We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Help Pairing Aeotec Smart Switch 6 - Vera Edge UI7  (Read 3105 times)

Offline TheSummit

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Help Pairing Aeotec Smart Switch 6 - Vera Edge UI7
« on: September 08, 2015, 07:59:15 pm »
I need the steps to pair Aeotec Smart Switch 6 (Vera Edge running UI7) Thanks, Derek
Vera Plus, Echo, Schlage Locks, Go Control Bulbs, Jasco paddle switches/outlets, Alexa Vera Beta Tester, IFTTT Beta Tester (Honeywell/Vera)

Offline BoneyCheng

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Help Pairing Aeotec Smart Switch 6 - Vera Edge UI7
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2015, 06:05:58 am »
Just use the Generic Inclusion process, when it is waiting to pair the Smart Switch 6, just tap the button on the SS6.

You may need to do a factory reset on the SS6 if it isn't including properly.

There is no official device type, but as a horrible workaround that can be done to help solve the issue if the ON and OFF buttons are not working properly: https://aeotec.freshdesk.com/solution/articles/6000094918-smart-switch-6-on-vera-cannot-turn-on-or-off-workaround-

Offline rnm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Help Pairing Aeotec Smart Switch 6 - Vera Edge UI7
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2015, 04:04:00 am »
After contacting Vera, they made the following change to my unit.
1. Do a factory reset on the SS6
2. Add the device by including as other Zwave device
3. Click on "Advanced" and then "Variables" tab
4.Change "Capabilities? to
211,156,1,4,16,1,L,R,B,RS,|37,39,50:3,51,89,94,112,114,115,122,129,133,134, After Vera Change
211,156,1,4,16,1,L,R,B,RS,|37,38:2,39,50:3,51,89,94,112,114,115,122,129,133,134, Original

Quote from Vera
Yes, you?ll have to remove from capabilities the number between 37 and 39. In your case I had to remove 38:2.

The Aeon Smart Switch 6 should be fully supported in a future firmware update.

On and off should now work.


« Last Edit: December 19, 2015, 05:11:15 am by rnm »

Offline Dansker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Help Pairing Aeotec Smart Switch 6 - Vera Edge UI7
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2015, 05:52:16 pm »
Tried this version of suggested fixes, no go, sorry.

It might work for a while, but then try to push the switch manually on/off, works, but then the Vera UI breaks.

Also seeing interactions with second switch, sigh.

It is disappointing to have Vera AND Aeotec say works, then fixed in next release, then pointing fingers at each other, for about 4 months, FOR JUST A BINARY SWITCH.

Somebody should soon enough get embarrassed enough to actually fix this, hopefully.

Aeotec, happily points fingers at Vera, will sell you a Z-Stick so that you can upgrade the firmware in the device; does not work either. Will not take back switches or Z-Stick. Very disappointing vendor performance.

Offline 4Crawler

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Help Pairing Aeotec Smart Switch 6 - Vera Edge UI7
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2015, 05:30:51 pm »
I have a video on pairing an Aeotec smart energy dimmer on UI7, might be similar to the SS6:

https://youtu.be/hFPrfI0zgmI