We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Outdoor Temp Sensor?  (Read 21588 times)

Offline EH

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Outdoor Temp Sensor?
« on: August 27, 2009, 10:05:52 am »
Hi,
have anyone come across an outdoor z-wave temperature sensor or even a z-wave "weather station". All the sensors I have seen cannot handle temperatures below freezing.

Offline LibraSun

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 574
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Outdoor Temp Sensor?
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2009, 10:18:34 am »
I believe the Everspring ST814 Temperature/Humidity Sensor might fit the bill:

http://www.everspring.com/Products/Home_Automation_Detail.asp?parentUID=83&UID=469&CateUIDList=0,83

Vera Model I running UI4 (Firmware 1.1.1338), died in 2015
Vera Plus running UI7 (Firmware 1.7.2935)

Offline LibraSun

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 574
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Outdoor Temp Sensor?
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2009, 10:25:17 am »
You might also want to contact Honeywell (whose current weather stations and sensors use proprietary wireless technology), to ask whether they have any plans to implement Z-Wave:

http://www.honeywellstore.com/contact-us/

Vera Model I running UI4 (Firmware 1.1.1338), died in 2015
Vera Plus running UI7 (Firmware 1.7.2935)

Offline EH

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Outdoor Temp Sensor?
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2009, 01:41:38 pm »
Thanks, Libra

Looks like many of the weather-stations can be connected to PCs via USB - if we had a driver for Vera...;-)

Offline mhjens

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Outdoor Temp Sensor?
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2011, 09:21:54 am »
Sorry for bumping an old topic!

But I can't find any outdoor temperature sensor. I doesn't have to be a sensor, it would work with a plugin connected to a web service like wheather.com or similar.

Anyone with an idea how to make things happen depending on the outdoor temp?

Offline radarengineer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 402
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Outdoor Temp Sensor?
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2011, 06:13:26 pm »
There is a weather plugin!

Here is the link to the plugin:

http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_weather

And here is the forum thread:

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=1435.0

I just installed it today. Is seems quite nice, and it from the posts earlier today it looks like @guessed is adding more features.  :)

Offline mhjens

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Outdoor Temp Sensor?
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2011, 04:30:37 am »
Wow thanks  :D

Just installed it and it's working fine. Thanks for the link to the thread, will keep an eye there.

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Outdoor Temp Sensor?
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2011, 07:29:11 am »
[...] I can't find any outdoor temperature sensor.
Not just a temperature sensor, but the Aeon Labs 4-in-1 multi-sensor appears to be rated for outdoor usage.
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline bcbix001

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Outdoor Temp Sensor?
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2011, 01:09:10 am »
This seems like such a simple device to expect to be able to buy....an outdoor temperature sensor.  I can't tell if AEON Labs still exists, I can find some of their stuff on the SMARTHOME website but not the 4-in-1 sensor.  I have been very disappointed in how slowly stuff seems to be coming to market and how many issues they all seem to have. I have Fortrezz water sensor/freeze alarm that has been reliable as in indoor temperature sensor and a RCS 2-Gig thermostat that loses needs to be reset every week (it stops responding to the VERA).  I have been looking for improved thermostats and see nothing new out there.  I have been looking for updated VERA software, and it seems liked nothing is going on in this market.  It seems like a great concept but I need reliability, working "usually" doesn't cut it when the temperature outside drops below 0F.


Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Outdoor Temp Sensor?
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2011, 09:46:54 am »
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline Les F

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 567
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Outdoor Temp Sensor?
« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2011, 04:33:58 pm »
[...] the 4-in-1 sensor.
Should be available soon... ::)

Ha!  I asked about this in June 2010 and it was going to be out soon...

Google+ http://bit.ly/2MAVlkR / Instagram: http://bit.ly/2lIcsFT / Pinterest http://bit.ly/2KCSYRm (Yes, Pinterest is for guys too! take a look)

Offline grybrd

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Outdoor Temp Sensor?
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2011, 08:40:30 pm »
My carbon copy response when I contact Aeon is ... "in UL testing" .. having been a VP of engineering in a past life I know UL testing does not take that long if product is anywhere within specs.

Offline HouseBot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Outdoor Temp Sensor?
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2011, 06:54:58 am »

Offline Kristopher

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Outdoor Temp Sensor?
« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2011, 09:23:05 am »
Use the weather plugins.  More reliable.

Offline robinnes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Outdoor Temp Sensor?
« Reply #14 on: November 03, 2011, 11:44:52 am »
Bump....

Still no "made for outdoor use" simple temp sensor available?

Is it that difficult to build  ???