Author Topic: Intermatic Noob Questions  (Read 2310 times)

Offline triangledave

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +0/-0
Intermatic Noob Questions
« on: November 25, 2013, 02:32:34 pm »
I've read through the long and short threads on the Intermatic PE653RC and have a couple of noob questions about it.

1. Can someone post screen shots of what you get in Vera (and does anyone know if Homewave supports it?) in terms of information and controll--I'm a visual learner. :-)

2. Once installed will thePE653RC allow me to schedule and shut down the whole system and/or the heat.  My goal here is trying to dial in the lowest electric bill with convenient use.  As it is set up now, the tub cooks at 102 degrees all the time--I'm a little worried about the first electric bill.  Since the circulating pump does not use much power, I think a great solution would be to be able to set the tub to have a stand-by mode of somewhere in the 80s and then maybe go up to temp on the weekends, evenings or on demand via vera and/or intermatic remote.

Hopefully I'll be able to do the temp settings with scenes and then manually ramp up temp with Vera like you can with a general z-wave Thermostat.

My hot tub is a Craigslist special that has a Gecko control panel.  I am in the process right now of working with a local hot tub place to determine if the Intermatic is compatible.  Right now the control is only at the pad on the tub and it pretty basic (but it works, the tub is warm and the air is cold :-) )

Offline GWNorth

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-3
Re: Intermatic Noob Questions
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2014, 11:30:19 am »
I don't know why you haven't received any answers, but here goes in case it is of help to you or others:

1. Can someone post screen shots of what you get in Vera

See below if successful.

and does anyone know if Homewave supports it?)

Sorry, don't know what HomeWave is...

2. Once installed will thePE653RC allow me to schedule and shut down the whole system and/or the heat.

If properly installed and included in a Vera network, the MultiWave will allow you to control the heater and set the temperature on it.  It will also allow you to program schedules for the heater setting (ie. go to 104 degrees at 6:00 pm and back to 80 at 8:00 pm) PROVIDED the spa heater allows for outside control of it, and you can properly install the Multiwave temperature probe in the spa plumbing.  The MultiWave can do what you want, whether or not the Spa will play along nicely is a completely separate question.

Offline Radjin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Intermatic Noob Questions
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2015, 04:37:33 pm »
GWNorth, what UI version are you using?  Thinking of purchasing the unit myself but want to be sure I have the correct UI.

I don't see any sort of speed control for the pumps in your UI?
« Last Edit: January 24, 2015, 02:59:45 pm by Radjin »

Offline dbeck52

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Intermatic Noob Questions
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2015, 01:45:41 pm »
@ Radjin

Looks like GWNorth has a single speed pump, anyway that is how mine is setup.  Multi wave 1 controls the on/off state of the pump.  The pe653, coupled with the pe953 controller, has built in function for control of multi-speed and smart pumps.  Maybe someone here would care to weigh in that has a intelliflo or similar to let you know how that shows up in vera.

Offline Radjin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Intermatic Noob Questions
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2015, 03:35:43 pm »
I was guessing that on his setup. I have two pentair multi-speed pumps, 8 24vac valves, one pentair 400k heater and two lights I want to control. Was wondering if two multi-wave units would give me the control I wanted using UI-5.

Offline blueman2

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Intermatic Noob Questions
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2015, 11:47:10 am »
So I am with Radjin here in wanting to know if we can control variable speed Pentair pump attached to my Multiwave using Vera?  Or do we not have access to the RS485 attached devices in Vera? 
« Last Edit: February 02, 2015, 12:04:08 pm by blueman2 »

Offline Radjin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Intermatic Noob Questions
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2015, 11:11:26 pm »
I wonder if it is possible to build a plugin that would control pumps through a USB to 485 converter?