We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: EthernetGateway  (Read 32131 times)

macrho

  • Guest
Re: EthernetGateway
« Reply #45 on: August 31, 2014, 07:09:07 am »
Are there other options for a cleaner install?
I thought I had purchased the recommended hardware from eBay

[one funny note: most of the packages from China came with generic labels, funniest one was "plastic fun toy"]

EDIT:

I found this on amazon, would it work: http://www.amazon.com/Sunfounder-Ethernet-Starter-Arduino-Mega2560/dp/B00JB2Z74W/ref=sr_1_13?ie=UTF8&qid=1409484505&sr=8-13&keywords=arduino+ethernet+shield+uno
« Last Edit: August 31, 2014, 07:30:53 am by macrho »

Offline hek

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
  • Karma: +60/-1
Re: EthernetGateway
« Reply #46 on: August 31, 2014, 07:51:08 am »
Yep, that would make a cleaner ethernet gateway.

macrho

  • Guest
Re: EthernetGateway
« Reply #47 on: August 31, 2014, 07:56:20 am »
Yep, that would make a cleaner ethernet gateway.

Thanks! Ordered and will post once received and set up

macrho

  • Guest
Re: EthernetGateway
« Reply #48 on: September 08, 2014, 04:38:56 pm »
Finally received the uno along with the ethernet shield, followed all the directions and was able to successfully compile and upload the sketch to ardunio, however, it appears to never get an IP address

I used the deadbeeffeed MAC address, created a static on my router and nada.

<EDIT>

Of note, the LINK, 100M and FULLD LEDS flash yellow on the ethernet shield
</edit>

Any suggestions on a way to troubleshoot? Perhaps a bad shield or perhaps I somehow caused it.

Code: [Select]
// Use this fo WizNET module and Arduino Ethernet Shield
#include <Ethernet.h>


#define INCLUSION_MODE_TIME 1 // Number of minutes inclusion mode is enabled
#define INCLUSION_MODE_PIN  3 // Digital pin used for inclusion mode button

#define RADIO_CE_PIN        5  // radio chip enable
#define RADIO_SPI_SS_PIN    6  // radio SPI serial select
#define RADIO_ERROR_LED_PIN 7  // Error led pin
#define RADIO_RX_LED_PIN    8  // Receive led pin
#define RADIO_TX_LED_PIN    9  // the PCB, on board LED

#define IP_PORT 5003        // The port you want to open
IPAddress myIp (192, 168, 1, 108);  // Configure your static ip-address here

// The MAC address can be anything you want but should be unique on your network.
// Newer boards have a MAC address printed on the underside of the PCB, which you can (optionally) use.
// Note that most of the Ardunio examples use  "DEAD BEEF FEED" for the MAC address.
byte mac[] = { 0xDE, 0xAD, 0xBE, 0xEF, 0xFE, 0xED };  // DEAD BEEF FEED

« Last Edit: September 08, 2014, 04:46:40 pm by macrho »

Offline hek

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
  • Karma: +60/-1
Re: EthernetGateway
« Reply #49 on: September 09, 2014, 01:29:30 am »
You configure the static ip address in the sketch. DHCP does not work.

macrho

  • Guest
Re: EthernetGateway
« Reply #50 on: September 09, 2014, 08:16:26 am »
You configure the static ip address in the sketch. DHCP does not work.

I thought I had with the 192.168.1.108?
I reserved a static with the MAC address noted in the sketch

macrho

  • Guest
Re: EthernetGateway
« Reply #51 on: September 09, 2014, 09:54:34 am »
turned out to be a crappy power supply, the gateway is now up

macrho

  • Guest
Re: EthernetGateway
« Reply #52 on: September 09, 2014, 09:55:41 am »
I also picked up a nice enclosure for the arduino and shield:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00N53W22I/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

macrho

  • Guest
Re: EthernetGateway
« Reply #53 on: September 09, 2014, 05:29:06 pm »
I'm wondering where my error might be as I can't include any sensors

* I wired up my ethernet shield according to directions here (http://mysensors.org/build/ethernet_gateway) using the radio NRF24L01

The gateway device shows up in Vera, does that mean that the radio is functional as well?

* I wired up an Uno R3 with the above radio along with a temperature/humidity sensor [http://mysensors.org/build/humidity]

When I click Start on the MySensors Plugin and startup my uno with the sensor, it never shows up.

I tore apart both the gateway and the sensor to make sure I had my cabling right (which I think I do)

What is my next step for troubleshooting? Should this be posted in a separate thread?

Offline hek

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
  • Karma: +60/-1
Re: EthernetGateway
« Reply #54 on: September 09, 2014, 06:13:05 pm »
I'm still waiting for a WizNet (5100) module and a 5100-uno-shield to do some renewed tests on the 1.4 code. 

Tried the ENC-module tonight and it failed miserable due to low memory instabilities.





macrho

  • Guest
Re: EthernetGateway
« Reply #55 on: September 10, 2014, 06:27:43 am »
I'm still waiting for a WizNet (5100) module and a 5100-uno-shield to do some renewed tests on the 1.4 code. 

Tried the ENC-module tonight and it failed miserable due to low memory instabilities.

would it make sense to try 1.3 code or just wait? I'm fine with either

Offline hek

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
  • Karma: +60/-1
Re: EthernetGateway
« Reply #56 on: September 10, 2014, 07:25:40 am »
The gateway device shows up in Vera, does that mean that the radio is functional as well?

Not necessarily.

When I click Start on the MySensors Plugin and startup my uno with the sensor, it never shows up.

Reset the senor after include mode has been activated. Sensor sends presentation messages at startup.

Next step is to activate debug mode on gateway and sensor and watch Serial Monitor while connected to you computer.

macrho

  • Guest
Re: EthernetGateway
« Reply #57 on: September 13, 2014, 08:46:02 am »
Reset the senor after include mode has been activated. Sensor sends presentation messages at startup.

Next step is to activate debug mode on gateway and sensor and watch Serial Monitor while connected to you computer.

It appears that DEBUG was enabled by default, after I set the correct speed, I see:

Code: [Select]
check wires

on my temp/humidity sensor. The gateway says [note, I didn't hook up ethernet, just straight USB to my mac]

Code: [Select]
0;0;3;0;14;Gateway startup complete.

I checked my wires on the temp/humidity sensor and when it starts up, no text goes to the Serial Monitor window and when I start inclusion, the sensor is never found. I've done a rest and a power cycle and still nothing


macrho

  • Guest
Re: EthernetGateway
« Reply #58 on: September 13, 2014, 03:01:39 pm »
My gateway is up with the text I displayed previously via debug.

I have my sensor working, however, it doesn't appear to be talking to the gateway:

Code: [Select]
sensor started, id 1
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=0,t=17,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.4
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=3,t=6,pt=1,l=1,st=fail:0
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=3,t=11,pt=0,l=8,st=fail:Humidity
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=3,t=12,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.0
send: 1-1-0-0 s=0,c=0,t=7,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.4
send: 1-1-0-0 s=1,c=0,t=6,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.4
send: 1-1-0-0 s=1,c=1,t=0,pt=7,l=5,st=fail:19.8
send: 1-1-255-255 s=255,c=3,t=7,pt=0,l=0,st=fail:
T: 19.80
send: 1-1-0-0 s=0,c=1,t=1,pt=7,l=5,st=fail:50.6
H: 50.60
sensor started, id 1
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=0,t=17,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.4
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=3,t=6,pt=1,l=1,st=fail:0
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=3,t=11,pt=0,l=8,st=fail:Humidity
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=3,t=12,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.0
send: 1-1-0-0 s=0,c=0,t=7,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.4
send: 1-1-0-0 s=1,c=0,t=6,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.4
send: 1-1-0-0 s=1,c=1,t=0,pt=7,l=5,st=fail:19.8
send: 1-1-255-255 s=255,c=3,t=7,pt=0,l=0,st=fail:
T: 19.80
send: 1-1-0-0 s=0,c=1,t=1,pt=7,l=5,st=fail:48.9
H: 48.90
sensor started, id 1
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=0,t=17,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.4
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=3,t=6,pt=1,l=1,st=fail:0
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=3,t=11,pt=0,l=8,st=fail:Humidity
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=3,t=12,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.0
send: 1-1-0-0 s=0,c=0,t=7,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.4
send: 1-1-0-0 s=1,c=0,t=6,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.4
send: 1-1-0-0 s=1,c=1,t=0,pt=7,l=5,st=fail:19.8
send: 1-1-255-255 s=255,c=3,t=7,pt=0,l=0,st=fail:
T: 19.80
send: 1-1-0-0 s=0,c=1,t=1,pt=7,l=5,st=fail:48.2
H: 48.20
sensor started, id 1
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=0,t=17,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.4
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=3,t=6,pt=1,l=1,st=fail:0
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=3,t=11,pt=0,l=8,st=fail:Humidity
send: 1-1-0-0 s=255,c=3,t=12,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.0
send: 1-1-0-0 s=0,c=0,t=7,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.4
send: 1-1-0-0 s=1,c=0,t=6,pt=0,l=3,st=fail:1.4
send: 1-1-0-0 s=1,c=1,t=0,pt=7,l=5,st=fail:20.0
send: 1-1-255-255 s=255,c=3,t=7,pt=0,l=0,st=fail:
T: 20.00
send: 1-1-0-0 s=0,c=1,t=1,pt=7,l=5,st=fail:50.2
H: 50.20
send: 1-1-0-0 s=0,c=1,t=1,pt=7,l=5,st=fail:50.1
H: 50.10

temp and humidity update every couple of seconds
are the "st=fail" indicating a failure to connect to the gateway?

I powered the gateway off my mac and now am seeing:

Code: [Select]
0;0;3;0;9;version mismatch
0;0;3;0;9;read: 0-0-0 s=0,c=0,t=0,pt=0,l=0:
0;0;3;0;9;version mismatch
0;0;3;0;9;read: 0-0-0 s=0,c=0,t=0,pt=0,l=0:
0;0;3;0;9;version mismatch
0;0;3;0;9;read: 0-0-0 s=0,c=0,t=0,pt=0,l=0:
0;0;3;0;9;version mismatch
0;0;3;0;9;read: 0-0-0 s=0,c=0,t=0,pt=0,l=0:
« Last Edit: September 13, 2014, 03:36:03 pm by macrho »

macrho

  • Guest
Re: EthernetGateway
« Reply #59 on: September 13, 2014, 04:06:10 pm »
Hopefully all this is helpful for someone:

I dumped the regular radio module for an antenna one I had purchased off of the mySensors store:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/310781092103

once I wired it up and restarted, all was good. My temp and humidity devices were added though right now it shows in metric though I chose imperial. Will look at this a bit more

If i'm motivated enough, I might put together a step by step instruction set
it was fun for a rainy saturday afternoon