Author Topic: Can you run a scene by making a http request to vera lite device?  (Read 10582 times)

Offline ubun2Junky

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
I'm very new to the community, but I'm fascinated by the possibilities this product offers.  I might be putting the cart before the horse, since I haven't received my vera lite yet and can't test yet, but I'm curious to know if it's possible to run a scene by simply sending a url with the appropriate parameters to the vera lite device?  What kind of API does the vera lite have to allow it to communicate with mobile phones and such?  Thx.


Offline futzle

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3247
  • Karma: +188/-9
« Last Edit: February 07, 2013, 04:48:40 pm by futzle »

Offline ubun2Junky

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Can you run a scene by making a http request to vera lite device?
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2013, 05:22:18 pm »
Perfect...  exactly what I was looking for.  Thx so much...

Offline DonGar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Can you run a scene by making a http request to vera lite device?
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2014, 03:05:07 am »
This data doesn't appear to work any more.

http://vera:3480/data_request?id=action&serviceId=urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HomeAutomationGateway1&action=RunScene&SceneNum=47

returns:

error on line 2 at column 28: xmlns:u: 'Unknown Service' is not a valid URI

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9817
  • Karma: +742/-136
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: Can you run a scene by making a http request to vera lite device?
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2014, 10:29:13 am »
That's because you browser does not know how handle the return results according to MCV specs.
The request should still have worked if that is a valid scene.


Offline DonGar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Can you run a scene by making a http request to vera lite device?
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2014, 11:37:01 am »
And so it does. Thanks!

Offline undertoe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Karma: +15/-2
    • GitHub for My Vera Plugins
Re: Can you run a scene by making a http request to vera lite device?
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2017, 08:11:15 pm »
using the force version update to 1.82 resolved my issue of not being able to get bridge config. I have a pro2 model.
http://192.168.1.XX:3480/data_request?id=action&serviceId=urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HomeAutomationGateway1&action=CreatePlugin&PluginNum=8588&Version=34640
Check out my vera plugins: Roomba Plugin, Roomba Thinking Cleaner Plugin, Blue Iris Cam Plugin

Offline otolosa

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Can you run a scene by making a http request to vera lite device?
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2017, 06:56:25 pm »
This can be done only from local network right?


Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9817
  • Karma: +742/-136
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: Can you run a scene by making a http request to vera lite device?
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2017, 12:11:06 am »
It can only easily be done from the local network.
It's very complicated .... many http calls ... with lots of tricky details ... to do this from the internet ... of course it needs your Vera Account login details.

Offline otolosa

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Can you run a scene by making a http request to vera lite device?
« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2017, 09:18:22 am »
It can only easily be done from the local network.
It's very complicated .... many http calls ... with lots of tricky details ... to do this from the internet ... of course it needs your Vera Account login details.

This is sad....could be an alternative to the lack of IFTTT integration.