We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: 3-Way GE/JASCO Z-Wave "Drop In Replacement" -- A couple "Aha!" gotchas  (Read 60723 times)

Offline Jerral

[Advisory:   I am not an electrician and assume you aren't either.   I offer some feedback I wish someone gave me] 

Using the GE/JASCO 45613 Three-Way Dimmer Set:   

Over the last few months since I originally purchased these 3-way switches ready to install, I wasted lots of time and delayed this project literally MONTHS, fretting about how the instructions didn't match my wiring, how existing switches didn't have wires like the diagrams or documentation, and how I started and stopped and installed and un-installed things time and again before just sticking it out for about four hours today to successful completion.   

Thus my "Here's what I wish someone had told me in the first ten minutes" contribution to the forum.

This GE/JASCO Z-Wave is VERY DIFFERENT from a normal 3-way setup.   Never mind it claims to be a drop in 3-way set.   It does work ingeniously fine and will definitely APPEAR to function relatively as a normal three way.  But there are some major differences, and it's really an optical illusion at all since this really is a completely different animal from any normal 3-way switch set you may have ever installed before.  The set has two pieces:   

A)  ZW3003 - One RELATIVELY NORMAL MASTER DIMMER switch, and
    B)  ZW2002 - One AUX "SWITCH" (totally useless on its own, btw).  Though a switch of sorts, it's actually only a signaling device to send a little pulse over to its friend across the wire and say: "Hey, MASTER Ol' Buddy Ol' Pal,  How 'Bout You Switch That Circuit For Me, Eh!?"

(How this AUX wires/works was truly the "Aha!" I was missing when starting this project.  Ingenious key point to know!)