We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: EtherRain sprinkler controller  (Read 85559 times)

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2009, 11:24:57 pm »
BTW, one thing that most standalone irrigation controller can't do is notifications and alerts.
With Vera, ER (or any other controller for instance) can possibly call my mobile and tell that controller doesn't respond (pre-recorded message of course), or it's in busy state when it's not supposed to be...

Offline Chimpware

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 426
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #16 on: September 03, 2009, 07:45:28 am »
325, still very interested in this approach.  Priced out the hardware required for me and it will cost $360 though (13 zones).

One minor improvement I might suggest is adding a % setting, so you can easily adjust all zone times with one setting.  Also for me, multiple programs would be required, as I adjust the garden bed sprinklers differently than the lawn in terms of seasonal adjustment %.

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #17 on: October 07, 2009, 11:46:56 pm »
I just uploaded a new version of the Etherrain plugin: 2.1

1. Plugin now reflects the actual state of the controller: ready, busy, or waiting. State is polled with user defined interval, default value 5 min. Thanks to TedStriker, guessed, and Aaron's great ideas.

2. Results of communication with controller are immediately reflected on the screen.


Download plugin:
Latest Etherrain Plugin

Wiki:
http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/EtherRain_Sprinkler_Controller
« Last Edit: October 09, 2010, 10:57:04 am by 325xi »

Offline ERdevman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2010, 07:08:43 pm »
Hello 325xi,

Can you tell me how many EtherRain controllers can be supported on Vera using your plug-in? 

If someone needed to control 16 or 24 valves could they simply create 2 or 3 devices and then program each device as needed?

Thanks,

Jim

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #19 on: January 31, 2010, 08:15:36 pm »
Yes, users can create as many Etherrain devices as they like.
Also, it's easy enough to customize the plugin to work against a group of two or more controllers as a single device

Offline deafbykhorns

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #20 on: March 06, 2010, 09:13:17 am »
It needs an external OFF panic button for my wife, any ideas? ;D
Vera 1.0.989 with updated dongle- 40 Leviton switch devices and Trane thermostat. Homeseer motion, contactor/switch for pool and WH
2 Panasonic IP cams, one with pan/tilt John S.

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #21 on: March 06, 2010, 09:56:22 am »
Sure! That "Easy" button from Staples wired to Hawkings contact sensor

Offline shady

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1331
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #22 on: March 09, 2010, 01:56:19 am »
Are there any plans to make the Etherrain plug-in compatibile with UI3?

I just received my Etherrain-8 in the mail and I hope to have a plug-in that works with UI3. 
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline shady

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1331
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #23 on: March 16, 2010, 05:14:02 pm »
OK, my Etherrain is now installed and networked.  Are there any plans to make the exisiting Etherrain Plug-in available in UI3? 

I may continue to use LawnCheck.com, being free, to schedule the controller until it is able to work with UI3.  It would be nice to be able to turn on the sprinklers when motion is detected (I have a neighbor's cat leaving turds in my yard), so I might just revert back to UI2 to get control.  Also, I think control via Vera would be more responsive, as LawnCheck has up to a 5 min delay.

Let me know if this is on the list of things to do, thanks.
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline jamie

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #24 on: March 16, 2010, 05:42:13 pm »
LMAO - neighbor's cat!

Offline shady

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1331
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #25 on: March 19, 2010, 02:16:04 pm »
325xi where are you?

I'm just looking for a heads up from MCV or 325xi (sent a PM to 325xi, as well) about the plug-in for the Etherrain-8 being able to work in UI3.

If you say you are adding it to UI3 in the future, then I'll stay with UI3 and wait for the update...

If you say do it yourself, lol, then I'll move back to UI2 for now...

Thank you...
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #26 on: March 19, 2010, 08:47:58 pm »
If you noticed, I'm still on 1.0.98* version :)
Very busy last few months, haven't had a chance even to see UI3 yet.

I have no idea what is the problem with the existing plugins on UI3, need to look into it.
Can't promise ETA for the fix, but I'll try as much as time allows.

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #27 on: March 22, 2010, 03:58:32 pm »
Well, I tried it with UI3. If you need Etherrain to work quickly - go with UI2.

So far it's unclear what exactly breaks plugins in UI3, and I can't get answers at this moment. I'll keep an eye on the issue, if there will be anything from MCV or other devs that sheds light on it, I'll try to fix the plugin ASAP. 

Offline shady

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1331
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #28 on: March 24, 2010, 08:03:45 pm »
 Thank you for your efforts 325xi, I'm trying to dedicate some time to familiarizing myself with the Plug-In side of Vera so that maybe I could help.

Again, thanks for recommending Etherrain and making the plug-in, I have been very happy with it so far (even without Vera being involved).
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: EtherRain sprinkler controller
« Reply #29 on: April 24, 2010, 11:24:29 pm »
I recently uploaded v2.2 with a little fix that's supposed to enable this plugin on UI3.
I had some intermittent issues with flash, which might be not linked to the specific plugin.
If anyone tried it on UI3, let me know how it works for you.