We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Bug in Scene triggers on "Brightness reached"?  (Read 2322 times)

Offline Thorden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: +11/-5
Bug in Scene triggers on "Brightness reached"?
« on: November 07, 2012, 04:14:51 pm »
Hi,

I have a strange behaviour when trying to use the "Brightness reached" event trigger on a a light sensor device in a scene.

In the trigger definition, I have to specify a "comparrison" (two "r"'s?) value in the GUI, which makes sense. The operators to chose from is < or >.
Which leads me to believe that if I specify ">5", the scene will trigger whenever the light sensor value exceeds 5.

Well, it doesn't.

For instance, I specified the scene to trigger at light sensor values >6.
It does not run even if the sensor value is 100. Not even if it goes from 0 to 100.
To debug, I asked for a notification on the event. I then get a bunch of e-mails saying:

MiOS Trigger

Your trigger "Over 6" occured.

The originating device ID:18 _Light Sensor in room:

The ID is: 405141833
Code: CurrentLevel Value:5


So:
1) Why do I get a notification saying 5 is greater than 6?
2) Why doesn't the scene run when the value indeed gets higher than 6?

I have a similar scene set to trigger when the brightness value goes below 6. It works fine. So it seems like it's only the ">" operator that is malfunctioning.

HW: VeraLite
FW: 1.5.408
« Last Edit: November 07, 2012, 04:17:20 pm by Thorden »

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Bug in Scene triggers on "Brightness reached"?
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2012, 10:32:13 am »
It appears the '>' event actually behaves like '<'.

[...] "comparrison" (two "r"'s?) [...]
Yup, traditionally not an easy one for MCV; in the event code they have comparisson. ::)
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Bug in Scene triggers on "Brightness reached"?
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2012, 12:46:49 pm »
@Thorden,

If up for it, give the following a try:
- Upload the attached file to Vera (Apps > Develop Apps > Luup files , Choose file , check Restart Luup after upload , Go)
- Create scenes based on the now-separate '>' and '<' events. (Possibly modifying the existing scenes works by deleting the triggers and adding new ones. Might be safer to just delete existing scenes, then create new ones.)
- Test and report how it went.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2013, 11:14:03 am by oTi@ »
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline jackpot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Bug in Scene triggers on "Brightness reached"?
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2012, 06:35:18 pm »
Has anyone confirmed that the patch supplied by @oTi works or not ? I would like to use the '>' as a scene trigger. Or maybe the up coming firmware upgrade for U5 might include a fix ??

thanks
Vera 3....1.5.622

Offline Jackpost

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Bug in Scene triggers on "Brightness reached"?
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2012, 03:56:22 pm »
The patch seems to work for me. After uploading the json (Vera 3 @ firmware 1.5.532), the choice for < or > has been replaced with a pull down menu with following options;
"Brightness goes above" and "Brightness goes below" the value specified.
Applied to my low light level scene the trigger seems to work fine when the light level goes below the specified value.

Offline jackpot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Bug in Scene triggers on "Brightness reached"?
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2012, 05:24:37 pm »
"The patch seems to work for me. After uploading the json (Vera 3 @ firmware 1.5.532)"

So I would have to be on firmware .532 to make the patch work , or will it work on .408 ?
Just don't want to mess things up !
Vera 3....1.5.622

Offline dbruckert

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Bug in Scene triggers on "Brightness reached"?
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2013, 06:26:56 pm »
  The patch works also fine for me using aeon 4 in 1 sensor (I had the same problem) on .532
Thanks a lot for the patch!

Offline musca76

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Bug in Scene triggers on "Brightness reached"?
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2014, 05:21:00 pm »
Yeep . Works like a charm. aeon 4in1 sensor