Author Topic: aeotec motor controller dangerous technical issue?  (Read 1523 times)

Offline zforce

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
aeotec motor controller dangerous technical issue?
« on: June 09, 2013, 07:29:30 pm »
Hello

I took apart the motor controller from Aeon Labs and found that they use two relays for controlling the motors instead of one, there does not seem to be any sort of interlock between the two relays either. I managed to make the logic fault and found it is possible to make the unit activate both the up and down windings of the motor at the same time. I was able to do this by sending commands from the vera 3 and using the manual switch contacts on the unit. It didn't happen all the time but it happened with enough frequency that I am concerned about it.

Could someone else possibly test their unit to see if they can reproduce it?

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1382
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
    • House Of Yu
Re: aeotec motor controller dangerous technical issue?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2013, 07:37:17 pm »
i dont have one . but if this really the case then it could cause fire as the windings get overloaded and heat up . it probably has a overload protection, have you checked this ?
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline zforce

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: aeotec motor controller dangerous technical issue?
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2013, 10:44:19 pm »
From the diagrams I've seen, there is a thermal overload in the motor itself, but being that it is self resetting, I doubt it will be much use. I think I'm going to err on the side of caution and pull the Aeotec unit out tonight when I get home.

Offline zwavemotors

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
  • Karma: +0/-2
Re: aeotec motor controller dangerous technical issue?
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2013, 10:42:26 am »

Re: AEON In Wall Motor Controller (AUS) - Projector Screen
? Reply #1 on: February 12, 2013, 05:46:57 am ?
QuoteModifyRemove
First version of the Aeon motor controller would power the motor in both direction when you tried the stop function, and burning the motor if you did not notice the problem.
The new ones should be OK.
We manufacture a whole range of tubular motors with Z-Wave built-in. Contact us: info@zwavemotors.com

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1382
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
    • House Of Yu
Re: aeotec motor controller dangerous technical issue?
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2013, 07:43:24 pm »
and exactly how would promoting ur zwavemotors help zforce with his question and problem ?
zforce you could try contact the aeotec company and ask them to replace the unit for a newer type , since the one you have clearly has a factory-fault and should be legible for a RMA/exchange for the device ur having.
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl