We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW  (Read 40128 times)

Offline perpro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW
« Reply #15 on: June 02, 2013, 05:29:23 pm »
Thanks for all the info. I am evaluating one switch for now. It is connected to an outside lamp. (Just first switch connected.) I would like to have the outside lamp to automatically switch on/off at sunset/rise. I have that figured out. However, I would like to play around with the switch to turn on/off other devices or to execute a scene without controlling the relay/outside lamp...

When playing around with "group id 1", it always add itself to the group, which means that the switch will turn on/off the relay.

So, it there anything I can do?

Offline SOlivas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 282
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW
« Reply #16 on: June 27, 2013, 03:12:11 am »
I ran across this site today looking up this switch.  Unless the site is wrong, it appears that there is a US compatible version of this switch (switch from Spanish to English to read):

http://zwavedo.com/FIB_FGS_221

It is the Dominican republic version of this site.  (you can also find this site in at least one S. American Country as well, branded for that locale)

Unless there is a typo, the frequency used states 908 Mhz.

Here is what the site says:

 Radio controlled Fibaro Double On/Off Relay Switch is designed to be installed in standard wall switch boxes, or anywhere else where it is necessary to operate two independent devices of 1,5kW combined power output. Fibaro Double On/Off Relay Switch can switch on or off connected devices either through radio waves or through the wall switch connected directly to it.
Product Highlights:
 
? Controlled through other Fibaro devices or any Z-Wave controller,

? Microprocessor controlled,

? Our ON/OFF Relay Switch is the smallest device of the type in the World!
 
Technical Data:
 
? Power Source 110V - 230V +/-10% 50/60Hz, ? Max. single AC output: 8A / 230V 50/60Hz,
? Max. single DC output: 8A / 30V,
? Max. combined power output (resistive loads only) - 2 x 1,5 kW (in case of loads other than resistive it may be necessary to connect lower output in order to protect the Switch from damage),
? Conforms to UE requlations:EN55022 (radio wave interference), EN61000-6 (safety of use),
? Overheating protection: safety off at 105?C
,
? Ambient temperature: 10oC - 40oC,

? To be mounted in standard wall switch boxes fi ≥50mm,
? Radio protocol: Z-Wave,


* ? Radio Frequency 908 MHz,

? Antenna range: up to ca. 50 meters outdoor, or up to 30 meters inside (depends on building structure),
? Outside dimmensions (L x W x H) 42mm x 36mm x 15mm.


Anyone willing to try getting one to see if it works?
« Last Edit: June 27, 2013, 09:40:41 am by olivas »
Vera 3 (1.5.622) / 9x GE/Jasco 45609 / 2x GE/Jasco 45612 / 2x GE/Jasco 45614 / 1x MIMO Lite
1x Twine (http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,15617.0.html), DSC Security System, Honeywell  YTH8320ZW1007 Thermostat, 1x Fortrezz WWA-01, 1x CA9000 Wireless PIR Sensor

Offline Crismaison

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW
« Reply #17 on: June 27, 2013, 08:54:55 am »
What I never have figured out, do you need an additional wire from the Electricity cabinet? Does anyone have a clear picture with the central wires to the switch, to the FGS221 and the light bulb?
Vera lite - Everspring smoke & flood detectors - Fibaro doorsensors - 2 Foscams - Greenwave 6 node smartplug - Several Switches -Netatmo - PLEG - Twilio - DropBoxuploader - FindmyIphone user

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW
« Reply #18 on: June 27, 2013, 07:32:52 pm »
from mains cabinet to fibaro you need a live wire and a neutral thats all
light Live wire attached to output 1 or 2 of the fibaro and neutral wire from light goes to neutral on the fibaro/mains
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline The Guide

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW
« Reply #19 on: July 08, 2013, 07:44:22 am »
... which means that the switch will turn on/off the relay.

I have the same question. Normaly, the switch input is controlling the relay. In some situations this is nice, but in a particular case I need to read the switch status (have the module report changes to Vera Lite controller) and control the relay from my Vera Lite controller. I don't want the switch-input to have any direct influence on the relay status. Is that possible?

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW
« Reply #20 on: July 08, 2013, 07:48:45 am »
i dont think so as key input 1 & 2 are controlling the relais.
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW
« Reply #21 on: July 08, 2013, 08:07:57 am »
What I never have figured out, do you need an additional wire from the Electricity cabinet? Does anyone have a clear picture with the central wires to the switch, to the FGS221 and the light bulb?

i have connected it to my dooropener hence the picture of it. i have put some arrows and text so you can see how it should be connected. the red part of the brown wire should not connect to the other brown wire.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2013, 08:16:08 am by Da_JoJo »
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline Thorden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: +11/-5
Re: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW
« Reply #22 on: December 09, 2013, 03:48:32 pm »
Is there any way both switches can control the same load? I can't seem to make it work, seems it doesn't accept the parent device as an association in either group.

Scenario:
2 switches; S1 to control the load on O1, S2 to control several remote loads plus the one on O1 in a "all on/off" scenario.
Result: All other loads associated to group 2 is controlled fine by S2, but not the load on O1. The master device # is of course in group 2.

I could of course use a scene to control this, but is has a major drawback. Some of the other loads are dimmable, so they would always come back to 100%, (or whatever level I choose) this way. I want them to come back at same level they were before. By putting them in an association group, I achieve this.

Thanks!
 

Offline RexBeckett

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3891
  • Karma: +483/-12
Re: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW
« Reply #23 on: December 10, 2013, 03:23:55 am »
I don't believe this can be done. The S1 and S2 relays are not separate Z-Wave devices - they are channels in a single multi-channel device. I don't think there is a way to associate one channel with another.

Offline Thorden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: +11/-5
Re: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW
« Reply #24 on: December 10, 2013, 04:17:05 am »
Thanks, I guess you are right. I solved it with scenes. Not perfect due to a slight delay and minor hickups, but ok.

Scene 1 - Off triggered by physical switch S2: saves current load levels for all dimmers in variable container, turns off non-dimmable load connected to O1. (Other loads turned off by associations)
Scene 2 - Off triggered by virtual switch: saves current load levels for all dimmers in variable container, turns off all loads
Scene 3 - On triggered by physical switch S2: turns on load connected to O1 (other loads turned on by associations and will automatically get last load level)
Scene 4 - On triggered by virtual switch: Reads last load level for all dimmers from variable container, sets loads to this level and turns on O1 load.

Guess I had to go this route anyway, as long as I wanted to use a virtual switch as a part of the equation. Wasn't my original plan, but very practical. :-)

Offline RexBeckett

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3891
  • Karma: +483/-12
Re: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW
« Reply #25 on: December 10, 2013, 05:34:25 am »
Have you tried turning off your dimmers using the on/off command rather than setting the dim level to zero? If you do this they should remember their last dim level themselves.

You can do this from a scene under the Advanced tab. The service is urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1 and the action is SetTarget newTarget=<0 or 1>

Offline Thorden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: +11/-5
Re: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW
« Reply #26 on: December 10, 2013, 05:44:35 am »
Wow, I wasn't aware of that option, thanks!
I kind of assumed that turning a dimmer switch "on" in a scene did exactly that, not that it set dim level to 100% instead.
Will check this out, good tip!

Offline Thorden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: +11/-5
Re: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW
« Reply #27 on: December 10, 2013, 08:13:42 am »
Have you tried turning off your dimmers using the on/off command rather than setting the dim level to zero? If you do this they should remember their last dim level themselves.

You can do this from a scene under the Advanced tab. The service is urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1 and the action is SetTarget newTarget=<0 or 1>

Sorry, that doesn't work. Result is the same as using on/off switch. Seems it just sets the LoadLevelTarget to 0% or 100% respectively.
Tried the Toggle command too, same thing.
Could it be that the OnEffect and OnEffectLevel parameters are not implemented, either in the dimmer or in Vera? The functionality is for sure implemented in the dimmer, it works fine when operated by physical switch.


Offline Frode

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW
« Reply #28 on: December 10, 2013, 04:02:46 pm »
Is there anyway i can make the Input S1 or S2 do not control the output O1 or O2. Say i just want to use the S1 for a sensor Input sending me an Alert, without doing anything with the relay output?

Regards

Offline Thorden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: +11/-5
Re: Fibaro FGS221 2x1,5kW
« Reply #29 on: December 10, 2013, 04:45:50 pm »
Interesting question, I am looking to do a similar thing with sensor input to arm the alarm from the door lock. 
Would the sensor input be DC in your scenario? If so, I don't believe it would work. The switches need to be AC connected to the Live wire, but the load can be DC as long as you provide DC on the I terminal.

If your input is AC, it should't be an issue. Just connect L and N terminals, and the S1 and/or S2 from L. It would operate the internal switch, but not provide any output to the O1 and O2.

Of course, you can't have anything else on the O terminals in this scenario, so "without doing anything with the relay output" doesn't work.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2013, 04:49:39 pm by Thorden »