We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: resolved>> TTS does not work :-s  (Read 23007 times)

Offline Cor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1249
  • Karma: +8/-4
Re: TTS does not work :-s
« Reply #45 on: April 08, 2013, 04:37:24 pm »
And I already provided this information almost two months ago (check my post in the previous page).

I see it now ... the reason why i didn't do anything with silence.mp3 is that is worked after unchecking the "secure" option.... . I have some time now , let me try to work with this silence.mp3 :-)

Cor

Offline Cor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1249
  • Karma: +8/-4
Re: TTS does not work :-s
« Reply #46 on: April 08, 2013, 05:23:40 pm »
Ups.....I feel embarassed now.... I see what was wrong.

The day before I started this thread I had to reboot my modem/router, I cannot set fix IP adresses on my modem (which is crap offcourse) , the IP adresses of my sonos devices had changed...

Anyway , I uploaded the png and silence.mp3 to the correct directory , it all is working again,and I have some nice icons as well :-)

One more question. I read somewhere that .png shoud not be in the " /etc/cmh-ludl" directory ... must I remove them , or something else?

Attached a screenshot of that directory.

Thanks for all the help,
Cor

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: TTS does not work :-s
« Reply #47 on: April 21, 2013, 04:09:25 am »
Ups.....I feel embarassed now.... I see what was wrong.

The day before I started this thread I had to reboot my modem/router, I cannot set fix IP adresses on my modem (which is crap offcourse) , the IP adresses of my sonos devices had changed...

Anyway , I uploaded the png and silence.mp3 to the correct directory , it all is working again,and I have some nice icons as well :-)

Please update the title of the subject with a "resolved".

Quote
One more question. I read somewhere that .png shoud not be in the " /etc/cmh-ludl" directory ... must I remove them , or something else?

The M3 file can be either in /etc/cmh-ludl or /www. 

Offline limkopi78

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: resolved>> TTS does not work :-s
« Reply #48 on: June 07, 2013, 08:29:13 am »
Hi,

I'm rather confused after reading this thread. I've recently installed the plugin to my vera2. I'm able to control my sonos but not able to make sonos say anything.

So should the silence mp3 be in /etc/cmh-ludl/ or /www ?

I have it in both but still unable to say anything :(

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: resolved>> TTS does not work :-s
« Reply #49 on: June 07, 2013, 05:26:44 pm »
Try to put it in only one place

Offline limkopi78

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: resolved>> TTS does not work :-s
« Reply #50 on: June 08, 2013, 06:38:45 am »
I've tried putting the mp3 in one or another using scp. Both doesn't work if I use the Say functionality on the UI.

However for both options, the Say.31.mp3 (my device number being 31) will be generated if I use the luup code Say command.
And I am able to play the mp3 via sonos using the PlayURI.

How can I debug this?
« Last Edit: June 08, 2013, 06:42:02 am by limkopi78 »

Offline limkopi78

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: resolved>> TTS does not work :-s
« Reply #51 on: June 10, 2013, 09:49:37 am »
No advice on this? I'm using Vera2 UI4. Do I need to use the UI4 file?
I dug through the code, lolomodo has written the code such that it works in either folder...

My Say.31.mp3 file is created correctly. I can hear it when I download and play file but the Sonos refuses to say anything.

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: resolved>> TTS does not work :-s
« Reply #52 on: June 10, 2013, 05:22:39 pm »
No advice on this? I'm using Vera2 UI4. Do I need to use the UI4 file?

Yes.

Quote
I dug through the code, lolomodo has written the code such that it works in either folder...

Yes but it was done by @guessed.

Quote
My Say.31.mp3 file is created correctly. I can hear it when I download and play file but the Sonos refuses to say anything.

Please check the logs in case there is something not normal (grep Sonos). Any message in the Sonos control app ?

Anyone to confirm that TTS is working on UI4 ?

Offline jimdenny

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: TTS does not work :-s
« Reply #53 on: June 27, 2013, 08:41:06 am »
As there has been some rapid changes to provide additional functionality to the users, the wiki has not maintained the same pace which is common during development. The post that reflect the changes are below:

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,8505.msg99888.html#msg99888
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,8505.msg100487.html#msg100487

If you are using Windows, you can use WINSCP http://winscp.net/eng/index.php

Icons (.png) are copied to /www/cmh/skins/default/icons/   
The Sonos_silence.mp3 file is copied to /www/

Do not copy them from the files that have already been upload /etc/cmh-ludl/ as the compression (.lzo) is destructive; however, they should be deleted.

What username and password do I use to connect with winSCP? I've tried the password I use for mios, but it will not connect. I've tried it with the username of "root" and my mios username. Access denied.

Offline Brientim

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2497
  • Karma: +78/-7
Re: resolved>> TTS does not work :-s
« Reply #54 on: June 27, 2013, 02:59:33 pm »
The user should be root and the password from the bottom of your unit. If there is no password on the bottom of your Vera, have a look at installing this app by @futzle

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,7110.msg45228.html#msg45228

Offline jimdenny

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: resolved>> TTS does not work :-s
« Reply #55 on: June 28, 2013, 11:31:58 pm »
I have been through all of the steps outlined.
- Vera and Sonos on the same switch (TrendNet)
- Silence.mp3 file in www
- PNG files where they belong

When I type in a test message. It shows the message that it is streaming Say.29.mp3, but there is only silence for a few seconds. Then, the music resumes.

If I put VeraIP/Say.29.mp3, I receive a 404 Error. Any recommendations?

Offline jimdenny

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: resolved>> TTS does not work :-s
« Reply #56 on: June 29, 2013, 10:09:45 am »
I have been through all of the steps outlined.
- Vera and Sonos on the same switch (TrendNet)
- Silence.mp3 file in www
- PNG files where they belong

When I type in a test message. It shows the message that it is streaming Say.29.mp3, but there is only silence for a few seconds. Then, the music resumes.

If I put VeraIP/Say.29.mp3, I receive a 404 Error. Any recommendations?

OK, I went into the Sonos App and noticed that it didn't seem to be connecting to Sonos, despite the fact that Vera was. I went into my Roomie App, and it connected fine. Went back to Sonos app, and everything was fine.
After all of that, the Say action worked fine!

My assumption is that a re-boot of the Sonos would have done the trick, too. Obviously something wasn't communicating properly.

Excited to start using this functionality! Thanks for all the work and tips!