We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Controlling Leviton Dimmer parameters  (Read 1728 times)

Offline TC1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +90/-88
Controlling Leviton Dimmer parameters
« on: February 09, 2014, 08:18:49 pm »
Just installed some Leviton dimmers. From the actual dimmer switch, you can program things like max brightness, ramp rates, etc.

I've search the forums here, but have yet to find any info what variables to set in Vera in order to do the same things. I even found an old message from MCV stating tighter control over Leviton dimmers was going to happen.... 3 years ago: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,2037.msg12105.html#msg12105

Is this just another broken Vera promise?

-TC

Offline JamesDVB

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Controlling Leviton Dimmer parameters
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2014, 12:01:08 am »
Actually, 4 years and 3 weeks...

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Controlling Leviton Dimmer parameters
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2014, 11:07:28 am »
From the actual dimmer switch, you can program things like max brightness, ramp rates, etc.
But is there evidence that these can be programmed through Z-Wave, using Leviton tools e.g.?

Quote
Is this just another broken Vera promise?
I don't think much happened. And there definitely is stuff 'missing'.
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline TC1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +90/-88
Re: Controlling Leviton Dimmer parameters
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2014, 11:25:47 am »
From the actual dimmer switch, you can program things like max brightness, ramp rates, etc.
But is there evidence that these can be programmed through Z-Wave, using Leviton tools e.g.?

Quote
Is this just another broken Vera promise?
I don't think much happened. And there definitely is stuff 'missing'.

Yes, these parameters can be altered using Leviton tools. Which is disturbing, because the whole purpose of Z-wave was suppose to be interoperability.

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Controlling Leviton Dimmer parameters
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2014, 11:33:08 am »
Interesting! Which Leviton tool do you use?

It may be done through proprietary commands, rather than Z-Wave standard configuration parameters?
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline TC1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +90/-88
Re: Controlling Leviton Dimmer parameters
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2014, 12:40:04 pm »
I personally haven't done it (yet), but if you read the original message I referenced from MCV, apparently there are parameters/variables that can be accessed that are proprietary. Many manufacturers have these and there is a Z-wave documented parameter for "Manufacturer Specific" codes.

Leviton's VRCOP Serial-to-Z-wave device can alter Leviton devices. But I have no desire to buy more tools since I haven't settled on Leviton switches yet.

http://www.smarthomeusa.com/Products/VRC0P-1LW/manuals/ASCII-RS232-Interface-Programming.pdf




Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Controlling Leviton Dimmer parameters
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2014, 10:04:16 pm »
In general, sure, there are proprietary features; however, specifically for those things that can be set on the device locally, I'm not sure anyone has reported being able to set them any other way, not even with Leviton tools (including myself). MCV's remark may be of a more general nature.

Something that is standard Z-Wave, but missing: fade-rade for scenes.
Something that might be proprietary, but missing: zones (instead of scenes), instant updates when controlled remotely.
Something that is proprietary, but implemented: scene buttons, external LED control.
Dezwaved at the moment...