not working but later it just starts working. Maybe it's just me...

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk


Offline tenroc2o0o

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help
« Reply #42 on: June 24, 2014, 10:07:22 am »
I'm too far invested now. I have a Vera 3 with a DSC 1864 with 37 zones all showing in the Vera, a Nest thermostat, Z-Wave door locks, and a large Insteon install with FanLincs, KeypadLincs (Dim/Relay), SwitchLincs (Dim/Relay), LampLincs, and Motion Detectors. 

Everything works perfect except for my dimmer keypadlinc's. 

Also, it's rather unfortunate that I don't drink. Not that I'm opposed to it, just never liked the taste of alcohol.  But the Vera may drive me to acquire the taste...


Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help
« Reply #43 on: June 24, 2014, 11:51:11 am »
I find that it is worth the extra expense to buy a dedicated insteon controller like the ISY to manage the insteon devices. Altsteon is great and all but development has stalled and is complex to maintain.

- Garrett

Offline swazi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: [Altsteon] KeypadLinc Help
« Reply #44 on: June 24, 2014, 01:32:53 pm »
Just to be clear I'm not saying replace Vera with ISY. Look here http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,17309.0.html