We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Repeated notifications on Trigger  (Read 2606 times)

Offline agold

Repeated notifications on Trigger
« on: September 02, 2013, 09:57:51 pm »
Newbie here.  I replaced my homeseer trial with a Vera Lite.  I've integrated it with my Caddx NX-8E.  With HS I was able to monitor when a door was opened or closed no matter the armed state.

I set up a scene to watch for the door sensor to be tripped, and I have a custom Luup script to send an email.  The issue is that I get repeated emails for as long as the door is open.

Is there a way to test for a status change from not-tripped to tripped as a condition to sending the notification.

Thanks.

Offline garrettwp

• Master Member
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Repeated notifications on Trigger
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2013, 12:51:51 am »
This would require some luup / lua code in the scene. You might want to have a look at the PLEG Plugin as it might be an easier route than to add code into the scene.

- Garrett

Offline futzle

• Master Member
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2013, 07:52:32 am »
Is there a way to test for a status change from not-tripped to tripped as a condition to sending the notification.

Sure there is. How about you post your existing code so that we can show you the smallest possible change to get what you want? Also how you've integrated it; it sounds like you are running the scene every n minutes.

But first... I would do this by making a scene that is triggered on the sensor becoming tripped, using the built-in Vera scene trigger mechanism. This will fire only when the sensor changes state from Not Tripped to Tripped. The scene's Luup code then performs the notification each time it fires.