We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: (Solved) No neutral wire!  (Read 2189 times)

Offline Albeebe

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +10/-1
(Solved) No neutral wire!
« on: January 08, 2014, 02:57:07 pm »
Last night I ran into an issue where my light switch didn't have a neutral wire. Turns out I have whats called a switch loop. I was able to solve the problem with an Aeon Micro Switch. I can now manually control the light by using the light switch, or i can remotely control it using Vera. Here's a diagram for others that might run into this problem.

http://imgur.com/aiSZ4DP

Offline Z-Waver

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4437
  • Karma: +249/-120
Re: (Solved) No neutral wire!
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2014, 03:02:50 pm »
Nice diagram! I'm jealous.

My last such diagram(attached) didn't look nearly as nice.

Offline jimpapa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
  • Karma: +28/-1
Re: (Solved) No neutral wire!
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2014, 03:07:43 pm »
I disagree sir!... I found both useful  ::)


Offline Albeebe

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +10/-1
Re: (Solved) No neutral wire!
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2014, 03:10:17 pm »
Your diagram is perfect, just what i need for my next task which is automating a 4 way switch.

Offline Z-Waver

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4437
  • Karma: +249/-120
Re: (Solved) No neutral wire!
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2014, 03:15:27 pm »
Thanks to you both.

I still like @Albeebe's look. How did you make it? Though I fear that it is the artist and not the tools.

Offline Albeebe

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +10/-1
Re: (Solved) No neutral wire!
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2014, 03:33:41 pm »
Photoshop and google image searches.

Sometimes i find that although diagrams show the solution to a problem, it can be difficult for me to visualize how the diagram relates to my current setup. Showing the romex going into and out of the boxes is what helps me out because when i pull the switches out, i can easily translate what i'm looking at in the junction box with what i'm seeing in the diagram.

I swear every time i look at a diagram that shows line/neutral/ground, i have to draw the diagram myself and group the wires together into the corresponding romex wires going into and out of the junction box. I think its partially do to fear of screwing something up and potentially electrocuting myself or burning my house down.

Either way, diagrams are awesome, and i'll be referring to yours tonight!

Offline Z-Waver

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4437
  • Karma: +249/-120
Re: (Solved) No neutral wire!
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2014, 04:18:56 pm »
Thanks for the tip. Unfortunately, Photoshop is out of the budget. That leaves everyone suffering with my lack-of MS Paint and Gimp skills.


Offline RV

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: (Solved) No neutral wire!
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2014, 07:03:59 pm »
excellent!!! that should resolve my issue...

so if the wall switches are in an off position and you turn on the light via the Aeon Micro Switch, will a flip of the wall switch turn the light off? and visa-versa?

Offline Albeebe

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +10/-1
Re: (Solved) No neutral wire!
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2014, 07:51:09 pm »
Correct. Your switches are no longer up is on down is off. Flipping a switch turns an on light off and an off light on. :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk