We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Fibaro dimmer and S2 button as scene controller  (Read 22366 times)

Offline dalhoj

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +2/-0
Fibaro dimmer and S2 button as scene controller
« on: July 29, 2013, 09:05:57 am »
Hi there

I just bought i VeraLite and among other things a fibaro dimmer.

It all works fine, but I dont know if it possible to use a switch for low power with the dimmer, as S1 and S2?

And if it is possible to assign a scene to S2

I hope it makes sens.

Kind Regards
Jens
« Last Edit: August 04, 2013, 04:43:15 pm by dalhoj »

Offline RexBeckett

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3891
  • Karma: +483/-12
Re: Fibaro dimmer and low power switch
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2013, 01:11:16 pm »
The current drawn by S1 and S2 is very low so you can use a low-power switch - provided it is rated for your line voltage (115 or 230V).

Yes you can trigger scenes from the FGD211. You need to set configuration variable 41 to "1".

Offline dalhoj

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Fibaro dimmer and low power switch
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2013, 02:15:16 pm »
Thx for the reply.

The switch is 24V rated so this will not work :-(

I need a little more help regarding assigning a scene to button S2. I have set parameter 41 to "1 byte dec" "1"

And then what? Where do i assign the scene no. to the button?

Regards Jens

Offline RexBeckett

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3891
  • Karma: +483/-12
Re: Fibaro dimmer and low power switch
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2013, 03:56:35 pm »
Has Vera created a Scene Controller device for your dimmer? This would have a device ID three higher than that of the parent dimmer device and is probably named _Scene Controller.

You should be able to select that as a trigger source for a scene in Automation, New scene, TRIGGERS. The scene number that will be triggered is complex - it depends on what type of switch (momentary or on/off) you are using and the settings of config. variables 14, 15 and 19. I suggest you read the data sheet to determine your situation.

Offline dalhoj

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Fibaro dimmer and low power switch
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2013, 05:44:11 pm »
Hi again

it true I now have a 2_scene_controler in the triggers. but it does not show up in "all devices" not even under "no room"

I have both the no. 14, 15 and 19. parameter as default so I believe it has to be id 26 as a one click for S2.

Now I just have to get home to confirm it.

Thanks.

Jens



Offline dalhoj

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Fibaro dimmer and low power switch
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2013, 11:00:58 am »
Hi

I have now been home testing and it doesn't seem to work.

It looks like the scene controller is not the right one. The one i have is ID 2 and i think its one there is there by default.

The dimmer has ID 26.

I set the proberty 41 to 1 but the new scene controller dont show up under No room, how do i get the new scene controller to apear?

jens

Offline chixxi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1036
  • Karma: +37/-14
Re: Fibaro dimmer and S2 button as scene controller
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2013, 03:21:34 am »
@RexBeckett:

I also tried this, and I was not successfull. No SceneController gets created, I don't see any when setting the parameter 14 (not 41 if I am right!) to 1. Would you mind quickly describing step by step how ou achieved this?
Developer of Plugins: Virtual Switch, Variable Container, Popcorn Hour Remote, Vacation Ghost. => PLUGINS HAVE BEEN UNPUBLISHED BY ME.

Offline RexBeckett

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3891
  • Karma: +483/-12
Re: Fibaro dimmer and S2 button as scene controller
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2013, 04:13:48 am »
To be honest, I have no idea how/why I got SceneControllers for some (not all) my Fibaro modules. MCV has also not been able to figure it out. I'm not actually using them and have hidden them.

I trigger scenes by just using the status of the S2 switch as with any other switch.   

It is parameter 41 for setting the scene functionality on an FGD211. Parameter 14 sets the type of switch being used.

Offline chixxi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1036
  • Karma: +37/-14
Re: Fibaro dimmer and S2 button as scene controller
« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2013, 04:37:47 am »
OK, I don't have any parameter 41, it fails if I try to set or monitor it.

I guess that is because my dimmers are to old (Version 1.4), in the manual for version 1.4-1.8 there is no parameter 41:
http://materialy.fibaro.com/instrukcje/dimmer%20FGD211%20v14%20-%20v18%20ENG.pdf

Which version do you have?

Can you explain this "I trigger scenes by just using the status of the S2 switch as with any other switch."?
Developer of Plugins: Virtual Switch, Variable Container, Popcorn Hour Remote, Vacation Ghost. => PLUGINS HAVE BEEN UNPUBLISHED BY ME.

Offline RexBeckett

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3891
  • Karma: +483/-12
Re: Fibaro dimmer and S2 button as scene controller
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2013, 02:46:43 pm »
The latest version of FGD211 is 2.2 but I think parameter 41 appeared at v1.9.

Vera usually includes an additional device for each Fibaro switch or dimmer. It usually has a device ID two higher than the main device and reflects the state of the S2 input. Recent Fibaro versions (>2.0?) give instant-update for this. Older versions had to wait for the next poll. You can use the state of this device to trigger a scene or PLEG input.

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Fibaro dimmer and S2 button as scene controller
« Reply #10 on: September 05, 2013, 12:10:02 am »
parameter 41 indeed appeared on version v1.9 and higher. you can see the version number your device has on the advanced tab of the device. look at versioninfo , the last number is the current firmware on it.
i have been puzzeling to get it to a higher version but it doesnt seem to work. it requires a (zip) firmware file send using the z-wave 'COMMAND_CLASS_FIRMWARE_UPDATE_MD' and only works from v2.x versions and up of the devices firmware.
if you happen to have a v1.9 or higher firmware you can use the scene-controller parameter 41 to 1 to activate it and this will create a scenecontroller on vera for the device which you can set to be able to use 3 scenes for s1 and 3 for s2. it wont work using s1 as switch and s2 as scenecontroller. to be able to use s2 on older firmware versions of fibaro device you would set parameter 7 to 0 and make a group ID 2 under device options and add the device you want to turn on/off in that group. this device chosen can then be setup as trigger for a scene in case you want this.
edit: tried on my fibaro binary sensor.. doesnt seem to create a scenecontroller anymore on latest vera firmware 622 :-s  seems vera is missing this functionality all of a sudden. up till now i also didnt see a 2nd device created for the s2 input. probably me... also this strange move of taking the e1 from the duo-switch i dont get. dont get mcv sometimes. why not remove the e1 from rgbw controller and the main device for the binary switch. perhaps someone can explain me what i missed ?
edit2: after some reading elswhere it seems the s2 functionality breaks the normal usage for s1 contact. till v2.1 it seems not to work correctly. therefor i advice not to use it to avoid trouble.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2013, 01:24:31 am by Da_JoJo »
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline chixxi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1036
  • Karma: +37/-14
Re: Fibaro dimmer and S2 button as scene controller
« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2013, 08:42:49 am »
Has anyone figured this out?

I can confirm that paramter 41 is only available in dimmers which have version 1.9, as for the moment I don't have any newer ones. But so far no scene controller has been created on my vera.

What I basically would like to achieve is to disconnect the switch from the light itself, meaning that I could freely use the switch to do whatever I wish by using logic on the vera.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2013, 08:58:25 am by chixxi »
Developer of Plugins: Virtual Switch, Variable Container, Popcorn Hour Remote, Vacation Ghost. => PLUGINS HAVE BEEN UNPUBLISHED BY ME.

Offline DragonVera

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro dimmer and S2 button as scene controller
« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2013, 01:18:18 am »
I too would like to use s2 as a scene controller. The version in settings says "3,3,42,1,7" Does this mean I have version 1.7 firmware?

Offline chixxi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1036
  • Karma: +37/-14
Re: Fibaro dimmer and S2 button as scene controller
« Reply #13 on: November 04, 2013, 01:51:33 am »
Yes this does mean you have a version 1.7.

However, so far this scene controlling stuff is not working yet. I have a ticket open at MCV and we are trying to figure this out. I will let you know if there is any progress...
Developer of Plugins: Virtual Switch, Variable Container, Popcorn Hour Remote, Vacation Ghost. => PLUGINS HAVE BEEN UNPUBLISHED BY ME.

Offline DragonVera

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro dimmer and S2 button as scene controller
« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2013, 02:43:59 am »
Yes this does mean you have a version 1.7.

However, so far this scene controlling stuff is not working yet. I have a ticket open at MCV and we are trying to figure this out. I will let you know if there is any progress...

Thanks for the info chixxi, that is disappointing. I would very much appreciate it if you could keep me updated.  :)