Author Topic: UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?  (Read 7880 times)

Offline bluman

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +1/-0
UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?
« on: November 18, 2013, 05:51:00 am »
Hi there,

I'm using the SQ Blaster with the Vera Lite and have to say I'm pretty happy with it. It's not that easy to get going, however, once understood it isn't that hard to program.

I'm using discrete UEI codes in the advanced settings of my scene to control my Sony Bravia 40NX720 and need to know the codes for HDMI 1 through to 4. I've worked out the other codes for power on/off, power toggle, component video select etc... I just can't find the HDMI codes in UEI format.

I've tried creating the device and implementation files for the TV which appear to build correctly using the SQ Remote backup files, however the Vera doesn't seem to send anything to the SQ Blaster so I'm happy to stay with the discrete codes for now.

The HDMI Pronto Hex code which I've found using the SQ Remote is shown below. I've tried remotecentral.com, ir-toolkit.com's IR Code Doctor and various other site with no success.

<sqblaster command_name="INPUT HDMI 1" SQKeyCode="0" />
  <ir>P3cb5 61c6 359f e92c 1aac f584 40d0 5b10 e0c7 5647 741e c314 8f9c 9e0f 2e21 478a 427f 8cc4 0f67 d291 9f35 bff7 d926 dda7 de6c 97d0 d29b a7cc fa65 4c2d 7ed2 e657 a299 9bcb 6f61 354d cfba 83dd 762c 0a45</ir>

The UEI code should look something like this power on example: UT08102

Does anyone have the discrete UEI codes for HDMI?


Here is the UEI Code data which I've tested with the NX720 so far if this helps anyone else:

 <command_info command_name="Menu Select" SQKeyCode="7" ir_data="42" source_id="1" SQSource="U" UEIDeviceType="T" UEISetupCode="0810" /> Input select
 <command_info command_name="Off,Power On/Off" SQKeyCode="3" ir_data="3" source_id="1" SQSource="U" UEIDeviceType="T" UEISetupCode="0810" />
  <command_info command_name="On,Power On/Off" SQKeyCode="2" ir_data="2" source_id="1" SQSource="U" UEIDeviceType="T" UEISetupCode="0810" />
 <command_info command_name="Power On/Off" SQKeyCode="1" ir_data="1" source_id="1" SQSource="U" UEIDeviceType="T" UEISetupCode="0810" />
  <command_info command_name="Channel Up" SQKeyCode="76" ir_data="4" source_id="1" SQSource="U" UEIDeviceType="T" UEISetupCode="0810" />
  <command_info command_name="Channel Down" SQKeyCode="75" ir_data="5" source_id="1" SQSource="U" UEIDeviceType="T" UEISetupCode="0810" />
 <command_info command_name="TV/Video" SQKeyCode="33" ir_data="22" source_id="1" SQSource="U" UEIDeviceType="T" UEISetupCode="0810" />
<command_info command_name="Menu (Picture)" SQKeyCode="11" ir_data="33" source_id="1" SQSource="U" UEIDeviceType="T" UEISetupCode="0810" />


UEI codes are in the following format U<UEIDeviceType><UEISetupCode><ir_data>


Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +33/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2013, 02:17:11 pm »
In the past I've captured these with a USBUIRT connected to a computer and a remote (assuming your Sony Remote has these buttons). There is a program that allows capturing in Pronto format at least.
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline bluman

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2013, 03:31:15 pm »
Thanks for the reply strangely,

Unfortunately the remote does not have individual buttons for the AV inputs.

Anyone else?

Offline bgrubb1

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2013, 02:09:44 pm »
The hex code I have from my pronto for HDMI on a Sony TV is

0000 0067 0000 0010 0060 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 032A

You might try that, If it works I can supply the other inputs

Offline bluman

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2013, 09:43:59 pm »
Thanks bgrubb1,

I tried the code with no success.
I'm very keen to sort this and I know I am close. I revisited remotecentral.com and again tried Sony HDMI codes listed there.

The first SYSLOG was captured from the SQ Blaster+ (Firmware P100) using SQ Remote on Apple iOS 7.0.3.

### SQ Blaster SYSLOG using SQ Remote (working correctly)

<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 80 - 2013-11-23T02:10:17.530Z,1385172617530   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:10:02.221   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 31 - 2013-11-23T02:10:17.533Z,10.64.7.42,50836   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:10:02.221   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 78 - 2013-11-23T02:10:17.552Z,188,(null),INPUT HDMI 1,5,0,1385172617552   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:10:02.241   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 81 - 2013-11-23T02:10:17.558Z,1385172617558   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:10:02.250   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 87 - 2013-11-23T02:10:17.563Z,11   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:10:02.255   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 81 - 2013-11-23T02:10:17.589Z,1385172617589   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:10:02.282   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 93 - 2013-11-23T02:10:19.547Z   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:10:04.234   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 63 - 2013-11-23T02:10:19.548Z,1385172619548   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:10:04.235   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 27 - 2013-11-23T02:10:19.551Z   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:10:04.238   

### SQ Blaster SYSLOG using Vera (Firmware 1.5.622) (Pronto code supplied by bgrubb1 - does not work)

<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 80 - 2013-11-23T02:19:55.223Z,1385173195222   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:19:39.506   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 31 - 2013-11-23T02:19:55.225Z,10.64.7.200,42829   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:19:39.522   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 78 - 2013-11-23T02:19:55.251Z,0,,,2,0,1385173195251   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:19:39.536   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 81 - 2013-11-23T02:19:55.259Z,1385173195259   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:19:39.546   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 87 - 2013-11-23T02:19:55.268Z,17   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:19:39.553   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 61 - 2013-11-23T02:19:55.272Z,-6,Connection closed.,2992,dc_http1.c   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:19:39.557   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 61 - 2013-11-23T02:19:55.276Z,-6,Connection closed.,3045,dc_http1.c   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:19:39.561   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 63 - 2013-11-23T02:19:55.281Z,1385173195281   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:19:39.565   
<150> 1 - sq-blaster-172b.local - - 27 - 2013-11-23T02:19:55.286Z   10.64.7.201   23/11 13:19:39.570   

Here is the snippet from my Vera log (/var/log/cmh/LuaUPnP.log) for the above command.

08      11/23/13 13:19:48.377   JobHandler_LuaUPnP::HandleActionRequest device: 0 service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HomeAutomationGateway1 action: RunScene <0x2e27d680>
08      11/23/13 13:19:48.378   JobHandler_LuaUPnP::HandleActionRequest argument SceneNum=21 <0x2e27d680>
08      11/23/13 13:19:48.378   Scene::RunScene running 21 HDMI <0x2e27d680>
08      11/23/13 13:19:48.378   JobHandler_LuaUPnP::HandleActionRequest device: 42 service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:IrTransmitter1 action: SendProntoCode <0x2e27d680>
08      11/23/13 13:19:48.378   JobHandler_LuaUPnP::HandleActionRequest argument ProntoCode=0000 0067 0000 0010 0060 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 032A <0x2e27d680>
01      11/23/13 13:19:48.426   luup_log:42: SQBlaster: Web request returned status=200 response=<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<execCmndResponse>
<status messageNum="0" reasonCode="0" />
</execCmndResponse> in 46ms <0x2e27d680>


I know the SQBlaster is functioning correctly I just can't find the correct Pronto code for Vera. The TV's IR acknowledgement LED does not blink using the Vera whereas it does and works perfectly with the SQ Remote app.
 
I will again try and convert the SQ Remote backup files for Vera device creation and see if this shows any different codes.

If anyone has discrete Pronto codes for Sony TV HDMI inputs 1, 2 and 3, I'd be grateful if you could share them.

Offline Brientim

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2497
  • Karma: +77/-7
Re: UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2013, 10:28:28 pm »
I am pretty sure I have something that may assist. I will check when I get home.

Offline bluman

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2013, 11:00:17 pm »
The SQ Blaster SYSLOG output may be confusing the troubleshooting process because regardless of the pronto code I enter in the advanced scene settings the SYSLOG output returned is always the same accept for when I use the SQ Remote app on iOS.

I went back to the SQ Remote app on iPad and deleted all devices adding only the Sony TV back into the device list. After backing up to box.net, downloading and unzipping the archive I have re-tested from the Vera using the IR code for HDMI 1.

P3cb5 61c6 359f e92c 1aac f584 40d0 5b10 e0c7 5647 741e c314 8f9c 9e0f 2e21 478a 427f 8cc4 0f67 d291 9f35 bff7 d926 dda7 de6c 97d0 d29b a7cc fa65 4c2d 7ed2 e657 a299 9bcb 6f61 354d cfba 83dd 762c 0a45

Again I confirmed that the Vera is sending the code to the SQ Blaster and the SQ Blaster is emitting IR data based on the red LED indicator. No acknowledgement from the TV's green LED either.

I'm stumped at this stage. Brientim, I'd welcome any input at this stage.

The HDMI 1 input is connected to my XBMC and I want to complement my existing scene called WatchTivo with a scene called WatchXBMC. My Tivo is connected to Component 1 input which works fine with the Vera using UEI codes.   

I found the following thread full of Sony codes which don't work!
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-discrete/thread.cgi?6295

Offline Brientim

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2497
  • Karma: +77/-7
Re: UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2013, 01:06:14 am »
Have a review with these codes:
http://files.remotecentral.com/library/3-2/sony/television/index.html

The attached codeset was done for a generic Sony TV but it does not specify HDMI number just sequential inputs.

Additional Reading:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,8440.0.html
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,10970.15.html

Offline Brientim

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2497
  • Karma: +77/-7
Re: UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2013, 04:09:03 am »
This was the link I was looking for. It was an old AVS post that I remembered whilst looking for something different.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1256682/harmony-tips

Offline bluman

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2013, 05:16:20 am »
Brientim,

Thanks for the post. I've Google searched avsforum.com with no luck.

I've opened a support ticket with Sony Australia asking for the UEI codes for HDMI 1 - 3. If I find the codes I'll be sure to post them here.

It is now obvious that the Sony Bravia 40NX720 does not support the common UEI (or Pronto) codes for the HDMI inputs. Here is the discrete code for HDMI 1 taken from the SQ Remote backup which works using the SQ Remote app.

P3cb5 61c6 359f e92c 1aac f584 40d0 5b10 e0c7 5647 741e c314 8f9c 9e0f 2e21 478a 427f 8cc4 0f67 d291 9f35 bff7 d926 dda7 de6c 97d0 d29b a7cc fa65 4c2d 7ed2 e657 a299 9bcb 6f61 354d cfba 83dd 762c 0a45

Is Mat still around from Square Connect?

I've even tried entering this as the pronto code in the advanced scene setting as a single instance and also as multiple "repeat" instances, 3 times, 5 times and 10 times. The TV does not even acknowledge the above code so I'm baffled as to how it works with the SQ Remote app.

I was thinking of asking Square Connect if there is any documentation around their SYSLOG output which may help better understand what the SQ Blaster is doing.

I'm almost out of ideas and may even start looking at the Global Cache brand of IR blasters. 


Offline bluman

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?
« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2013, 06:09:24 am »
I just proved the 40NX720 theory that it doesn't align with the usual UEI codes because the HDMI 1 input command UT081067 works on my older Bravia model KDL-40XBR. *I hear you, I should have tried this earlier!!!!!*

This is a question for Sony now unless someone else has a working UEI code for the NX720's HDMI 1 input?

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +33/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2013, 11:52:56 am »
This sounds like a good excuse for a TV upgrade :)
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline bluman

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?
« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2014, 04:50:32 am »
I have an update on this for those that are interested.

I have found the IR HEX codes (not UEI) for the HDMI inputs using the SQ Blaster+ and an Arduino UNO using Ken Shirriff's IR Library (http://www.righto.com/2009/08/multi-protocol-infrared-remote-library.html) and the IRrecvDump sketch.

Using the HEX codes I have tested the irsend.sendSony function which successfully controls the HDMI inputs!!!

My intention now is to use the brilliant Arduino Sensor Plugin created by forum moderator hek (http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/board,55.0.html) to push these codes out from a remote sensor node once the IR node is available.

I have attached a list of Sony HEX codes which should work with Ken Shirriff's IR Library for Arduino.
Also attached is the sketch I used to test all 4 HDMI inputs on my TV.

I hope this will benefit others.


 

Offline softuse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?
« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2018, 04:12:23 am »
PLEASE CAN U SEND THIS CODE IN global cache FORMAT ON rajur.choudhari@gmail.com

Offline softuse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: UEI Code for Sony Bravia HDMI Input?
« Reply #14 on: March 29, 2018, 04:26:33 am »
The hex code I have from my pronto for HDMI on a Sony TV is

0000 0067 0000 0010 0060 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 032A

You might try that, If it works I can supply the other inputs

Please Send me HDMI 2 code