We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)  (Read 11865 times)

Offline ansandro

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)
« on: May 05, 2013, 06:27:10 pm »
I understand that there is an alternative for (dual) rs-232/usb serial adapter to connect the Powermax Pro and Vera. This would be an TTL USB cable with ftdi chipset like this one on http://www.ftdichip.com/Products/Cables/USBTTLSerial.htm or this one on eBay http://www.ebay.nl/itm/USB-to-TTL-Serial-Cable-FTDI-chipset-6-Way-FTDI-TTL-232R-3V3-Cable-/221215028331?pt=UK_Computing_Parallel_Serial_PS_2&hash=item338171746b#ht_1202wt_689.

Can someone confirm if this works (well)? And if so explain how to connect the cable?
Does it replace the spot of the dual rs232? Maybe some pics? I own the PM Pro Partition.

Thanks in advance!

Offline nlrb

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 444
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2013, 01:01:11 am »
Have a look at this topic at domoticaforum.eu. It has a description including pictures. I use this connection myself as well.

Offline ansandro

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2013, 03:29:42 pm »
Thanks for the quick reply. I'm not so technical and tried to understand the options on the domotica forum. Could you please help me understand what to buy? Some ebay links on the forum are not valid anymore. I hope for plug and play. On some picture.I see a cable with 3 wires for the powermax plug?

Offline nlrb

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 444
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2013, 02:42:48 pm »
I've used  this one myself (you will need to make a connector), but this one also looks good (includes the wires, so easier). The one on the photo does not seem to be offered anymore, but the end result should be similar.

You should indeed only connect 3 wires (GND, TX, RX). Make sure it handles 3.3V levels.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2013, 02:48:37 pm by nlrb »

Offline ansandro

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2013, 05:30:32 pm »
Thanks for pic! Do you have solder the wires on to the powermax pcb? Is there no TTL plug that plugs into the plugin where normally the rs232 plugs in or something other easy solution? I can't see on the pic how and where to the wires are attached. Sorry for my technical ignorance...

Offline nlrb

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 444
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2013, 03:12:35 pm »
@ansandro: you do need to be willing to experiment a bit if you go for this solution. There is no standard cable available. If you want an out-of-the-box solution, then use the Visonic RS232 kit. You can make the cable without soldering, just put the 1-pin Dupont connectors on the right pins of the IP interface.

Offline packhawk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2013, 03:25:27 pm »
trying this route.  usb installed but no option on panel to enroll powerlink under user settings.

 ???

Offline nlrb

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 444
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2013, 03:31:28 pm »
If you have a PowerMax Pro with partitions then it will auto-enroll. So you don't have to/can't enroll manually and the option won't be in the menu indeed.

Offline packhawk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)
« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2013, 04:43:04 pm »
That's what I thought.  I don't have but the single partition. Does it matter which ground I connect to?  Currently in the top row.


Offline nlrb

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 444
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2013, 04:53:30 pm »
No, GND is GND, it doesn't matter which one you connect to. Is there any communication? Are you using a 3.3V TTL->USB?

Offline packhawk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2013, 07:40:31 pm »
Same as on the plink2. Getting an unknown status.  Trying to avoid standard mode
, I'll take a screen shot
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&id=190851269141

Offline packhawk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2013, 09:36:41 pm »
few screen shots.  going to program my zones and on the plink2 that actually worked.

Offline nlrb

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 444
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)
« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2013, 01:10:01 am »
Looks like no communication - everything is on default. Is there a powermax_pdu.txt file? Turn debug on first to generate the file.

Offline packhawk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)
« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2013, 09:14:56 am »
laptop died last night so figured it was time to stop   ::)

But it is just odd, this is the same thing that was happening with the plink2 

Offline packhawk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: TTL USB cable interface Powermax Pro & Vera(lite)
« Reply #14 on: June 17, 2013, 02:09:59 pm »
I have just pulled the logs for this beast.  Is there something specific i need to check for connectivity issues?