Author Topic: Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor  (Read 46271 times)

Offline thex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +1/-0
Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor
« on: January 13, 2014, 06:04:52 pm »
I purchased this from for $35.
I paired it with my Vera and installed on the top panel.

It shows as a door sensor and is tripped when the panel/sensor goes over 45 degrees.
Works great!

http://www.staples.com/Ecolink-Wireless-Garage-Door-Tilt-Sensor-White/product_278640
TILTZWAVE2-ECO

Offline WCunha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2014, 07:45:45 pm »
I just bought two of them (one for each door) and mine show up as motion sensors in my Vera3. I want both to control an appliance module to let me know if the either one of the garage doors is open. I am having one problem I set up the trigger in the scene to turn the light off when the sensor is tripped. Which means if one door is put down the light goes off even if I have one door up.

Is there a way to get the appliance module to only shut off if only both sensors are not tripped?

Offline wilme2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1226
  • Karma: +29/-13
Re: Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2014, 11:52:32 am »

Is there a way to get the appliance module to only shut off if only both sensors are not tripped?


PLEG application.  (As are all conditionals in VERA).

So an input for each door sensor.  Then a condition of (Door1Open OR Door2Open)...
Long Live UI5!  (OK finally made the switch to UI7 in January 2018, and am pretty happy....)

Offline wilme2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1226
  • Karma: +29/-13
Re: Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2014, 11:54:35 am »
I wish these had been available a few months ago.  I installed a door/window sensor, but I like tilt sensors for garage doors so you can put up the door just a little to vent without tripping the sensor (depending on where you mount the sensor)...
Long Live UI5!  (OK finally made the switch to UI7 in January 2018, and am pretty happy....)

Offline dferrey

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2014, 12:10:55 pm »
Thanks for the link - my local staples doesn't carry it so I'll order it online.

Offline WCunha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2014, 01:18:29 pm »

Is there a way to get the appliance module to only shut off if only both sensors are not tripped?


PLEG application.  (As are all conditionals in VERA).

So an input for each door sensor.  Then a condition of (Door1Open OR Door2Open)...

How do I do that? I don't even know what you mean by PLEG application.

Thanks, Wade

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2014, 02:01:31 pm »
PLEG (Program Logic Event Generator) is a plugin that allows you to create complex events / scenes.

- Garrett

Offline WCunha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2014, 02:30:14 pm »
Gotcha! I will install that app and see if I can get it to work...I may be back for some more help. :)

Thanks, Wade

Offline WCunha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2014, 02:57:21 pm »
Ok I have the Core plug in installed and the PLEG plug in  installed how do I get it to work? The pleg plug in shows up in my devices but has a broken icon. Do I have to chose for it to be controlled via the core plug in under the advanced tab? I was going to try it but I got message saying if I change the parent I could brick my Vera. I don't want to do that so I thought I would ask. As you can tell I am new at this. Thanks for the help.

Wade

Offline WCunha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2014, 08:52:18 am »
I am not sure what I did but I got it to work. ;D

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2014, 11:12:44 am »
Still Staples Deal of the Day for $34.99 with free ship . In for 1. Now I can have Vera let me know if the door is open and then use my sears assurelink to close it.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2014, 11:20:38 am by BOFH »
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline blueskiesnh2o

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor
« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2014, 11:26:03 am »
Wow, thanks for this tip! I ordered online from Staples and received it the next day! With free shipping!

This was cheaper than the Aeon switch, 10 times easier to install, and works great. I was having trouble with the Aeon switch not latching on the base after I srcrewed it to the wall so had already ordered a new one. Now I will be returning both of the Aeons.

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor
« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2014, 09:14:51 am »
Mine came in yesterday. Easy as pie to include.

Switched Vera into inclusion mode, put battery in sensor and placed it on top of Vera and it included inside a minute

Tested unit by flipping it over and confirmed green man turned to red man on dashboard and vice versa almost instantly.

Great little unit. Wish it ran AA or AAA instead of CR123.

Lets hope Staples puts more zwave stuff like this up for daily deal.
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline AgileHumor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 984
  • Karma: +51/-27
  • KISS
Re: Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor
« Reply #13 on: January 25, 2014, 11:34:59 am »
This sensor is great.  I had an Everspring Door Sensor, but it was only 99% accurate with gap needed with the Garage Door.

Received this sensor last week, and except for no button to pair (remove and reinsert batter), it works perfectly.

Paired this with a Linear Dry Contact module, and the Garage Door Vera Plugin, and it works perfectly.
WMC Leviton:18xVPE06,8xVRS15,3xVRP03-W,2xVRR15,4xVRCS4,2xVRCS2,VP00R,8xVRS15 Aeon:5xDSC06106,4xDSC24,4xDSC25,12xDSB29,2xDSC11,4xDSB54,DSB05,3xDSA22,DSA38,2xDSA03202B,DSB09104,HEM Other:3xYale,12xHSM100v3,7xSP103,45604,WDHA-12,SSA2USR,EVLCD1T,6xWWA02A,7xIPC-HFW2100,URTSI,Hue,Russound,OpenSprinker

Offline dferrey

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor
« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2014, 11:35:35 am »
I got mine.  It seemed to include easy enough.  I've got the icon anyway.  It says waiting for wake up to configure device.  The green guy doesn't turn red when I turn the device over.  I configured it manually and the messages suggest it was configured, but the Configured field still reads -1.

Still no change.  I configured it again via Vera.  It polls successfully but nothing, no reaction to changing the orientation to the sensor.  When I flip the device I hear the sensor flip.

Another clue?  The LED stays lit.  I included it again, the LED turns on when I insert the battery, the Vera blinks rapidly to indicate it included the device, but the LED on the device stays lit.  According to the instructions it's supposed to go out.

Here is what happens.
Press + on Vera
Vera LED starts to blink.
Insert battery in device
LED on device lights up and starts to blink.
Vera (after a bit) blinks rapidly, then goes back to blinking normally.
LED on device stops blinking and stays lit.
Device shows up in Vera with message waiting to configure.
Blue circle is lit next to _Motion Sensor in Vera

Final Update (hopefully).
The blue circle and waiting to configure message went away, the LED on the device went out and now it's working as designed.

Sheesh, I did this at least 4 times.

Anyway, it's working now.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2014, 01:17:06 pm by dferrey »