We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: EtherRain sprinkler controller  (Read 85558 times)

Offline FrankHill73

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #45 on: May 13, 2010, 01:08:24 pm »
You're right... got to fix it

What does that mean?

If I assume you mean this is a Bug, is there a work around to schedule this? ...or am I stuck manually setting off the irrigation cycle.

Thanks,

Frank
Vera V3 (UI5) - 12 GE 45609 Switches - 4 Intermatic Dimmers - 7 HA01C  Receptacles - 3 HRDS1 D/W Sensors - 1 Trane Thermostat - 1 EtherRain 8 - 6 Intermatic HA02C App. Modules - 1 HA05 Lamp Module - 1 Custom Garage Open/Close Relay Unit - 4 Foscam IR Cams - OneWire server w/5 monitored locations.

Offline FrankHill73

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #46 on: May 13, 2010, 01:38:11 pm »
Problem fixed...

post removed.

Thanks to 325xi and woodsby
« Last Edit: May 19, 2010, 12:20:55 pm by FrankHill73 »
Vera V3 (UI5) - 12 GE 45609 Switches - 4 Intermatic Dimmers - 7 HA01C  Receptacles - 3 HRDS1 D/W Sensors - 1 Trane Thermostat - 1 EtherRain 8 - 6 Intermatic HA02C App. Modules - 1 HA05 Lamp Module - 1 Custom Garage Open/Close Relay Unit - 4 Foscam IR Cams - OneWire server w/5 monitored locations.

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #47 on: May 13, 2010, 10:45:48 pm »
Fixed - now it does appear in scenes (thanks woodsby)
Download v2.3.

Offline FrankHill73

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #48 on: May 19, 2010, 12:18:22 pm »
Is it possible to add some monitoring/status features to this particular plugin?

It would be awesome to:

1. See the status of the rain sensor
2. If activate, to see where in the 8zone sprinkler cycle the device was, and how much time was left on the currently activated zone.

Not being a programmer, I can't appreciate the time necessary to add these features, but as a user, I can appreciate how useful they would be if they existed.

Thanks to the developer(s) who work on this plug-in.  ;D

Frank
Vera V3 (UI5) - 12 GE 45609 Switches - 4 Intermatic Dimmers - 7 HA01C  Receptacles - 3 HRDS1 D/W Sensors - 1 Trane Thermostat - 1 EtherRain 8 - 6 Intermatic HA02C App. Modules - 1 HA05 Lamp Module - 1 Custom Garage Open/Close Relay Unit - 4 Foscam IR Cams - OneWire server w/5 monitored locations.

Offline woodsby

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 466
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #49 on: May 21, 2010, 03:20:03 pm »
Frank, in discussing with 325xi, I will probably make my plugin, nicknamed ER++, available shortly after UI4 has been released and bugs worked out.  I am running UI2 and don't plan to upgrade until UI4 is tested - HA/programming is my rainy day hobby.  ER++ currently has support for the individual valve status/control, as well as auto-discovery of the ER for a more plug-and-play installation.  I will likely add support for the Rain Sensor status in the form of a virtual motion sensor child device in the next couple weeks.
As for time remaining on an individual valve in a cycle, this doesn't seem to be very feasible, since first, there is no real good ouput method for this (sensors are binary, dimmers are 1-100, etc.).  I guess I could create a variable for this, but I am trying to make sure it is fully compatible with SQ Remote.  I am a little anal about this - I even went as far as replacing the code for humidity in the weather plugin with a virtual dimmer child device, so on my SQ remote, I could set a status block to show percent humidity.  Anyway, second, a cycle is sent to the ER with a single command.  I know there is a slight delay in the ER, and I seem to have inconsistent delays on Vera.  For example, if I set a light to turn off in a 15 second delay within a scene, sometimes it happens in 15 seconds, but sometimes it takes up to 30 seconds to turn the light off.
What I think I will add is the ability to manually skip a valve in the cycle; probably not needed, but shouldn't be too much code.  What I mean is if a cycle is running, and valve 4 is currently irrigating, you will be able to kill valve 4, but allow the cycle to complete on valves 5-8.  Also, support for multiple ER's will be added, but that will take some time, since I only have one ER, and I'll have to set up a couple consoles to act as a virtual ER,  so they respond to the broadcast the same way the ER does.
Vera1 (1.1142), Vera2 (1.1182), VRI06 (12), VRS15 (3), VRS05 (2), VRF01 (2), VRCS4 (2), ZRW113, ZRF113 (2), 45602, 45603, TZMT400 (2), FE599 (2), 99100, Thinkstick, Harmony 890Pro (2), Harmony RF Extender, Nevo S70, Nevo NC-50, Minimote, SQ Remote, SQ Blaster, EtherRain-8, Cliste ActiveRFID, TED5002

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #50 on: May 21, 2010, 03:39:43 pm »
Here you go :)

BTW, I  just moved the plugin to code.mios.com
http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_etherrain-controller

Also, I've opened a thread in Dev section to discuss development issues and ideas for EtherRain irrigation controller
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=3665.0
« Last Edit: May 21, 2010, 03:45:02 pm by 325xi »

Offline shady

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1331
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #51 on: May 21, 2010, 07:42:55 pm »
Glad to see you guys contributing to this plug-in for such a great product.  I am on-the-fence about having Vera handle the scheduling and as a result, right now, I am using LawnCheck.com for that and just have Vera/SQ Remote for manual override and testing (which is very valuable having remote control when you are trying to adjust spray patterns in the yard).

I guess after I see the improvements, and hear how the Vera scheduling is working for you I might give Vera the job instead of LawnCheck. 

Instead of a countdown timer, would it be possible (working with SQ Remote guys to add a specialized Sprinkler Button) to have the Button in SQ Remote change its button label to display the current zone being irrigated.  To begin, the button reads with the button icon (sprinkler) and "off", then you hit the button and the icon stays in place but the "off" label changes to the zone number currently being operated (1..., 2..., 3..., etc.) then once the cycle finished returns to off w/ icon.  You can at any time cancel the cycle, by hitting the button and it jumps to the next cycle (following what you described adding), keep hitting it until you cycle back to "off".

With your help and the SQ Remote guys, this could be a great selling point for everyone's product.  Keep up the good work it is appreciated.
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #52 on: May 21, 2010, 08:02:47 pm »
IMHO scheduling works now :)

Can't say anything about SQ... unless they produce Android version
« Last Edit: May 21, 2010, 08:06:16 pm by 325xi »

Offline min2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #53 on: July 01, 2010, 12:41:38 pm »
I just bought a Vera and was on the fence regarding the EtherRain based on the wiki entry.  Can someone please confirm that I can program the following scenario:

1. Have multiple zones
2. Each zone controls different valves
3. Can create a scene to turn on all the zones at different times during the day.

My other option is to use a webcontrol and 8 relay board and program scenes to POST or GET to the built in webserver.

Any advice???

Offline woodsby

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 466
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #54 on: July 01, 2010, 01:57:31 pm »
I can't speak for 325xi's ER plugin, but i know at this point, the ER++ plugin only supports 1 Etherrain 8-zone controller.  I started working on support for multiple ER's, but I have tabled that work due to other projects.  It will currenty allow you the 8-valve control that the ER plugin provides, and allows control of individual zones.  You can create time-based scenes that run either the 8-valve cycle or individual zones.  The ER++ plugin also gives you individual zone status.  It also supports auto discovery of your controller.  Finally, ER++ has not been tested on UI3 or UI4, but I think the latest ER plugin has been verified on UI3.
Vera1 (1.1142), Vera2 (1.1182), VRI06 (12), VRS15 (3), VRS05 (2), VRF01 (2), VRCS4 (2), ZRW113, ZRF113 (2), 45602, 45603, TZMT400 (2), FE599 (2), 99100, Thinkstick, Harmony 890Pro (2), Harmony RF Extender, Nevo S70, Nevo NC-50, Minimote, SQ Remote, SQ Blaster, EtherRain-8, Cliste ActiveRFID, TED5002

Offline min2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #55 on: July 01, 2010, 02:09:56 pm »
Cool.  Where do I download ER++?

Offline woodsby

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 466
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #56 on: July 01, 2010, 02:12:48 pm »
325xi put it up on his Etherrain page on code.mios.com - it hasn't been updated since I sent him a copy, but I'll probably get back to it in the next month.  FYI, the ER plugin is better for people that want more standard control of a sprinkler system, and the ER++ plugin is better for people that want individual zone control/status.

Personally, I only use ER++ because I just put in a new back lawn, so as it's looking yellow in the hot sun, I am turning on just that zone manually.  Eventually, I will set it up to be able to stop a specific zone during the cycle, and skip to the next zone - and it will be more useful to me... eg. if I want to hang out in the back yard while the back yard is sprinkling, I can turn it off, but continue the cycle.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2010, 02:15:33 pm by woodsby »
Vera1 (1.1142), Vera2 (1.1182), VRI06 (12), VRS15 (3), VRS05 (2), VRF01 (2), VRCS4 (2), ZRW113, ZRF113 (2), 45602, 45603, TZMT400 (2), FE599 (2), 99100, Thinkstick, Harmony 890Pro (2), Harmony RF Extender, Nevo S70, Nevo NC-50, Minimote, SQ Remote, SQ Blaster, EtherRain-8, Cliste ActiveRFID, TED5002

Offline min2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #57 on: July 01, 2010, 03:00:47 pm »
Thanks Woodsby

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #58 on: July 01, 2010, 05:29:39 pm »
1. Have multiple zones
2. Each zone controls different valves
3. Can create a scene to turn on all the zones at different times during the day.
ER plugin can be used for multiple controllers - just create as many instances as you need, set the IP accordingly, and you're all set.

With ER you don't control each valve, but rather give it a "program" of zone:time for each zone, and it goes and turns on and off valves according to that. The advantages are clear, the disadvantage is that you can't just come and start valve #3 in the middle of the running cycle - you'll have to stop the current cycle, and then start new one containing only valve #3.

You can have multiple pre-sets for different situations, just create another instance of ER plugin with THE SAME IP, and give it an alternative schedule - this way you can have two ready to go controls. They won't mess with each other because plugin polls the state of the physical controller, so if it's in the middle of the cycle started from another instance it'll know that.


Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #59 on: July 04, 2010, 07:14:13 pm »
OK , so I finally caved and bought one of these things :) Looking forward to trying out the plugins!
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster