We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: What in wall lighting modules to use?  (Read 10570 times)

Offline ndwalters

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +1/-1
What in wall lighting modules to use?
« on: February 03, 2013, 01:17:40 am »
Hey guys,

Im starting from the beginning with a Vera Lite and I'm not sure which In Wall lighting modules to use. Id prefer a smart dimmer but its not a necessity. There seems to be so many available, so if you had the choice which would you buy?

- Fibaro
http://www.ezhome.nl/zwave/schakelaars/inbouw/fibaro/fibaro-fgd-211-z-wave-micromodule-dimmer.html

- Fibaro that I dont recognise
http://www.smartliving.com.au/home-automation/z-wave-in-wall-dimmer-336.html

- Aeon labs z-wave Micro Smart Energy Illuminator
http://zasmarthomes.co.za/shop/z-wave-switches-dimmers/z-wave-micro-smart-energy-illuminator/

- Unknown black one, does anyone know what it is?
http://www.shop.sainet.com.au/z-wave-in-wall-single-relay-switch.html

Cheers,
Nathan

Offline Brientim

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2497
  • Karma: +78/-7
Re: What in wall lighting modules to use?
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2013, 01:57:37 am »
Hello Nathan,

It is a bit hard to provide any real constructive advice due to the options/links you provided are for different regions.
It would assist if you provide some additional information on where you are located and that will enable other users from that region to provide some specific advise relative to that region.

Offline hsmaier

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: What in wall lighting modules to use?
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2013, 06:30:26 pm »
Hey guys,

Im starting from the beginning with a Vera Lite and I'm not sure which In Wall lighting modules to use. Id prefer a smart dimmer but its not a necessity. There seems to be so many available, so if you had the choice which would you buy?

- Fibaro
http://www.ezhome.nl/zwave/schakelaars/inbouw/fibaro/fibaro-fgd-211-z-wave-micromodule-dimmer.html

- Fibaro that I dont recognise
http://www.smartliving.com.au/home-automation/z-wave-in-wall-dimmer-336.html

- Aeon labs z-wave Micro Smart Energy Illuminator
http://zasmarthomes.co.za/shop/z-wave-switches-dimmers/z-wave-micro-smart-energy-illuminator/

- Unknown black one, does anyone know what it is?
http://www.shop.sainet.com.au/z-wave-in-wall-single-relay-switch.html

Cheers,
Nathan

I've used these for almost two years

http://www.amazon.com/Smarthome-2477D-SwitchLinc-INSTEON-Dual-Band/dp/B003ZTVZ0W/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1359934098&sr=8-1&keywords=insteon

Very happy with them

Howard
Vera 2 U14, Vera 2 U15, Two Trane TZEMT400AB32 Thermostats. Insteon Light Switches, Insteon Outlets, Power Linc Modem.

Offline ndwalters

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: What in wall lighting modules to use?
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2013, 07:21:36 pm »
Hi guys, really appreciate the replies.

I'm trying to put the region and frequencies aside right now just to compare the brand themselves as far as quality, reliability and set up goes.

I did miss these:

- Unknown black one was a DHS:
http://www.shop.sainet.com.au/z-wave-in-wall-single-relay-switch.html

- Insteon (I had forgotten vera was insteon compatible)
http://www.insteon.com.au/INSTEON_Micro_Appliance_Module.html

Im very much leaning toward the Aeon Tech gear...

Offline Brientim

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2497
  • Karma: +78/-7
Re: What in wall lighting modules to use?
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2013, 09:51:59 pm »
I have Aeon Labs (Aeotec) for over 2 years and I only experienced one issue with two plug in types which were replaced under warranty.  One was an issue that was not reporting status update and the other was a failed unit but still reporting...

Other than that the in-wall modules have been always reliable.

For me I purchased the above from SmartHome.com.au, ZWave.com.au and diyhomesutomation.com.au whichever was the cheapest when I needed them.

Offline ndwalters

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: What in wall lighting modules to use?
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2013, 02:26:01 am »
I have Aeon Labs (Aeotec) for over 2 years and I only experienced one issue with two plug in types which were replaced under warranty.  One was an issue that was not reporting status update and the other was a failed unit but still reporting...

Other than that the in-wall modules have been always reliable.

For me I purchased the above from SmartHome.com.au, ZWave.com.au and diyhomesutomation.com.au whichever was the cheapest when I needed them.

Thanks, this is exactly what I was wanting to know. I was already leaning towards them so I might just go ahead and get them.

Ive got thegeekshed.com.au doing me a good deal.

You wouldnt have happened to use a roller shutter controller have you?

Offline Brientim

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2497
  • Karma: +78/-7
Re: What in wall lighting modules to use?
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2013, 03:45:53 am »
Thanks, this is exactly what I was wanting to know. I was already leaning towards them so I might just go ahead and get them.

Ive got thegeekshed.com.au doing me a good deal.

You wouldnt have happened to use a roller shutter controller have you?

No, I have not used their roller shutter devices. 

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: What in wall lighting modules to use?
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2013, 09:56:17 am »
Have been using the Aeotec micro dimmer with metering for 6 months. Running great. It's in a ceiling box, driving an LED bulb. I did not hook up a physical switch to the device, but rather use a transmitter with dimming functionality (Leviton VRCZ1).
« Last Edit: February 05, 2013, 09:17:49 am by oTi@ »
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline Pashak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: What in wall lighting modules to use?
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2013, 11:30:13 pm »
ndwalters,

Let me know how you go with the aeotec in wall dimmers when you get them and installed. I got a couple also  (im in AUS) and one wasnt giving any output voltage, vera could see it and control it, but no lights would turn on. The 2nd works but doesnt give me full brightness at 100%.

I got reply from aeotec support to reset parameter 255, but not seeing this option.

would be curious what results you get. thanks in advance

Offline SmartLiving Technology

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: What in wall lighting modules to use?
« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2013, 05:00:21 am »
Thought I'll join in the conversation to see if I can help since the original post mentions us.

Pashak re the problems with your dimmers,  have you tried excluding it from your z-wave network and re-adding it back in ?
When you say it doesn't give 100% brightness how dim is it and does the light output change as you increase or decrease it in your controller ?


Offline Pashak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: What in wall lighting modules to use?
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2013, 02:04:57 am »
SmartLiving,

I have tried excluding and including many times. didnt help.
at the setting of 100% the light looked more like 80%. and yes, as i dimmed with the controller it dimmed the light.

I have since returned the aeotec dimmer as it just wasnt bright enough. as soon as i removed it and put it back to the way it was, brightness was perfect.
ive tried 3 in total, 1 had this brightness issue, the other 2 worked for 30 seconds, then lights went out and never came back. measuring output voltage showed close to 0 volts.

Now I checked that the globes (Phillips 50w halogens) were dimmable, which they are, I also checked that the electronic transformers (actec Mini60 Series II) were dimmable, which they are.

I should mention that I do not have dimming functionality with out the zwave modules. they are just regular toggle switches, on and off. i am replacing the toggle switches with Clipsal Push button bell press mechanisms  (30BPPBL) which are momentary switches which the aeotec dimmers are compatible with.

If im happy to always dim using zwave control, i dont need a dedicated dimmer do i?  such as http://www.clipsal.com.au/trade/__data/page/81/W0000604.pdf
This isnt whats causing me issues is it? Or have i just been unlucky and received 3 aeotec dimmer modules that were faulty?

Thanks in advance. Sorry if im taking this off topic, I can start a new thread if needed.
I've provided as much info as possible, if theres anything ive missed, let me know


Offline SmartLiving Technology

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: What in wall lighting modules to use?
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2013, 06:55:20 am »
Pashak,

It's unlikely but not impossible all 3 dimmers are faulty.  Have you tried other dimmers aside from aeotec?
I'm happy to send you one of our z-wave dimmer to test if you wish.  No obligations to buy...just want to help out :)

Since you are running 50W halogens, have you made sure the total wattages of the circuit hasn't exceeded the maximum load on the aeotec dimmer?  A large room full of 50W can easily exceed the max load.

If you always going to use z-wave to dim then you don't need a dedicated dimmer.

As I'm not sure of the policy of naming companies here I won't provide contact details in this post but please contact me via the links already posted above and we can discuss further on the issue or the loan dimmer if that's what you like. 

We don't check this forum regularly and the verification required before each post is getting very tedious and annoying!



Offline a-lurker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 872
  • Karma: +66/-8
Re: What in wall lighting modules to use?
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2013, 02:58:11 pm »
@ SmartLiving

The unit described above:

"- Unknown black one, does anyone know what it is?
http://www.shop.sainet.com.au/z-wave-in-wall-single-relay-switch.html"

Isn't the above device the same as your white one? And is it somehow affiliated and/or manufactured by Schlage? Like your Schlage Z-Wave Plug-In Appliance module.

Offline SmartLiving Technology

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: What in wall lighting modules to use?
« Reply #13 on: February 25, 2013, 08:06:02 pm »
Yes the black one is the same as what we have.

I was referring to another manufacturer Fibaro that makes also makes the lighting module


Offline Pashak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: What in wall lighting modules to use?
« Reply #14 on: February 25, 2013, 10:47:13 pm »
Hi SmartLiving,

yes, ive only ever used aeotec dimmers. and yes, the rooms i tested have 4 and 6 halogens. So both are with in max load of the aeotec dimmer module.

Im reluctant to pay for any more dimmers, and i wish i knew someone else that used zwave so i could try them. Your offer is very generous, and if your serious about sending me a dimmer module to test, i would like to take you up on your offer.

if they work, glad to purchase it and more.

Email Sent to sales@smartliving.com.au

Thanks again
« Last Edit: February 25, 2013, 10:55:45 pm by Pashak »