We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: GE 45600 Remote Problems, Buttons Cause Multiple Scenes  (Read 9750 times)

Offline xlurkr

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: GE 45600 Remote Problems, Buttons Cause Multiple Scenes
« Reply #15 on: July 20, 2013, 07:35:44 pm »
I know I'm a little late to the party, but I bought a bunch of these remotes a few months ago and am just now getting around to trying them.

Of course, I'm seeing the same problem everyone else is.  It seems to me, though, that all we ought to have to do is to have each scene run some luup code. It would set a global variable to be equal to the button #, sleep for a while, then check the global again.  If it hasn't changed, return true.  If it has changed, return false.  This should work if the first scene Vera tries to execute is the wrong one.

I've tried this, and it doesn't work the way I coded it, which looks like this:

GERemote = 1
luup.sleep(200)
if (GERemote == 1) then
return true
else
return false
end

I have one for every scene, with the number changed to reflect the correct button #.

I think that's probably because my code, executed as luup code in a scene, doesn't create a persistent global variable.  Any experts care to comment, set me straight, fix it, etc?

-Tom

Offline beachboync

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: GE 45600 Remote Problems, Buttons Cause Multiple Scenes
« Reply #16 on: July 20, 2013, 08:55:37 pm »
Hi xlurkr, I am still rolling your idea around in my mind. Seems like a lot of churn. Will get back...

Bob
Bob (beachboync)

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: GE 45600 Remote Problems, Buttons Cause Multiple Scenes
« Reply #17 on: July 20, 2013, 09:23:51 pm »
apps > develop apps > Edit Startup Lua you can set variable globally
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline xlurkr

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: GE 45600 Remote Problems, Buttons Cause Multiple Scenes
« Reply #18 on: July 21, 2013, 02:01:03 am »
Da_JoJo:

Thanks, that did allow me to declare the variable global.  However, this still doesn't work.

I've been experimenting a bit, and it seems that whatever sleep delay I put into the phantom 1st scene, the 2nd real scene gets delayed by the same amount.  I was assuming that they ran simultaneously, but with a time lag, because that seems to be the behavior without the Luup code.  I'll keep trying.

-Tom

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: GE 45600 Remote Problems, Buttons Cause Multiple Scenes
« Reply #19 on: July 21, 2013, 05:42:00 am »
perhaps if you use PLEG and make a trigger for 6 and 9 ? http://apps.mios.com/all-reviews.php?id=3066&page=2
like trigger : button 6   condition : pressedbutton (6 and 9)  action: run scene
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline xlurkr

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: GE 45600 Remote Problems, Buttons Cause Multiple Scenes
« Reply #20 on: July 22, 2013, 12:44:50 pm »
Da_JoJo:

I read up on PLEG, and it looks promising.  However, I can't install it.  Attempting to results in this error:

Installation failed, reason: to install plugin.

Then I read that you need to install virtual switch and the core logic apps first.  Is that true?  Anyway, when I try to install the virtual switch, it installs something called Samsungusing633 instead!  It says it's version 0.5, plugin #1408.

I think my Vera is confused.  It's a Vera 1 running UI4 1.1.1388.  I'd appreciate any help you can give me.

-Tom

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: GE 45600 Remote Problems, Buttons Cause Multiple Scenes
« Reply #21 on: July 22, 2013, 09:06:24 pm »
so you are tied to UI4 as far as i know.. i think it needs some stuff from UI5 to work , have to ask richard. see here to ask : http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,14447.0.html
just core plugin and pleg is enough
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline Fryswatter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: GE 45600 Remote Problems, Buttons Cause Multiple Scenes
« Reply #22 on: April 08, 2014, 11:10:20 pm »
You can get it to work a bit, but you have to be careful. You have to find the right buttons. For example, my button 6 also triggers 9 - you have to find the pairs (good, false) and set the triggers to where the false action does nothing, and therefore there is no action to cause a problem.

I was able to get my nightstand remote to work in this mode, and that is the only place I really need it because I don't have my cell phone active when I go to bed.

The other remotes I set up for my wife, etc. have been taken out of service and are sitting on my desk here awaiting some new news.

oTi@: did what you asked and reply sent in PM


Bob

There are a lot of factors at play when it comes to secondary control...but I have to agree with you. I spent 6 hours troubleshooting the 45600 and have come to the conclusion that it is junk. You have to ask yourself, why would it be so cheap to buy. That would be because they did not put a lot of effort nor spend a lot of money in design. I had the controller working just fine several months ago, and now it is doing exactly as you previously described when 2 button presses are acknowledged upon 1 button press. I'm at my end with it. There are many other options out there for example Logitech harmony series and so on. >:( :-X

Offline Dignan17

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: GE 45600 Remote Problems, Buttons Cause Multiple Scenes
« Reply #23 on: April 24, 2014, 08:05:59 pm »
I spent 6 hours troubleshooting the 45600 and have come to the conclusion that it is junk. You have to ask yourself, why would it be so cheap to buy. That would be because they did not put a lot of effort nor spend a lot of money in design.
I don't think that is the case at all. If anything, I find most ZWave stuff to be absurdly expensive, considering the build quality of most of the stuff out there. I suspect the problem is that either GE or Vera is improperly handling things.

When my first ZWave network consisted of nothing but GE remotes, switches, and modules, I had a rock solid network that ALWAYS behaved properly. It worked PERFECTLY. It just didn't have all the features I wanted. So I moved to Vera and now the 45600 remotes are terrible and the 45601's barely work.

My biggest question is: why are these kinds of controllers so rare? Why are the extremely basic ones that are on the market so dang expensive and yet still built like crap (Aeotec Minimote)?

Offline Fryswatter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: GE 45600 Remote Problems, Buttons Cause Multiple Scenes
« Reply #24 on: April 24, 2014, 08:18:09 pm »
I spent 6 hours troubleshooting the 45600 and have come to the conclusion that it is junk. You have to ask yourself, why would it be so cheap to buy. That would be because they did not put a lot of effort nor spend a lot of money in design.
I don't think that is the case at all. If anything, I find most ZWave stuff to be absurdly expensive, considering the build quality of most of the stuff out there. I suspect the problem is that either GE or Vera is improperly handling things.

When my first ZWave network consisted of nothing but GE remotes, switches, and modules, I had a rock solid network that ALWAYS behaved properly. It worked PERFECTLY. It just didn't have all the features I wanted. So I moved to Vera and now the 45600 remotes are terrible and the 45601's barely work.

My biggest question is: why are these kinds of controllers so rare? Why are the extremely basic ones that are on the market so dang expensive and yet still built like crap (Aeotec Minimote)?
Read my post more thoroughly, as I said it has to do with the secondary control functions within the embedded firmware of the Vera controller. But what I was stating about the GE remote, you're right, it works perfectly when it is the primary.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2014, 08:32:50 pm by Fryswatter »

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: GE 45600 Remote Problems, Buttons Cause Multiple Scenes
« Reply #25 on: May 01, 2014, 11:43:57 am »
As posted earlier on this thread, there is an analysis, and a (possible) workaround is available from @beachboync, through PM.
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline sgpiggott

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: GE 45600 Remote Problems, Buttons Cause Multiple Scenes
« Reply #26 on: May 22, 2014, 11:00:56 pm »
I too have been playing with the GE45600, creating 9 scenes and 9 virtual switches. Mine behaves "slightly" differently in that buttons 1,2,3,4,5,6,8,9 will trigger scene one as well as the button numbered scene. And, button 7 will trigger scene 2 and scene 7. So.. If I set buttons 3 thru 9 to trigger scene 3 thru 9 corresponding to the button pressed and if I set each scene trigger to toggle, I have a (sort of ) working on/off remote, just can't use buttons 1 and 2.  Just wanted to offer that up in case anyone is still trying to get this thing to work.
Thanks, Steve.