Author Topic: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development  (Read 189601 times)

Offline rafale77

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1741
  • Karma: +101/-27
  • HA ≠ IoT as a blue sky is cloudless.
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #840 on: December 16, 2018, 11:31:42 pm »
Freddy99: I have seen this happen intermittently in the past on the vera. I remember fixing it by running a luup reload to get the plkugin restarted. It is caused I believe by some corruption or timing issues from the very quirky vera. I have never observed it since I moved to openLuup with the exact same code.
openLuup (79 devices, 141 scenes, 19 apps) master to VeraPlus (142 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 221 devices,  20 scenes , 2 apps) +  Hubitat (15 Zigbee nodes) + Home-Assistant (API Integrations). Bridged to Siri and Alexa. Homewave. VeraPlus ExtRooted and mios server independent.

Offline watou

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +44/-12
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #841 on: December 17, 2018, 01:48:55 am »
Thanks Watou, I just checked that file and it seems like it is set to C..... "temperature": "C",

I believe that @rafale77 is correct that the fix is to overcome a race condition where the plugin makes the request before the Vera is ready to respond properly (as it does by the time you tried it manually).  The fix I was trying to think of was one of the two @rafale77 mentioned: reloading the plugin (probably described in some old message).

Offline Freddy99

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #842 on: December 17, 2018, 02:47:02 pm »
Thanks again guys,

Is the Luup reload done using http://ip_address:3480/data_request?id=reload ?? or luup.reload ()
or how would I use OpenLuup to load the code ?
« Last Edit: December 17, 2018, 02:49:34 pm by Freddy99 »

Offline rafale77

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1741
  • Karma: +101/-27
  • HA ≠ IoT as a blue sky is cloudless.
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #843 on: December 17, 2018, 03:50:13 pm »
It can be done either way. It is also hidden in the UI in the zwave/advanced menu and in the apps/advanced menu.
Openluup is something different: It is an entirely separate controller which many of us use to offload CPU and memory off of the overloaded vera. I recommend you go read the openLuup section in this forum if you are interested.
openLuup (79 devices, 141 scenes, 19 apps) master to VeraPlus (142 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 221 devices,  20 scenes , 2 apps) +  Hubitat (15 Zigbee nodes) + Home-Assistant (API Integrations). Bridged to Siri and Alexa. Homewave. VeraPlus ExtRooted and mios server independent.

Offline fullmoonguru

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: +0/-3
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #844 on: December 17, 2018, 04:15:10 pm »
Freddy99, if you are wanting to reload Vera to bring teh Ecobee back online, you can create a scene which does that. That's what I have done and it brings Ecobee back up most of teh time. If it doesn't I have another scene that sends me an alert so I can go in & get another pin.

Just create a scene but instead of choosing a device to control, have it run this Luup code:

 luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HomeAutomationGateway1", "Reload", {}, 0)

Offline tb001

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #845 on: December 27, 2018, 05:32:27 pm »
So I've been reading through the thread and doing searches and I'm sure this has been answered before, but I can't find it. We have older ecobee SmartSi thermostats. Are these just not useable with the app due to the security profile? If not, is there any workaround (through altui or some other workaround?)

ETA, it looks like this is what we have, so maybe not old after all? It's a new to us home, so trying to get up to speed on what they've installed.

https://www.smarthome.com/ecobee-eb-smartsi-01-smart-si-zigbee-compatible-wi-fi-thermostat.html

I'm unable to retrieve a pin.
« Last Edit: December 27, 2018, 06:00:51 pm by tb001 »

Offline watou

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +44/-12
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #846 on: December 27, 2018, 06:17:56 pm »
So I've been reading through the thread and doing searches and I'm sure this has been answered before, but I can't find it. We have older ecobee SmartSi thermostats. Are these just not useable with the app due to the security profile? If not, is there any workaround (through altui or some other workaround?)

ETA, it looks like this is what we have, so maybe not old after all? It's a new to us home, so trying to get up to speed on what they've installed.

https://www.smarthome.com/ecobee-eb-smartsi-01-smart-si-zigbee-compatible-wi-fi-thermostat.html

I'm unable to retrieve a pin.

There ought not be anything about the plugin that allows or disallows this particular model, since the plugin does not talk to the thermostat directly, but instead only to the API servers.  I used this model for years with the Vera plugin and I've not seen any information from Ecobee that it's no longer supported by them and their API.  A possible problem would exist if you were using a Vera that does not support TLSv1.2, since older ways of supporting https: are no longer supported (like SSL3 and TLSv1.0 and 1.1).  So it's possible that security concerns have eclipsed your particular Vera, and I think a list of supported Veras was recently posted.

Others might have more current info though.

watou

Offline tb001

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #847 on: December 27, 2018, 09:22:31 pm »
So I've been reading through the thread and doing searches and I'm sure this has been answered before, but I can't find it. We have older ecobee SmartSi thermostats. Are these just not useable with the app due to the security profile? If not, is there any workaround (through altui or some other workaround?)

ETA, it looks like this is what we have, so maybe not old after all? It's a new to us home, so trying to get up to speed on what they've installed.

https://www.smarthome.com/ecobee-eb-smartsi-01-smart-si-zigbee-compatible-wi-fi-thermostat.html

I'm unable to retrieve a pin.

There ought not be anything about the plugin that allows or disallows this particular model, since the plugin does not talk to the thermostat directly, but instead only to the API servers.  I used this model for years with the Vera plugin and I've not seen any information from Ecobee that it's no longer supported by them and their API.  A possible problem would exist if you were using a Vera that does not support TLSv1.2, since older ways of supporting https: are no longer supported (like SSL3 and TLSv1.0 and 1.1).  So it's possible that security concerns have eclipsed your particular Vera, and I think a list of supported Veras was recently posted.

Others might have more current info though.

watou

Ahhhh, thank you. I *just* realized I'm using a vera3 and not veraplus. That would be the culprit, as so clearly laid out in the previous page. I had it totally stuck in my head that I was on the plus, so didn't think to double check that. Glad I've only added a few devices. Much easier and cheaper to get a new vera vs buying a ton of new ecobees!

Offline rafale77

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1741
  • Karma: +101/-27
  • HA ≠ IoT as a blue sky is cloudless.
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #848 on: December 28, 2018, 06:42:08 am »
Yup, I went as far as trying to see if it is possible to upgrade the kernel on Veras but I found out that the linux kernel is not even included in the firmware upgrades and the memory layout is very customized so I wouldn't even be able to create a custom firmware to upgrade the vera... sorry
openLuup (79 devices, 141 scenes, 19 apps) master to VeraPlus (142 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 221 devices,  20 scenes , 2 apps) +  Hubitat (15 Zigbee nodes) + Home-Assistant (API Integrations). Bridged to Siri and Alexa. Homewave. VeraPlus ExtRooted and mios server independent.

Offline tb001

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #849 on: December 28, 2018, 10:22:48 am »
Yup, I went as far as trying to see if it is possible to upgrade the kernel on Veras but I found out that the linux kernel is not even included in the firmware upgrades and the memory layout is very customized so I wouldn't even be able to create a custom firmware to upgrade the vera... sorry

I?m just glad you figured it out! I?m just setting up the new house, so relatively painless to upgrade now. Only have a few devices on the network so far.

Offline rafale77

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1741
  • Karma: +101/-27
  • HA ≠ IoT as a blue sky is cloudless.
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #850 on: January 03, 2019, 06:28:05 pm »
The Ecobee server has been down for the past few minutes. Can't even access accounts. It is not the plugin...
This is making me want to get rid of all my cloud API devices and take everything local. My Plantlink system likewise has gone down because they apparently got sold and the new owner is no longer maintaining the server. A good reminder that cloud and Home automation don't mix well.
openLuup (79 devices, 141 scenes, 19 apps) master to VeraPlus (142 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 221 devices,  20 scenes , 2 apps) +  Hubitat (15 Zigbee nodes) + Home-Assistant (API Integrations). Bridged to Siri and Alexa. Homewave. VeraPlus ExtRooted and mios server independent.

Offline niharmehta

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 376
  • Karma: +17/-0
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #851 on: January 04, 2019, 08:14:41 pm »
100% agree. Noticed that the Ecobee  servers went down and cleared my auth token to vera.  I am tempted to move back to Zwave Tstats. Although not as nice looking,  they seemed far more reliable than depending on the whims of the vendor maintaining their cloud service.
2x VeraLite; 2xTrane Tstats; 45 x Switches/Dimmers/Appliance Modules; 4x Everspring Water Sensors; DSC Integration; 2 x Zwave Door Locks; 1x Ted5K; 1x Rainforest Eagle; Onkyo AVR; 6x Squeezebox;

Offline rafale77

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1741
  • Karma: +101/-27
  • HA ≠ IoT as a blue sky is cloudless.
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #852 on: January 12, 2019, 09:14:59 pm »
It seems like I have finally found a fix to the API errors. The API seems to send a ?cannot create function? error with a code which is not documented by ecobee after some period of idle (i.e without any action commands). Once a command has failed, the API seems to work correctly for some time until the next long period of idle (It seems a couple of hours at least)
My initial retries were done within too short of an interval and I now gave it 2 seconds. I will test it another week before releasing it.

The condition also seems to come and go for no particular reason so I want to be 100% sure...
« Last Edit: January 12, 2019, 09:16:39 pm by rafale77 »
openLuup (79 devices, 141 scenes, 19 apps) master to VeraPlus (142 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 221 devices,  20 scenes , 2 apps) +  Hubitat (15 Zigbee nodes) + Home-Assistant (API Integrations). Bridged to Siri and Alexa. Homewave. VeraPlus ExtRooted and mios server independent.

Offline rafale77

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1741
  • Karma: +101/-27
  • HA ≠ IoT as a blue sky is cloudless.
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #853 on: January 21, 2019, 09:01:57 pm »
ecobee servers today seem to be going through some serious outages and reboots. Their website isn't working again either. Just FYI for those jumping to ask why the plugin is disconnecting.

https://downdetector.com/status/ecobee
« Last Edit: January 21, 2019, 09:03:55 pm by rafale77 »
openLuup (79 devices, 141 scenes, 19 apps) master to VeraPlus (142 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 221 devices,  20 scenes , 2 apps) +  Hubitat (15 Zigbee nodes) + Home-Assistant (API Integrations). Bridged to Siri and Alexa. Homewave. VeraPlus ExtRooted and mios server independent.

Offline rafale77

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1741
  • Karma: +101/-27
  • HA ≠ IoT as a blue sky is cloudless.
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #854 on: January 25, 2019, 01:39:03 pm »
Updated the plugin to 2.12.
Only change is the addition of a retry loop to improve on the server reliability issues.
openLuup (79 devices, 141 scenes, 19 apps) master to VeraPlus (142 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 221 devices,  20 scenes , 2 apps) +  Hubitat (15 Zigbee nodes) + Home-Assistant (API Integrations). Bridged to Siri and Alexa. Homewave. VeraPlus ExtRooted and mios server independent.