We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: ecobee plugin motion sensor  (Read 587 times)

Offline lvandeusenii

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
ecobee plugin motion sensor
« on: January 25, 2018, 09:07:50 am »
can anyone confirm.   when you add the ecobee plugin in addition to the thermostat temp sensor, and humidity sensor, does the plugin also add a motion sensor object?


Offline prophead

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +6/-3
Re: ecobee plugin motion sensor
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2018, 10:01:09 am »
It's a "presence sensor" which from my experience means it's a really bad motion detector.  Spend the $30 for a real ecolink motion sensor which uses IR.  I tried using the ecobee's sensors for this purpose initially but gave up on it right away. 
|-<:)

can anyone confirm.   when you add the ecobee plugin in addition to the thermostat temp sensor, and humidity sensor, does the plugin also add a motion sensor object?

Offline lvandeusenii

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ecobee plugin motion sensor
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2018, 03:38:05 pm »
no i would agree.  i just want to confirm because i have two motion sensor's that showed under devices and before i deleted them i wanted to confirm where these devices had been defined.  the reason i wasn't sure was because i had to do a restore and backup because of issues with the last upgrade i did.