Author Topic: Feature request: ping sensor support  (Read 1003 times)

Offline AndersH

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +0/-0
Feature request: ping sensor support
« on: November 09, 2013, 01:57:01 am »
I guess the subject says it all. Is there any plans to include the ping sensor in the list of supported plugins?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Vera Lite, SRT321 thermostat, Fibaro door sensors, switches and dimmers

Offline Aaron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1984
  • Karma: +61/-193
Re: Feature request: ping sensor support
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2013, 11:01:13 am »
I'd like this also but not I don't need it directly. Here's my thought in a more versatile way...

This will only work when Garrett enables Widgets with Variable Container or MultiSwitch

Follow me here...

I see value in having a widget for one/multiple items (like Ping Sensor) as to maximize screen space savings.
Thus, we use PLEG to monitor your devices (Ping Sensor, etc) and update a Variable Container and/or MutilSwitch
Then we create a widget for that  Variable Container and/or MutilSwitch (using AutHomation).
We then have a 'Panel' widget(s) on our desktop with one or more items we can have for status and/or control.

... This is my plan for the a 'Home Security Control Panel'

Offline kyb2012

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Feature request: ping sensor support
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2014, 12:48:32 pm »
Hi Garrett,
I know that thus a little old and you probably have a backlog of enhancements, but it would be great if the ping sensor could show up like a motion sensor in Authomation.
Could I do this easily by changing the device type properties for the ping sensor?

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5585
  • Karma: +152/-368
Re: Feature request: ping sensor support
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2014, 01:32:26 pm »
Hi Garrett,
I know that thus a little old and you probably have a backlog of enhancements, but it would be great if the ping sensor could show up like a motion sensor in Authomation.
Could I do this easily by changing the device type properties for the ping sensor?

I'm also interested in this.