We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Upgrading problem with Vera 2  (Read 4240 times)

Offline knumsi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Upgrading problem with Vera 2
« on: November 27, 2012, 09:38:37 am »
Hello,

i bought a used vera 2 and had an inofficial Firmware on this device ( 1.5.472 )
then i resetted the vera with this manual: http://wiki.mios.com/index.php/Firmware_Flash_Vera2  it worked really good and z-wave seems to work.

when i am trying to upgrade my vera 2 from
Running Version    1.1.1047
Version   1.78 L:1
House/Node   
Role   Suc SIS:YES PRI:YES
Last update   N/A
Last dongle backup   27-NOV-2012 2:56

to the latest version 1.1.1245 (with the "automatic" Firmware upgrade button in the UI)

My z-wave adapter seems to get broken ("ZWave : Failed To Start"). As soon as i finished updating, vera tells me, that z-wave is not working anymore.

I tried also to reset it back again (to 1.1.1047) and then directly upgrade to UI5 with this version:
http://download.mios.com/brcm_betafirmware/wl500gP_Luup_ui5-1.5.408-en-mios.squashfs
But here also the z-wave does not work. ("ZWave : Failed To Start")
Then this shows up:
Version   2.78 L:1
House/Node   House: **** Node 1 Suc 1
Role   Suc SIS:YES PRI:YES
Last update   1-JAN-1970 01:00
Last Z-Wave network backup   N/A

Now i cant do anything with z-wave because of the message "Command failed: ZWave not ready"

I have no clue how to fix this.

Thanks in advance for your reply.
knumsi
« Last Edit: November 27, 2012, 01:56:34 pm by knumsi »

Offline knumsi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Upgrading problem with Vera 2
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2012, 02:36:43 pm »
If you need ANY further information to help me with this problem - please contact me.

My desperation is growing :'(

Just went back to:
Running Version    1.1.992
Latest Version    1.1.1245
(with http://wiki.mios.com/index.php/Firmware_Flash_Vera2 )

Version   1.78 L:1
House/Node   
Role   Suc SIS:YES PRI:YES
Last update   N/A
Last dongle backup   N/A

Trying to download a backup delivers a file with this content:
No HW_Key:
FAILED to create backup
No HW_Key:

Updates from this version up to
1.1.1245 or 1.5.472
don't work
« Last Edit: November 27, 2012, 02:58:52 pm by knumsi »

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Upgrading problem with Vera 2
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2012, 04:35:54 pm »
Have you tried to set it back to factory default using the GUI?
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline futzle

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
  • Karma: +192/-9
Re: Upgrading problem with Vera 2
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2012, 05:14:18 pm »
knumsi, is there any firmware version that still works for you, even an old one?  It's not clear from your posts whether you've permanently broken something or whether it's only the upgrade that's breaking it.

Are you trying to retain your Vera's settings during the upgrade?  I suggest you don't.  You'll have to reconfigure your Vera from scratch, but at least you have a known starting point.  Retaining settings, or restoring old backups, is much more likely to break things.  As strangely said, do a factory reset to remove the likelihood that your busted backed-up settings are breaking the update.

The "No HW Key" error is a worry.  If your NVRAM has been wiped then I think MCV support is going to have to get involved.

Offline knumsi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Upgrading problem with Vera 2
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2012, 02:35:47 am »
Have you tried to set it back to factory default using the GUI?

Yes, i resettet before and after each up-/downgrading to factory default

Offline knumsi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Upgrading problem with Vera 2
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2012, 02:44:12 am »
knumsi, is there any firmware version that still works for you, even an old one?  It's not clear from your posts whether you've permanently broken something or whether it's only the upgrade that's breaking it.

Are you trying to retain your Vera's settings during the upgrade?  I suggest you don't.  You'll have to reconfigure your Vera from scratch, but at least you have a known starting point.  Retaining settings, or restoring old backups, is much more likely to break things.  As strangely said, do a factory reset to remove the likelihood that your busted backed-up settings are breaking the update.

The "No HW Key" error is a worry.  If your NVRAM has been wiped then I think MCV support is going to have to get involved.

Firmware that works? No.
1.1.992 --> No HW_Key:
each other version (1.1.1047, 1.1.1245, 1.5.472) --> "ZWave : Failed To Start" and "Command failed: ZWave not ready"

Reset to factory Default: Done via GUI every time when changing version

MCV Support: i used the contact form in the GUI with a description of the Problem and a link to this Thread.

Any other/further ideas?

Offline futzle

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
  • Karma: +192/-9
Re: Upgrading problem with Vera 2
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2012, 03:27:00 am »
Any other/further ideas?

No, I think you need to wait for support now, sorry.

Offline knumsi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Upgrading problem with Vera 2
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2012, 08:44:57 am »
How long does it usually take until the support answers?

Offline knumsi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Upgrading problem with Vera 2
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2012, 06:23:45 am »
They dont seem to answer ...  ???

Trying contact form now ...
( http://micasaverde.com/contact.php )
( http://www.micasaverde.com/contact-support.php )
Additionally refereced to this thread in the contact form.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2012, 06:31:36 am by knumsi »

Offline knumsi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Upgrading problem with Vera 2
« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2012, 04:57:49 pm »
Thanks to Adrian,

he fixed it:

Quote
There were some missing values and I had to manually upgrade your firmware to the latest version of UI4 and then to the latest version of UI5, but this couldn't have been fixed by the end user.
If there are anymore users that encounter this issue it's best that they send us a trouble ticket so we could further investigate.