Author Topic: First Alert CO/Fire Detector  (Read 92498 times)

Offline clippermiami

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1383
  • Karma: +27/-6
Re: First Alert CO/Fire Detector
« Reply #30 on: October 04, 2013, 07:57:48 am »
Got a reply from Tech Support that they had tweaked my VERA to support my First Alert ZSMOKE. It now identifies itself as a smoke alarm and looks to have all the right settings and notifications. I need to wait until everyone is up and about the house before I can "wake it up" and test it but as of right now it looks like its headed in the right direction :) If this is successful when I get home from an upcoming trip I'll replace all the smoke detectors with ZSMOKE.

On thing it apparently doesn't do (at least it isn't in the list of actions is to allow you to "force" trip the alarms. I think this would be useful; if one goes off, VERA could send a command to trip all of them to make sure the alarm  gets noticed. That's apparently a function of First Alert's other "wireless" product line, one trips it trips all. But it doesn't appear to be in the ZWAVE/IRIS devices --- at least it hasn't shown up in my playing around.

I assume there will be a general update to VERA, can't see them wanting to tweak every unit one-on-one  :o
Two Vera Plus UI7 Linked via HTTP, 90+ Devices. PlugIns: PLEG, DSC, Blue Iris, MySensors,  AutoVera, ImperiHome, VeraAlerts, EventWatcher

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9725
  • Karma: +737/-136
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: First Alert CO/Fire Detector
« Reply #31 on: October 04, 2013, 09:29:27 am »
Are the smoke detectors connected with 3 wires (Black, White, and Red) ?
If so they should talk to each other over the read wire ... You just need one to talk to Vera.


Offline clippermiami

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1383
  • Karma: +27/-6
Re: First Alert CO/Fire Detector
« Reply #32 on: October 04, 2013, 09:48:58 am »
Are the smoke detectors connected with 3 wires (Black, White, and Red) ?
If so they should talk to each other over the read wire ... You just need one to talk to Vera.

No, these are only battery operated, nothing but ZWAVE.

First Alert apparently has a line of wireless detectors that communicate with each other over some radio setup but only among themselves, no central controller or anything. If one trips it sends a signal and they all go off.

But it doesn't LOOK  like they incorporated the ability to remotely trip the alarm into the IRIS/ZWAVE product line --- at least it isn't exposed in the action options for the detector or scene setup.

It looks like there is still work to do because my smoke testing this morning did not result in any notifications or scene triggering
« Last Edit: October 04, 2013, 10:01:20 am by clippermiami »
Two Vera Plus UI7 Linked via HTTP, 90+ Devices. PlugIns: PLEG, DSC, Blue Iris, MySensors,  AutoVera, ImperiHome, VeraAlerts, EventWatcher

Offline clippermiami

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1383
  • Karma: +27/-6
Re: First Alert CO/Fire Detector
« Reply #33 on: October 04, 2013, 09:53:43 am »
I've done some testing since Tech Support tweaked it. after several trys it APPEARS to configure, all the config data shows up in the Settings tab. The first time I did it I got some strange message "Failed Setting Special Associations" whatever thats supposed to mean :) So I power cycled it again and this time it looks like it configured. All the fields in the Settings tab populated.

I was able to create notifications using Vera Alerts for Tripped and Battery Level and I created a scene to turn on a light and send a PushOver message when the detector tripped. But thus far I can't get it to actually do anything. The detector goes off with smoke as expected but there are no notifications sent or lights turned on.

One more smoke test then back to Tech Support :)

[UPDATE] There is a "Toggle State" option in the list of actions, I wonder if that "state" is "armed/disarmed" or "alarm/silent" or something else entirely? Time for some more playing around :)
« Last Edit: October 04, 2013, 10:11:04 am by clippermiami »
Two Vera Plus UI7 Linked via HTTP, 90+ Devices. PlugIns: PLEG, DSC, Blue Iris, MySensors,  AutoVera, ImperiHome, VeraAlerts, EventWatcher

Offline clippermiami

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1383
  • Karma: +27/-6
Re: First Alert CO/Fire Detector
« Reply #34 on: October 07, 2013, 04:24:12 pm »
I had a reply from Tech Support today:

Quote
Hi,

I discussed with one of my colleagues from the development team and we need to investigate it further.

It seems that this smoke sensor uses custom z-wave command classes and we need to add support for them.

As far as I can see from the manual the smoke sensor doesn't send a tripped state when it detects smoke, as it should actually send you an alarm instead.

The alarm is actually a trigger or notification that smoke was detected and it can be used to trigger a scene.

Once my colleagues from the development team fix this issue we should release a new firmware version which should add support for it. I will let you know once it will be available.

Let me know if you have other questions and I will get back to you asap.

Thanks.
Two Vera Plus UI7 Linked via HTTP, 90+ Devices. PlugIns: PLEG, DSC, Blue Iris, MySensors,  AutoVera, ImperiHome, VeraAlerts, EventWatcher

Offline abhinavkhandka

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: First Alert CO/Fire Detector
« Reply #35 on: October 08, 2013, 10:13:40 pm »
Hi,
I am planning to buy ZCOMBO. However waiting to see if any one could get it to work with veralite. Please do post your success story.

Thanks

Abhinav

Offline agoodman82

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 276
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: First Alert CO/Fire Detector
« Reply #36 on: October 08, 2013, 10:42:21 pm »
So as it stands these smoke/CO detectors WILL work with Vera, but only IF MiCasaVerde adds support for them, correct? Sounds very promising though as smoke/CO alarms have been on my wish list for awhile now.

Offline clippermiami

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1383
  • Karma: +27/-6
Re: First Alert CO/Fire Detector
« Reply #37 on: October 09, 2013, 07:38:59 am »
So as it stands these smoke/CO detectors WILL work with Vera, but only IF MiCasaVerde adds support for them, correct? Sounds very promising though as smoke/CO alarms have been on my wish list for awhile now.

A qualified yes. They seem to think that the smoke/CO2 detector uses some extended commands that they don't support right now e.g. an "alarm" instead of a "tripped" indication. They told me that they are looking at it and will incorporate a fix in a Vera firmware update when they resolve the problem. There is no definition of how long that's going to be :)

Currently in Vera you can set actions on "tripped", "Not tripped", battery levels, etc. But so far I have not been able to get it to actually do anything when it detects smoke --- its as if it doesn't actually send the "trip" or Vera doesn't recognize it.

The good news is that the smoke detector still functions as a smoke detector without interfacing Vera so while they are a few $$ more than "dumb" detectors they will still work.  And then when Vera does support it you can make use of the new features.  ::)
Two Vera Plus UI7 Linked via HTTP, 90+ Devices. PlugIns: PLEG, DSC, Blue Iris, MySensors,  AutoVera, ImperiHome, VeraAlerts, EventWatcher

Offline fouclo62

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: First Alert CO/Fire Detector
« Reply #38 on: October 17, 2013, 08:21:59 pm »
I also received my FirstAlert zsmoke device and after a couple of inclusions and resets, (and me manually changing the device_file from some generic AVMISC xml, to D_SmokeSensor1.xml) my veralite was finally recognized my device but like the other guys posted here, it doesn't seem to send a "trip" signal to my veralite when the smoke detector goes off.
Can't wait for MCV to fix the firmware.

Offline agoodman82

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 276
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: First Alert CO/Fire Detector
« Reply #39 on: October 17, 2013, 11:45:33 pm »
Nice! Any updates from MiCasaVerde with the tickets that had been opened on this or would they have to introduce a firmware update for Vera to allow these detectors to be fully integrated properly?
« Last Edit: October 17, 2013, 11:51:10 pm by agoodman82 »

Offline fouclo62

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: First Alert CO/Fire Detector
« Reply #40 on: October 24, 2013, 07:30:53 pm »
Here is the reply I got from the support team:
-----------------------------------------------------
I've checked with our development team and this new sensor is not fully supported at the moment. Unfortunately the sensor doesn?t report it?s state to Vera and therefore notifications are not working either. Our development team will try to fully integrate this sensor with Vera, but I don't have an estimated date. Once I will have any news I will let you know.
I?m very sorry for the inconvenience.
Alex Sescu - support@micasaverde.com
-----------------------------------------------------
So I guess it's up to you all to put a little bit of pressure on MVC so that they support Smoke Detectors in America

Offline fouclo62

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: First Alert CO/Fire Detector
« Reply #41 on: November 07, 2013, 02:17:59 pm »
Vera Support told me I was on a mailing list and I will be notified When they can support the FirstAlert zSmoke detector, but they didn't provide an estimated date

Offline shady

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1328
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: First Alert CO/Fire Detector
« Reply #42 on: November 13, 2013, 06:23:21 pm »
Some people on the Homeseer boards are figuring out some of the communication from the sensor:

http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=162122&page=3
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline jd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: First Alert CO/Fire Detector
« Reply #43 on: November 20, 2013, 02:26:18 pm »
I recently purchased both ZSMOKE and ZCOMBO this week and have arrived last night. Couldn't wait to set them up. Of course I was having the same issues as everyone on this form. I also place a support request regarding this issue after I found the form. Figured more support request they have for this issue they might jump its priority a bit.

The request was submitted on NOV 20, 2013  |  04:19PM PST and received a replay on NOV 20, 2013  |  05:56PM PST  with the following message:

"At the moment the First Alert Smoke sensor can be added on the Vera unit but it won?t work as it uses a a new z-wave command class that?s not yet supported by Vera.
 
Our development team is working on adding support for that and once it?s added we will release a beta firmware which will allow those sensors to work. We do not know an exact date but as soon as possible the new firmware should be released.
You can find the fixes from each firmware version on this page :
http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Release_Notes
 
I?m sorry for the inconvenience this is causing you."

I guess we all just need to wait for this patch to be released.

Offline dbmet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +2/-5
Re: First Alert CO/Fire Detector
« Reply #44 on: December 05, 2013, 12:32:19 pm »
Wish this was working so I could purchase this from lowes.